WWE 2K14 Xbox 360

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 94
  2. Negative: 12 out of 94

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Really, after the disappointing WWE 13, 2K picked this one up. The commentary still sucks and the A.I. is still shoddy, but it's an awesome experience. Just wish they'd got some other matches for 30 years, but still great.
  2. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    I have spent about over 5 hours with this game and I must that I am thoroughly impressed! You will read about all of the new features elsewhere, so there's no need to elaborate about them here, so let me tell you the biggest selling point of this game IMPROVED AI! I've been playing on Legend Difficulty and it feels like Legend Difficulty. I've only won 25% of my matches. Trust me whenI have spent about over 5 hours with this game and I must that I am thoroughly impressed! You will read about all of the new features elsewhere, so there's no need to elaborate about them here, so let me tell you the biggest selling point of this game IMPROVED AI! I've been playing on Legend Difficulty and it feels like Legend Difficulty. I've only won 25% of my matches. Trust me when I say this is a good thing. In past iterations of this game, I would stop playing after a few months because there was no challenge. WWE2K14 requires you to play to your wrestler's strengths. That fact alone makes this game a must buy for anyone on the fence who may have thought that your older WWE game was good enough. If you want a WWE game to give you the same challenge as any other quality sport game Get WWE 2K14. Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    I think that this game is fantastic and has pretty good game play. The graphics are like last year's game but, made it more different to play. They have changed the reversal system a lot and it won't take forever to attack. The AI has improved very well. The AI stands out mostly in the Defeat the Streak and Defend the Streak. It is more difficult and gives players more of a challenge toI think that this game is fantastic and has pretty good game play. The graphics are like last year's game but, made it more different to play. They have changed the reversal system a lot and it won't take forever to attack. The AI has improved very well. The AI stands out mostly in the Defeat the Streak and Defend the Streak. It is more difficult and gives players more of a challenge to play. The story mode is still short but, the Streak mode is making it longer. This game is amazing and now I can't wait until next year's game. I think that they should spend a few years on the game instead of one because the game would be the best. This game was really good and I enjoyed it a lot. Even when you beat the story mode like me, there are other modes to play. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    It gets an 8 from me. It's a good game, the gameplay is solid, fluid, it's definitely more challenging than recent games, and the reversing mechanics are harder (which is good). The roster is great, a good mix of new and old. I haven't finished the 30 years of Wrestlemania, but I love what i've seen so far, and I know it'll only get better as I go on. My biggest gripe so far is with theIt gets an 8 from me. It's a good game, the gameplay is solid, fluid, it's definitely more challenging than recent games, and the reversing mechanics are harder (which is good). The roster is great, a good mix of new and old. I haven't finished the 30 years of Wrestlemania, but I love what i've seen so far, and I know it'll only get better as I go on. My biggest gripe so far is with the online play, and this seems to be the case every year. I know, it's only been a couple of days, and I will give them a chance to fix the mess, but a lot of these issues have been going on for years. I've played matches with family where the match "splits", meaning that I see something different on my screen then they do. This causes some W-L records in ranked to be way off, and it just isn't a good experience. Secondly, the game hasn't been out for too long, and yet there are players (I assume low life glitchers or cheats) already ranked at the top with crazy W-L records. There's got to be a way to get those players out of there. Lastly, and this happened to my cousin, this may be a complaint more with Gamestop than with the developers, but something to note. If you buy the season pass, make sure you're charged for $22. If they charge you $20, you can't get the season pass, as it comes out to $20 TAX. Why some Gamestops are doing this? No idea. Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    Honestly one of the best wrestling games I've played in a while. They had a lot to do to top last years but from what I've played so far they've without doubt came up to par with it if not exceeded it. The edition of 30 years of Wrestlemania is awesome, so many memories and all of the best matches you would of wished for. But apart from that the sheer amount you can do on this game isHonestly one of the best wrestling games I've played in a while. They had a lot to do to top last years but from what I've played so far they've without doubt came up to par with it if not exceeded it. The edition of 30 years of Wrestlemania is awesome, so many memories and all of the best matches you would of wished for. But apart from that the sheer amount you can do on this game is INSANE, it never feels old because of the constant ability to customise what ever you want whenever you want. Yes there are still underlying issues with it at times but they've done a good job of ironing out those things and making the game feel enjoyable. For any wrestling fan this is a must have. If you're a fan of the old fighting games, this is also a game for you. A very very good edition to any gamers collection. This will keep me busy for a long time. Expand
  6. LTR
    Nov 1, 2013
    8
    This is a really good wrestling game. Even though this feels like all the other wrestling games, the roster is great, the 30 years of WrestleMania is good and the gameplay is still fun.
