User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 80
  2. Negative: 19 out of 80

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    The roster here is great, even if there are a few names like Chris Jericho absent from the game (for now, at least). But the Predator technology used to revamp the gameplay is the selling point, as it makes matches so much better than the SvR series. Fans of the n64's No Mercy should enjoy WWE '12. The only downside is the story mode is kinda "meh," but other than that, I have noThe roster here is great, even if there are a few names like Chris Jericho absent from the game (for now, at least). But the Predator technology used to revamp the gameplay is the selling point, as it makes matches so much better than the SvR series. Fans of the n64's No Mercy should enjoy WWE '12. The only downside is the story mode is kinda "meh," but other than that, I have no complaints. Well...besides Randy Orton being on the cover (he's boring). Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    Ok, so a more in depth review is what I will be giving this time. Cons:

    Gameplay: While the control setup is much better the game as a whole suffers because of the idiots over at Yukes who can't program a decent game to save their lives. You'll find yourself bumping into darn near everything. From ladders, people, tables, even going into a days for running over a chair. The gameplay
    Ok, so a more in depth review is what I will be giving this time. Cons:

    Gameplay:
    While the control setup is much better the game as a whole suffers because of the idiots over at Yukes who can't program a decent game to save their lives. You'll find yourself bumping into darn near everything. From ladders, people, tables, even going into a days for running over a chair. The gameplay aspect of this game is borderline broken. Which it has been for years now. A lot of people will tell you this years game is SO HARD. The AI isn't hard at all. Reversing however is darn near impossible. Sometimes the icon doesn't pop up at all, and other times it pops up for half of a half a second. I mean you would literally have to be able to slow down time to hit a lot of those reversals. HUGE pain in the lower backside.

    Collision Detection:
    Just when you thought it couldn't get any worse they do just that. You'' find yourself hitting people, and it no registering over, and over, and over, and over, and over again. Weapons, and fist warp through bodies like flubber. You can literally be right next to someone, and grab in the opposite direction or go to run at the person next to you , and go across the ring for no reason. A lot of the time I have lost matches because the way a person is standing made me grab, and or run i the wrong direction, and the CPU will catch you. All of the Restrictions:
    Universe mode is full of restrictions. Being able to have one person on multiple teams is not possible STILL. As well as Divas vs Males. What's the point of a match creator if you still tell me what I can & can't do with it? I mean I can make a 6 man match, and NONE of the options are there to tweak. Why can't I do a 6 man match where we can leave the ring? If a Diva is a manager DQ HAS to be on.

    Missing Matches:
    Where is the Special Ref match? Tag vs Tag vs Tag? Buried Alive?

    RTWM:
    The stories were all been there done that a million times. The UK guys take over. It was nothing more then a rip from the SvR 2009 with MVP & William regal being "Better Then Youtopia". That aside it gets REDUNDANT as hell. I mean every time you turn around you're battling in the backstage area. Which is more of a pain in the rump them a bullet to the face. Fighting backstage is so BAD. I can't stress that enough. When you're not doing that you have to do all these annoying little task that seem pretty pointless, and just make the game less fun.

    The only pro to this game is... I want to say the Roster, but it's pretty lame due to a lot of the lames in the WWE at the moment. The legends available are ok. All in all this game is a bust. Nothing amazing or good here at all. Yukes, and THQ should be ashamed of themselves. I still am disappointed in the Day 1 DLC, and the trying to sell characters already on the disc, and who should have been in the game.
    Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2011
    0
    This game really blows. WWE hyped it up so much yet it's the same **** they offer each year. The reversal system doesn't work at all and when you're getting beat down, good luck trying to get out of it. Some moves automatically put you into the AIs arms and you can't reverse it then you get pinned. The targeting system sucks again. You'll end up punching the air half of the match becauseThis game really blows. WWE hyped it up so much yet it's the same **** they offer each year. The reversal system doesn't work at all and when you're getting beat down, good luck trying to get out of it. Some moves automatically put you into the AIs arms and you can't reverse it then you get pinned. The targeting system sucks again. You'll end up punching the air half of the match because you're not even looking at the AI. The game is really bad, don't bother with it. SVR2011 is better and that's saying something! Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2011
    4
    @ oOMICHAELOo dude you are so correct. This game was a big disappointment to me , thq took a step backwards with this one. WWE 12 feels just like SVR11 . DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THE FAN BOYS COMMENTS ... I ASSURE YOU IT'S THE SAME CRAP THEY GAVE LAST YEAR AND THE YEAR BEFORE . What annoys me the most is that this game feels sooooo recycled , from the finishers, the create modes (all of@ oOMICHAELOo dude you are so correct. This game was a big disappointment to me , thq took a step backwards with this one. WWE 12 feels just like SVR11 . DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THE FAN BOYS COMMENTS ... I ASSURE YOU IT'S THE SAME CRAP THEY GAVE LAST YEAR AND THE YEAR BEFORE . What annoys me the most is that this game feels sooooo recycled , from the finishers, the create modes (all of them ) and the character animations. This game is extremely glitchy ... dnt believe me???? then have match with more than 2 players in the ring . How this game got rated so high is a mystery to me but in all honesty I had more fun playing WWE all stars . It was less glitchy and the controls felt much more smoother. I will say it once more if you are not a fan of SVR series stay away from this. Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    0
    @ oOMICHAELOo dude you are so correct. The game is not much better than previous games. â
  6. Dec 10, 2011
    5
    So. 2 years on after I played my previous WWE game, and I was excited about the release of WWE12. But in the end, I felt disappointed.

