Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    91
    You have to be impressed with the final product that Yuke's and THQ. It's tough to start a game completely from scratch and build it up to what you want. While there are still some modifications that need to be made for future titles, the final product for wrestling fans is one that is worthy of main event status.
  2. Jan 3, 2012
    90
    Some control improvements and fleshed out game play modes highlight the deepest WWE videogame experience yet.
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    90
    A great step forward for wrestling game that we think will convince the fans. Those who haven't played wrestling games too often have a great chance to approach them again, as WWE 12 changes a lot in comparison with previous Smackdown vs RAW entries.
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    90
    If you are a WWE fan then this game belongs in your library. If you aren't a WWE fan you should definitely still check out this title. Even if you have no interest in watching the product on television this is a really fun title that you might find yourself enjoying. This is a title that has something for everyone. Be sure not to miss out.
  5. Nov 22, 2011
    90
    WWE '12 is the best fan-service game in the business right now, and I think the rest of the game development world could learn something from such a pure, wholesome dedication to giving fans what they want.
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    90
    WWE '12 is more polished than the previous installments in the series, right down to the graphics, music, sound effects, and the expanded gameplay options.
  7. Nov 17, 2011
    90
    What THQ has done here serves its audience spectacularly. WWE '12 retains and improves upon the already-great presentation of its predecessors, capturing a likeness of wrestling that is uncanny. And it plays just as well as it looks. This should be considered a milestone for the wrestling simulation genre. It's certainly a much-needed breath of fresh air.
  8. Feb 14, 2013
    88
    WWE 13 might not have any real competition when it comes to wrestling video games, but nevertheless it’s a great wrestling game and any fan should have this in their collection. The Attitude Era game mode was so nostalgic I smile thinking about it. Reliving those moments is worth it alone.
  9. 87
    WWE '12 takes the plunge and ditches the Smackdown vs. Raw 2011 moniker, mixing things up and slamming down the franchise for the three count. The overhauled system is a positive first step towards advancing the series, and the customisation is still second to none. So, pop on some tight pants. It's time for some wrassling.
  10. Nov 23, 2011
    87
    Once again, I will continue to stress WWE has done the right thing giving exclusive licensing rights to THQ. If you purchased SvR 2011 and are wondering if you should be rushing out to buy '12 - I would say give it a rental and make your decision based on that.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 32
  2. Negative: 7 out of 32
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    The roster here is great, even if there are a few names like Chris Jericho absent from the game (for now, at least). But the Predator technology used to revamp the gameplay is the selling point, as it makes matches so much better than the SvR series. Fans of the n64's No Mercy should enjoy WWE '12. The only downside is the story mode is kinda "meh," but other than that, I have no complaints. Well...besides Randy Orton being on the cover (he's boring). Full Review »
  2. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    Ok, so a more in depth review is what I will be giving this time. Cons:

    Gameplay:
    While the control setup is much better the game as a whole
    suffers because of the idiots over at Yukes who can't program a decent game to save their lives. You'll find yourself bumping into darn near everything. From ladders, people, tables, even going into a days for running over a chair. The gameplay aspect of this game is borderline broken. Which it has been for years now. A lot of people will tell you this years game is SO HARD. The AI isn't hard at all. Reversing however is darn near impossible. Sometimes the icon doesn't pop up at all, and other times it pops up for half of a half a second. I mean you would literally have to be able to slow down time to hit a lot of those reversals. HUGE pain in the lower backside.

    Collision Detection:
    Just when you thought it couldn't get any worse they do just that. You'' find yourself hitting people, and it no registering over, and over, and over, and over, and over again. Weapons, and fist warp through bodies like flubber. You can literally be right next to someone, and grab in the opposite direction or go to run at the person next to you , and go across the ring for no reason. A lot of the time I have lost matches because the way a person is standing made me grab, and or run i the wrong direction, and the CPU will catch you. All of the Restrictions:
    Universe mode is full of restrictions. Being able to have one person on multiple teams is not possible STILL. As well as Divas vs Males. What's the point of a match creator if you still tell me what I can & can't do with it? I mean I can make a 6 man match, and NONE of the options are there to tweak. Why can't I do a 6 man match where we can leave the ring? If a Diva is a manager DQ HAS to be on.

    Missing Matches:
    Where is the Special Ref match? Tag vs Tag vs Tag? Buried Alive?

    RTWM:
    The stories were all been there done that a million times. The UK guys take over. It was nothing more then a rip from the SvR 2009 with MVP & William regal being "Better Then Youtopia". That aside it gets REDUNDANT as hell. I mean every time you turn around you're battling in the backstage area. Which is more of a pain in the rump them a bullet to the face. Fighting backstage is so BAD. I can't stress that enough. When you're not doing that you have to do all these annoying little task that seem pretty pointless, and just make the game less fun.

    The only pro to this game is... I want to say the Roster, but it's pretty lame due to a lot of the lames in the WWE at the moment. The legends available are ok. All in all this game is a bust. Nothing amazing or good here at all. Yukes, and THQ should be ashamed of themselves. I still am disappointed in the Day 1 DLC, and the trying to sell characters already on the disc, and who should have been in the game.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 4, 2011
    0
    This game really blows. WWE hyped it up so much yet it's the same **** they offer each year. The reversal system doesn't work at all and when you're getting beat down, good luck trying to get out of it. Some moves automatically put you into the AIs arms and you can't reverse it then you get pinned. The targeting system sucks again. You'll end up punching the air half of the match because you're not even looking at the AI. The game is really bad, don't bother with it. SVR2011 is better and that's saying something! Full Review »