  7. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    While there aren't much revolutionary changes towards the franchise, I like how they've somehow added minor fan-favourites such as Superstar Heads. The addition of '30 Years of WrestleMania' has really helped to give the 'new' generation of wrestling fans a much broader understanding towards how the WWE worked back then. Reliving those matches is a blast. There have been a few technical AIWhile there aren't much revolutionary changes towards the franchise, I like how they've somehow added minor fan-favourites such as Superstar Heads. The addition of '30 Years of WrestleMania' has really helped to give the 'new' generation of wrestling fans a much broader understanding towards how the WWE worked back then. Reliving those matches is a blast. There have been a few technical AI changes towards the game, though they're more like a step to the side rather than a huge leap forward. I am not giving this game a '10' due to it's 'revolutionary' changes that helped to drive the franchise forward. I am giving this game a '10' due to my own personal opinion(s). Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    WWE 2k14 is a HUGE improvement over WWE13. The pinning system is fixed so the computer wont kick out at one all the time or give up after a 2 count. The matches are faster to finish and the finishers used do actual damage and are dangerous if used on you. A must buy for a wrestling fan.
  9. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    I'm giving it a 10 because of people's complaints of it being just like last years installment. Really? Really? It's a wrestling game folks, what kind of change do you want. That's like saying the new Tiger Woods is just like the last one. Well,duh! Except for different characters and modes what could be different?Do you want sword fights with a demonic boss in the ring?This game has '30I'm giving it a 10 because of people's complaints of it being just like last years installment. Really? Really? It's a wrestling game folks, what kind of change do you want. That's like saying the new Tiger Woods is just like the last one. Well,duh! Except for different characters and modes what could be different?Do you want sword fights with a demonic boss in the ring?This game has '30 Years of Wrestlemania' mode. Enough said. Expand
  10. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    I love the game however there is a lot of improvements that need to be done I am currently addicted to universe mode which is really fun but still needs a lot of improvements
  11. Jan 30, 2014
    8
    The 30 Years of Wrestlemania Campaign is the main selling point of this game. it has lots of classic matches from the 80s and 90s. Some people might be disappointed in the lack of "certain matches" but overall it should be a good enough history lesson. other than that, the bigger changes include making wwe universe have even more customization. the number of CAW slots expands from 50 toThe 30 Years of Wrestlemania Campaign is the main selling point of this game. it has lots of classic matches from the 80s and 90s. Some people might be disappointed in the lack of "certain matches" but overall it should be a good enough history lesson. other than that, the bigger changes include making wwe universe have even more customization. the number of CAW slots expands from 50 to 100 so there's that as well. graphics are practically the same as WWE 13 so don't expect much. Commentary is still the weakest part of the game with Cole and Lawler repeating lines numerous times during matches. the streak mode is pretty cool if you're a big of undertaker. also, the disc and dlc may not have your favorite wrestler such as the Usos or the Wyatt Family but it has a pretty robust roster from 1985-2013. the ability to make your own entrance video has been removed sadly though. the music jukebox is pretty neat to customize your own wwe playlist. if you're a hardcore fan, buy it now. if you're a casual fan, wait for a price drop. Expand
  12. Feb 4, 2014
    8
    This year’s WWE game is the first published by 2K Games and the latest in a long running series of fun, fighting games developed by Yukes games. 2K14 sees the greatest roster ever assembled in a WWE game including superstars both past and present from Daniel Bryan and The Shield to the Macho Man Randy Savage and The Ultimate Warrior. Over the years these games have suffered from gameplayThis year’s WWE game is the first published by 2K Games and the latest in a long running series of fun, fighting games developed by Yukes games. 2K14 sees the greatest roster ever assembled in a WWE game including superstars both past and present from Daniel Bryan and The Shield to the Macho Man Randy Savage and The Ultimate Warrior. Over the years these games have suffered from gameplay that has felt stiff and clunky however this year’s gameplay is the smoothest since Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 the increase in strike speed is a welcome change as it adds more pacing to the game, the grapples feel realistic and connect how you want, when you want them to at a solid FPS. All the improvements added to the game bring back the fun I once had with the WWE franchise. Another game mode that has been added this year is 30 years of WrestleMania where the player gets a chance to relive the best matches of the past WrestleMania pay-per-views such as Hulk Hogan vs Andre the Giant and The Rock vs Stone Cold Steve Austin. In this mode you can complete historical objectives in order to unlock extra costumes, arenas, wrestlers and title belts it also can educate those new to the WWE of past events or have people reminisce remembering their favorite matches of years past. All in all WWE 2K14 is a solid game that is a good start for 2K Games. Expand
  13. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    This game is a massive improvement over wwe 13, pace wise, move wise, everything wise. My created wrestler just tag teamed with superman and won the butthole belt. Best game ever 10/10
  14. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Graphic: A graphical improvement from WWE13 some wrestlers look more realistic while others look like clay figures. Still an advancement in the engine, and everything else looks believable. 9.