    The first criticism is about the Hell in a Cell match. In the 2010 version you can bash the door open, climb on top and blast someone through the roof of the cell. (Reminds me of Lemmings!) WWE 12 has none of this and all the cell does is to block the
    So. 2 years on after I played my previous WWE game, and I was excited about the release of WWE12. But in the end, I felt disappointed.

    The first criticism is about the Hell in a Cell match. In the 2010 version you can bash the door open, climb on top and blast someone through the roof of the cell. (Reminds me of Lemmings!) WWE 12 has none of this and all the cell does is to block the camera's path. The other problems I've criticised are the poor controls, the AI (which is too easy), crowd reaction (which is a lot worse than the 2010 version, as they now boo for no apparent reason rather than when someone does a dirty move) and the creation options, especially if you want to place a word into an arena in the create an arena mode. The process is too tedious for an impatient person like me.

    So in total that's 5 problems I've criticised, but there are a few good bits and pieces to keep you going, like the attributes, the large number of superstars and the effective match creator. But there's not much else that have improved. For those who would like to buy it for Christmas, think carefully first.
    Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This games mechanics and gameflow are unmatchable in any prior Wrestling game ever. New "story lines" will keep gamers playing the nonstop fun for hours. Brock Lesnar vs. The Rock, nuff said.
  8. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    game feels new,but its not on the good side,i did not understand why i couldnt tag in my partners in the RTWM mode when the cpu players good easily tag in their partners,the commentary improved a lot,where the team actually talks about on going storylines during the matches,but fails to do anything good in terms of actually relaying the match,there are too many reversals which makes itgame feels new,but its not on the good side,i did not understand why i couldnt tag in my partners in the RTWM mode when the cpu players good easily tag in their partners,the commentary improved a lot,where the team actually talks about on going storylines during the matches,but fails to do anything good in terms of actually relaying the match,there are too many reversals which makes it exciting but at times frustrating too,create an arena mode doesnt really let you change the titantron,which makes it horrible,as i hate the current titantron of WWE smackdown and RAW being the same.storyline is as bad as it is in current WWE,the roster however is very good and in depth. the graphics are fairly decent,but in wwe svr 2007 i liked the sweat on the wrestlers,whereas its not there now,and yes,i dont liked how edge looks.create a story line doesnt really let you merge two scenes at the same time,but does fairly well in other aspects.the menu is good,but i would like the menu to change as i am always looking at the randy orton pictures,if i comparing it with a fifa in terms of menus,what fifa game is the arena and the menu in fifa 12 to ber really interesting where the players to skills and take shots,which is absent here.i would personally want an in depth tutorial in the game for the new controls,as i din touch a single wwe game after 2008. how ever,there are tons of stuff to play for and with,and immense content which never would make you bore. Expand
  9. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This Game Is Definitely The BEST Wrestling game ever released IMO. The Roster is stacked with Amazing Superstars/Divas/Legends, WWE Universe 2.0 is better, RTWM has new Storylines, Create an arena is also really cool. I'm definitely getting the DLC packs for this game. However, i find the controllers are kind of harder, like it's harder to reverse now, at times that can be frustrating. ButThis Game Is Definitely The BEST Wrestling game ever released IMO. The Roster is stacked with Amazing Superstars/Divas/Legends, WWE Universe 2.0 is better, RTWM has new Storylines, Create an arena is also really cool. I'm definitely getting the DLC packs for this game. However, i find the controllers are kind of harder, like it's harder to reverse now, at times that can be frustrating. But that Doesn't stop this game from being Amazing. Expand
  10. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    wwe 12 is finally here it's expections live up to the name wwe 12 . overall this game is a 10/10 but they need to improve the reversal system. the new create a arena is really cool it feels like you didn't make it was all ready in the game. the new predator technology has really stepped up the wwe franchise. the wake up taunts are really dramatic it brings more realism to the game. thewwe 12 is finally here it's expections live up to the name wwe 12 . overall this game is a 10/10 but they need to improve the reversal system. the new create a arena is really cool it feels like you didn't make it was all ready in the game. the new predator technology has really stepped up the wwe franchise. the wake up taunts are really dramatic it brings more realism to the game. the comeback system is a really helpful mechanic when you are taking a beating, if you successfully do the comeback you can pull a victory out of no where. universe mode 2.0 takes wwe game close to real life simulation. this game is a must buy for any wwe fan history is being made here peolpe if you smell what i"m cooking. Expand
