Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: WWE '12 is the next iteration in this wrestling series with Smackdown vs Raw being no more.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    91
    You have to be impressed with the final product that Yuke's and THQ. It's tough to start a game completely from scratch and build it up to what you want. While there are still some modifications that need to be made for future titles, the final product for wrestling fans is one that is worthy of main event status.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    90
    What THQ has done here serves its audience spectacularly. WWE '12 retains and improves upon the already-great presentation of its predecessors, capturing a likeness of wrestling that is uncanny. And it plays just as well as it looks. This should be considered a milestone for the wrestling simulation genre. It's certainly a much-needed breath of fresh air.
  3. 85
    You'll notice WWE '12's wider accessibility right when the first bell rings. Controls are far easier to grasp (they're almost as newb-friendly as WWE All-Stars') and matches flow naturally, which is great given how minimal the HUD is
  4. Nov 29, 2011
    75
    Finally significant progress has been put into place, as the game's backbone is starting to feel sturdy enough to carry the weight of expectation.
  5. Dec 9, 2011
    70
    Bigger, badder, better. WWE 12 is the game that depicts best this brutal sport, although it still has some flaws in its control that should be polished next year.
  6. Nov 29, 2011
    68
    Yuke's tries to start over, but doesn't fully succeed. It's still a game full of content, but the new control and physics systems still have a ways to go.
  7. Jan 11, 2012
    20
    Developer Yuke's celebrates the phrase "Going through the motions" with this loveless and utterly uninspired effort. Last-gen style graphics and a mind-numbingly tedious campaign beckons one serious question: Why?

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 32
  2. Negative: 7 out of 32
  1. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Very good game. Create a Arena is a fricken great feature.Create a entrance movie needs a little work but overall is decent. Create aVery good game. Create a Arena is a fricken great feature.Create a entrance movie needs a little work but overall is decent. Create a superstar hasn't changed much but a few new items have been added, i think they should make a feature where it will announce your characters name instead of a pre named one. Overall could not ask for a better game and is a great game in the wwe series Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    All the h8ers who act like retards and purposely rate in super low, need 2 get a life and STFU.. More features than any other AmericanAll the h8ers who act like retards and purposely rate in super low, need 2 get a life and STFU.. More features than any other American wrestling ever released(that's right no mercy fans) Improved controls,incredible graphix/sound and a great (CAW)create a wrestler mode. This is the must buy No Mercy fans have been waiting 4. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Is fun to play your favorite wrestlers, but I feel this is the same like WWE Smackdown Vs Raw 2010, only changes the new wrestlers and others is gone.
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    game feels new,but its not on the good side,i did not understand why i couldnt tag in my partners in the RTWM mode when the cpu players goodgame feels new,but its not on the good side,i did not understand why i couldnt tag in my partners in the RTWM mode when the cpu players good easily tag in their partners,the commentary improved a lot,where the team actually talks about on going storylines during the matches,but fails to do anything good in terms of actually relaying the match,there are too many reversals which makes it exciting but at times frustrating too,create an arena mode doesnt really let you change the titantron,which makes it horrible,as i hate the current titantron of WWE smackdown and RAW being the same.storyline is as bad as it is in current WWE,the roster however is very good and in depth. the graphics are fairly decent,but in wwe svr 2007 i liked the sweat on the wrestlers,whereas its not there now,and yes,i dont liked how edge looks.create a story line doesnt really let you merge two scenes at the same time,but does fairly well in other aspects.the menu is good,but i would like the menu to change as i am always looking at the randy orton pictures,if i comparing it with a fifa in terms of menus,what fifa game is the arena and the menu in fifa 12 to ber really interesting where the players to skills and take shots,which is absent here.i would personally want an in depth tutorial in the game for the new controls,as i din touch a single wwe game after 2008. how ever,there are tons of stuff to play for and with,and immense content which never would make you bore. Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    The roster here is great, even if there are a few names like Chris Jericho absent from the game (for now, at least). But the PredatorThe roster here is great, even if there are a few names like Chris Jericho absent from the game (for now, at least). But the Predator technology used to revamp the gameplay is the selling point, as it makes matches so much better than the SvR series. Fans of the n64's No Mercy should enjoy WWE '12. The only downside is the story mode is kinda "meh," but other than that, I have no complaints. Well...besides Randy Orton being on the cover (he's boring). Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2011
    5
    Let me sum this up with slick package but absolute garbage game.It bothers me too because I love THQ as a company and they have made some ofLet me sum this up with slick package but absolute garbage game.It bothers me too because I love THQ as a company and they have made some of my favorite games of all time.This game is a complete mess,trying to copy the game play mechanics and story that 2K brought to there basketball franchise.This doesn't work,it could work but there has to be a lot more effort into making a brilliant game with a cover star such as Michael Jordan How you incorporate the whole ideal as 2K did with 2k11.Maybe next year they could put a "Goldberg return",change the game play mechanics, and listen to the constructive critisism and that could and would be a triumphic return with the WWE franchise! Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2012
    0
    change the pin it sucks and the RTW sucks and the type A and type B controls are the WORST in the world make the pin and the controls the typechange the pin it sucks and the RTW sucks and the type A and type B controls are the WORST in the world make the pin and the controls the type one in S VS R 2010 Expand

See all 32 User Reviews