    Sound: Similar to WWE13's attitude era, the 30 years of Wrestlemania mode has voices clips used from the show. They sync in just fine and it makes the game feel more like a WWE game. The
    Graphic: A graphical improvement from WWE13 some wrestlers look more realistic while others look like clay figures. Still an advancement in the engine, and everything else looks believable. 9.

    Sound: Similar to WWE13's attitude era, the 30 years of Wrestlemania mode has voices clips used from the show. They sync in just fine and it makes the game feel more like a WWE game. The soundtrack is once again entrance music, and some of the music cuts, but finally this game allows for custom soundtracks on the PS3. 8.5.

    Gameplay: The gameplay mechanics from WWE13 return and are definitely improved. The pinning is improved and simpler. The in game WWE history events are much more interesting, and the wrestling moves are as realistic as the show. The reversing still annoys me because sometimes the timing says I'm off but I know I hit it on time, online it doesn't help when there's lag. The game still needs dedicated servers, but other than that this truly is a superb wrestling game. 9.

    Story: 30 years of Wrestlemania, and new modes such as defeat/defend the streak. This game is an improvement from last years Attitude Era. Although more Wrestling footage would have been appreciated especially at the last few matches. Every match in my opinion should show a hype up trailer of real footage, such as the rivalry between the wrestlers. 8.

    Replay Value: While the Wrestlmania mode is short, the game has a lot of replay value for a local party game. Also, multiplayer never gets old, I would recommend this game to any wrestling fan. Definitely one of the best rosters in any wrestling game to date. 10.

    Overall Score: 8.9 out of 10.
    Expand
  15. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    This is a very fun and great wrestling game with a lot of gameplay mechanics and modes that will keep you busy and entertained. WWE 13 added a lot of new mechanics but also added a lot of stupid glitches, 2K14 expanded on those mechanics as well as fixing most of the glitches!WWE 2K14 is definitely the best wrestling game since SVR 06.
  16. May 7, 2014
    10
    i love how this game has so many customization in it. the game play is fun and the best part is making your own hilarious story. it is also a lot of fun to create a superstar and make him tiny with super long arms. the amount of game modes in it is also fun. the only bad part that i found in this game was probably when you cant put superstars in diva spots when you are creating a story.i love how this game has so many customization in it. the game play is fun and the best part is making your own hilarious story. it is also a lot of fun to create a superstar and make him tiny with super long arms. the amount of game modes in it is also fun. the only bad part that i found in this game was probably when you cant put superstars in diva spots when you are creating a story. other than that , this game is the best sports game out there. Expand
  17. Jan 28, 2015
    10
    WWE2K14. A good game. the difficulties make it a good challenge, 30 years of Wrestlemania is awesome, the character maker is the same as last year, and the commentary is great as usual. Not much more to say.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    81
    Wrestlemania makes the day. [Dec 2013]
  2. Dec 12, 2013
    70
    For now WWE 2K14 will serve as an admirable filler, its wide array of modes and customisation there so players can concoct their own stories once Wrestlemania’s has been told.
  3. 60
    30 Years of Wrestlemania is brilliant but that aside, this is exactly the same WWE sequel you would have expected from the house of THQ. [Issue#105, p.86]