  11. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    Se siente refrescante, una formula algo conocida mejorada y mas fluida haciendo una excelente transicion de simios peleando a luchadores semidesnudos peleando
  12. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    All the h8ers who act like retards and purposely rate in super low, need 2 get a life and STFU.. More features than any other American wrestling ever released(that's right no mercy fans) Improved controls,incredible graphix/sound and a great (CAW)create a wrestler mode. This is the must buy No Mercy fans have been waiting 4.
  13. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    This is definitely a step up from the SvR 2011. The controls are very different though. But, once you get use to them, then you can have fun again. The AI put up a better fight then previous games too. If you are a wrestling fan and/or enjoy to play wrestling game, this one is a must try.
  14. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    More features than any other wrestling game ever released! It is amazing! I love the game. There a bugs but place them aside and you have a solid game.
  15. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    I think the SVR series has needed a reboot of sorts for a while now. Churning out the same game over and over while fixing almost nothing every year wasn't the right formula. Though i was a bit critical when I heard they were completely retooling everything about the game, only because I thought the game would get worse, i'm glad I can eat my words and admit how great of a game this is.I think the SVR series has needed a reboot of sorts for a while now. Churning out the same game over and over while fixing almost nothing every year wasn't the right formula. Though i was a bit critical when I heard they were completely retooling everything about the game, only because I thought the game would get worse, i'm glad I can eat my words and admit how great of a game this is. The controls have been revamped again, only this time it's a little more classic than modern. The presentation and graphics are pretty good, for the most part capturing what a WWE telecast looks like. The reversal system is great, making it a little harder to reverse and demanding that you have some sort of skill in order to pull off reversals. The online modes have been tinkered with as well, seeming like THQ actually cares about the online community and it making sure that the cheaters, glitchers and hacks are kept off the game. I'm sure they're still around though. Nonetheless, it's one of the better wrestling game i've played. Expand
  16. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt one of the best wrestling games in recent years. Game-play has improved a lot and graphics are good too, plus there are tons of things to do.
  17. Dec 3, 2011
    5
    Let me sum this up with slick package but absolute garbage game.It bothers me too because I love THQ as a company and they have made some of my favorite games of all time.This game is a complete mess,trying to copy the game play mechanics and story that 2K brought to there basketball franchise.This doesn't work,it could work but there has to be a lot more effort into making a brilliantLet me sum this up with slick package but absolute garbage game.It bothers me too because I love THQ as a company and they have made some of my favorite games of all time.This game is a complete mess,trying to copy the game play mechanics and story that 2K brought to there basketball franchise.This doesn't work,it could work but there has to be a lot more effort into making a brilliant game with a cover star such as Michael Jordan How you incorporate the whole ideal as 2K did with 2k11.Maybe next year they could put a "Goldberg return",change the game play mechanics, and listen to the constructive critisism and that could and would be a triumphic return with the WWE franchise! Expand
  18. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    This game has a wide variety of WWE Superstars, legends, and divas. You are bound to find your favorite. The critics just bashed this game that did not deserve it. The only thing I dislike is the storyline for the Road to Wrestlemania this year. Otherwise, WWE '12 should be highly considered on being bought by everyone.
  19. Feb 24, 2012
    3
    As an avid wwe fan and fan of wrestlig games I was excited about the release of wwe12. There are 5 main modes in the game. Road to WrestleMania which is like a story mode where you follow specific wrestlers roads thru the game. There are 3 different stories to choose. This mode is fun t first an becomes repetitive. There is Universe mode which is week in week out 3 different wrestlingAs an avid wwe fan and fan of wrestlig games I was excited about the release of wwe12. There are 5 main modes in the game. Road to WrestleMania which is like a story mode where you follow specific wrestlers roads thru the game. There are 3 different stories to choose. This mode is fun t first an becomes repetitive. There is Universe mode which is week in week out 3 different wrestling shows like dynasty mode in most sports games. Also repetitive but can be funa nd customized but is glitchy and flawed. You could have 1 wrestler fight in 3 of 5 matche on ppv shows, or wrestlers forgotton or a dlc charcter Kane can not be used in universe mode. As for the in ring gameplay this is the saving grace it is easy to use with deep button controler with a flawed reverse system, but overall it is the saving grace of this game. There is also online competition which is a train wreck, very slow like dial up internet days, long load screen and lagging matches with plenty of glitchers and hacking players. Then there is community creations which was released with this game an unfinished product which to this day 4 months after release not working, thq releases statements with possible fixes which never fix anything. The CC section is broke and has never worked and will never works. The creation mode offling is pretty solid same ole same ole create your wrestler options, but creating arenas and entrances can be fun if you have the time.
    Overall gameplay in ring after all the long waits, glitches and god forbid yo try to play on line is solid, but the online expierence and what thq stated its abilities would be turned out to be an outright lie. Dont know if it went untested but I wouldnt imagine they wouldnt stand behind what they have put out there. Over 3 months after release and still nowhere near working and guessing it will never work right because they are moving forward to wwe13. THQ dropped the ball on this one and it might explain the stories of layoffs. This game is a Skip it!
    Expand
  20. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Great game. I like the Road to wrestlemania the rings, the roster its all great. One of the greatest games of 2011 right next to Gears of war 3. They outdid themselves on this game
  21. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Very good game. Create a Arena is a fricken great feature.Create a entrance movie needs a little work but overall is decent. Create a superstar hasn't changed much but a few new items have been added, i think they should make a feature where it will announce your characters name instead of a pre named one. Overall could not ask for a better game and is a great game in the wwe series
  22. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    impressive reboot of a great industry really good realism and the unirverse mode is increddible fun while the road to wrestlmania mode is repetive and sumtimes boring it is mostly good fun. Great customization makes this accesable to all
  23. May 17, 2012
    7
    A nice step in the right direction for THQ but needs a lot of work. The biggest thing that needs work is the Road to Wrestlemania mode. It was awful in this game. It forces you to do stupid things and is so linear. I didn't even finish it because I was bored out of my mind. Other fixes that need to be made include the online servers which are broken beyond repair, clipping, glitches andA nice step in the right direction for THQ but needs a lot of work. The biggest thing that needs work is the Road to Wrestlemania mode. It was awful in this game. It forces you to do stupid things and is so linear. I didn't even finish it because I was bored out of my mind. Other fixes that need to be made include the online servers which are broken beyond repair, clipping, glitches and some minor details such as entrance gear and character movements. I did enjoy this game more than any other recent WWE game in memory but it still needs a lot of work and hopefully 13 is better. Expand
  24. Jun 25, 2012
    7
    Probably the best wrestling game on the current gen, that said, it has it's ups and downs, and you really want to just hit THQ with the chair instead.. but until we see how '13 holds up, this will have to do.
  25. Aug 2, 2012
    0
    change the pin it sucks and the RTW sucks and the type A and type B controls are the WORST in the world make the pin and the controls the type one in S VS R 2010
  26. Aug 22, 2012
    0
    What a joke! This game is by far the worst game of the WWE series in years. the graphics are terrible, the game play is horrid, and don't even get me started on the ridiculous control setup. Want my advice? Avoid this game!!! It is a waste of time and money and a complete mood killer.
  27. Aug 24, 2012
    8
    Well WWE 12 Is A Good Game With A Good Roster Without Some Big Names Missing But Some Sweet Charcters In It Like Kevin Nash,Eddie Guerrero And Vader And The Worst Thing About This Title Is The Online The Community Creations Is A Nice Thing I Mean It's Cool To Download Then Wrestlemania 12 Arena And Then Do Diesel Vs Undertaker But It's Hard To Get Online The Servers Are Bad. Pros GoodWell WWE 12 Is A Good Game With A Good Roster Without Some Big Names Missing But Some Sweet Charcters In It Like Kevin Nash,Eddie Guerrero And Vader And The Worst Thing About This Title Is The Online The Community Creations Is A Nice Thing I Mean It's Cool To Download Then Wrestlemania 12 Arena And Then Do Diesel Vs Undertaker But It's Hard To Get Online The Servers Are Bad. Pros Good Universe And Creation Tools Cons Servers Are Bad And Gets A Bit Dull At Times Expand
  28. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Is fun to play your favorite wrestlers, but I feel this is the same like WWE Smackdown Vs Raw 2010, only changes the new wrestlers and others is gone.
  29. Dec 29, 2012
    5
    The bugs hamper any enjoyable experience that can be had here. Online features are completely broken, bad character models are present and universe mode is lacking.
  30. Apr 2, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well when they 's a new Smack down Vs Raw game they will be stuff the same only the character's they are more updated than the other games.

    On top it's a fast place game when you knock someone down they get back up really fast.

    I dislike this game because hitting the shoulder buttons to counter I press them but the player don't counter any moves.

    I hate Road to Wrestle mania because they put you in handicap match's 2 vs 1 or 3 vs 1 most of the time and when you fight outside the area and you need to knock someone out well that's a nightmare too as you need to beat up 3 or more guys up to win, a waste of time.
    I did ALL the story yes and now I hardly play it now.

    Bring back SVR games they were much better then this rubbish game!
    Expand
  31. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Reading through the reviews for this game, its hard to disagree with the possitive or the negative reviews. Basically this game represnts exactly what wwe is all about, it looks good and is entertaining. But at its core it fake and repetative.

    Graphically you can not fault the game, it has all the moves and music that you would want. Where it faulters is in its game play, basically the
    Reading through the reviews for this game, its hard to disagree with the possitive or the negative reviews. Basically this game represnts exactly what wwe is all about, it looks good and is entertaining. But at its core it fake and repetative.

    Graphically you can not fault the game, it has all the moves and music that you would want. Where it faulters is in its game play, basically the designers came up with reversals as the way to make the game challenging, you use your right trigger to counter, if you do not get the timing right you will be hit by move after move, ending with you tearing your hair out. After a good few hours of play you learn to time your clicks, but overall the whole system of reversals leaves you with a feeling of random luck. If I am honest this is one of the few games where I stuck it on easy and turned of the AI. Once you do this the game is a blast, you can just sit back, win fights and enjoy the wwe show.

    My only other complaint is the level of freedom, while you play there is a feeling of being stuck on tracks. I wanted to be able to recreate crazy moves where wrestlers would go into the crowd or throw people through the stage sets or dive of the stage sets. sadly there is a solid block of where you can and can not go, making thinking out side the box a none starter.

    The custon arena's and characters are great, with loads of options. Having my home made wrestler walk into the road warriors "what a rush!" was a thrill.

    Overall this game is going to be fun if you are into WWE, just do not expect deep game play or environmental freedom
    Expand
  32. Nov 27, 2013
    7
    This game, WWE '12, was a good step forward, but it took a small one. The campaign had a good intent, but it did not go far in depth, and was somewhat monotonous. Road to WrestleMania in WWE '12 went smooth, which was uninteresting. Instead, the developers should have branched out and created alternate storylines based on the player's decisions, and not predetermined outcomes. However, IThis game, WWE '12, was a good step forward, but it took a small one. The campaign had a good intent, but it did not go far in depth, and was somewhat monotonous. Road to WrestleMania in WWE '12 went smooth, which was uninteresting. Instead, the developers should have branched out and created alternate storylines based on the player's decisions, and not predetermined outcomes. However, I have to praise the direction the story took, with a fictional, but legendary ending.

    It is worth pointing out that I have had difficulty using the User Playlist feature for my custom Superstar, which was disappointing, because I love "It's Time" by Imagine Dragons. I do not know whether it was the consoles fault or the developers, but it was disappointing. As a result, I cannot include this with my overall rating of this game. Even with a bland campaign, I have to say that the developers had done a good job.
    Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52
  1. Feb 14, 2013
    88
    WWE 13 might not have any real competition when it comes to wrestling video games, but nevertheless it’s a great wrestling game and any fan should have this in their collection. The Attitude Era game mode was so nostalgic I smile thinking about it. Reliving those moments is worth it alone.
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    87
    WWE '12 takes the plunge and ditches the Smackdown vs. Raw 2011 moniker, mixing things up and slamming down the franchise for the three count. The overhauled system is a positive first step towards advancing the series, and the customisation is still second to none. So, pop on some tight pants. It's time for some wrassling.
  3. Jan 11, 2012
    20
    Developer Yuke's celebrates the phrase "Going through the motions" with this loveless and utterly uninspired effort. Last-gen style graphics and a mind-numbingly tedious campaign beckons one serious question: Why?