User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 44
  2. Negative: 10 out of 44

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Pretty good game in the series. Graphics were decent, gameplay was entertaining. If you are a fan of WWE or wrestling, it's defently a game to pick up.
  2. CWDeeds
    Jan 30, 2008
    6
    It's a SvR game, I'll like it. But I do have my gripes. The choices in create a wrestler mode seems even thinner than previous versions. Various matches are missing too I quit matches? Nope. Women still aren't allowed to wrestle in 24/7 with the guys or in Hardcore matches. My sister is pretty sick of using the guys all the time when ever she wants to battle for the ECWIt's a SvR game, I'll like it. But I do have my gripes. The choices in create a wrestler mode seems even thinner than previous versions. Various matches are missing too I quit matches? Nope. Women still aren't allowed to wrestle in 24/7 with the guys or in Hardcore matches. My sister is pretty sick of using the guys all the time when ever she wants to battle for the ECW belt.
    I'm sure THQ wanted to make the series more sim like than previous SvR or Smackdown games, but maybe they should remember that wrestling is fake. People buy the game to wrestle, not play Maddenmania.
    Expand
  3. BryanM.
    Oct 5, 2007
    4
    this is just from the demo I played. the people where so slow I was Randy orton and he was moving like a big fat giant. it seems like you are playing on line with someone who is lagging pretty bad. end of story I think I will get the ps2s version for $10 cheaper.
  4. ShaunQuaintance
    Feb 26, 2008
    7
    This series still hasn'tmade any big changes and there are still some annoying features but some that people are complaining about like the momentum feature makes it more realistic (your opponent is beating you to hell, you can't touh them but one reverse and you gain momentum just down wear yourself out) This game is still great especially if you love WWE but the time has comeThis series still hasn'tmade any big changes and there are still some annoying features but some that people are complaining about like the momentum feature makes it more realistic (your opponent is beating you to hell, you can't touh them but one reverse and you gain momentum just down wear yourself out) This game is still great especially if you love WWE but the time has come for the games to make a big step and come out with a 10/10 game. Expand
  5. JasonL.
    Nov 23, 2007
    7
    This is a hard game to rate. The in ring action is a lot of fun, I would rate the actual gameplay at a 9. The issue with this game pertains to the horrible cut scenes. First off there are only about 4 or 5 for each weeks show so you end up seeing the same thing over and over again. Also and probably my biggest issue is the fact that you will have a rivalry with someone (they come and hit This is a hard game to rate. The in ring action is a lot of fun, I would rate the actual gameplay at a 9. The issue with this game pertains to the horrible cut scenes. First off there are only about 4 or 5 for each weeks show so you end up seeing the same thing over and over again. Also and probably my biggest issue is the fact that you will have a rivalry with someone (they come and hit you with a chair before your match type of rivalry) and then the next weeks cut scene you are shaking there hand and acting all buddy buddy right before you go out and have a hardcore match with them. So based on the rather crappy cut scenes I give the non-wrestling aspects of the game a 5. If you like just kicking the crap out of people than give this game a shot, it has a lot of match variety and some cool extras (unlockable characters, etc.). My advice is to play the demo and if you like that try it out. Expand
  6. JamesH.
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    I can't mark this down for a poor season mode as thats seldom the reason i play it, I love the presentation, gameplay, match types, roster and being able to finally use which ever song I want for a CAW. Online is where smackdown shines.
  7. AdamH.
    Nov 7, 2007
    2
    I have played through this game and it sucks I have nothing positive to say about this game.
  8. Starky
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Best wrestling game ever with minor things still needing to be perfected. But still 10/10.
  9. KenK.
    Dec 12, 2007
    5
    Some aspects of the game are decent; like roster, match modes, visuals are kinda decent but are out of date (EVEN FIGHT NIGHT 3 HAS BETTER VISUALS!) but the controls, 24/7 mode, and oh the SOUND is worse than back in the day of 1920's. Sledgehammers that sound like PVC pipes Finishing moves that slam on the mat that sound like the shotgun from halo 3 Crowd that sounds like theres Some aspects of the game are decent; like roster, match modes, visuals are kinda decent but are out of date (EVEN FIGHT NIGHT 3 HAS BETTER VISUALS!) but the controls, 24/7 mode, and oh the SOUND is worse than back in the day of 1920's. Sledgehammers that sound like PVC pipes Finishing moves that slam on the mat that sound like the shotgun from halo 3 Crowd that sounds like theres only 10 people in the stadium Announcers that take 20 seconds to say a wrestlers name after they have said "On the way to the ring" and to top it off, crappy collision detection, in-balancing and terrible loading! You should spend your money on buying wwe merchandise(official) or watching real-life Smackdown! every Friday and RAW mondays because that will entertain you longer than this step back in gaming. Expand
  10. JaceN.
    Dec 26, 2007
    4
    More of a minor update than a sequel...id say this should have been made available as a patch for Smackdown Vs Raw 2007 via the 360 marketplace but theres more money to be made selling it as a game on its own it seems! And its appearance across multiple platforms drags its overall performance and spledour down to lowest common denominator territory. Id say its the last time the devs can More of a minor update than a sequel...id say this should have been made available as a patch for Smackdown Vs Raw 2007 via the 360 marketplace but theres more money to be made selling it as a game on its own it seems! And its appearance across multiple platforms drags its overall performance and spledour down to lowest common denominator territory. Id say its the last time the devs can get away with such actions but I said the same thing last time. Expect the next game in 2009 with very little more of the same and even more cross-platform versions...like...on wristwatches even! Expand
  11. ShawnB.
    Nov 24, 2007
    1
    This is the worst wrestling game I have ever played, and I've played almost every significant release in the genre to date. Every single change to the gameplay hurts the experience. This is a mishmash of a game that screams to its audience that the developers do not care, and they don't even like you. First of all, this game is running on the same tech that Power Move Pro This is the worst wrestling game I have ever played, and I've played almost every significant release in the genre to date. Every single change to the gameplay hurts the experience. This is a mishmash of a game that screams to its audience that the developers do not care, and they don't even like you. First of all, this game is running on the same tech that Power Move Pro Wrestling on the PS1 does. I want everyone who read that sentence to look up Power Move and think about the implications of that. This engine is broken by any time's standards, and the series has become more and more imbalanced with each iteration. It's now possible to automatically win any submission by finding the 'sweet spot' on your right analog stick, essentially making the submission system as harsh as a UFC game. Wrestlers move at an intolerably slow pace, and not for 'realism' either. This is much much slower than anything you'll see on television. It's ridiculous. There is not one maneuver in the game that feels like it has *snap* to it. On the other hand, wrestlers now take massive amounts of damage from each maneuver, leading to some of the shortest matches in the series' history. So not only is the action in near slow motion, but it also ends quickly. It's a dynamic that will torture the minds of anyone who knows their wrestling psychology. I've gone on too long and I won't go into every aspect of the game, but suffice it to say that changes made to CAW, fight styles, roster, 24/7(season) mode are all negative and limiting to your game experience. Every version of Smackdown that's released seems to feature less content than the last and is more haphazard and poorly designed than the last. If you've been burned by the Smackdown series and wish there was an alternative, I heartily recommend the newly released Fire Pro Wrestling Returns on PS2. It's a budget title and may be hard to find, but hopefully it can bring back the feeling of simple fun with subtle complexity that got us into these games in the first place. Expand
  12. TomB.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    This game is a big step from 2007 with the graphics and a better longer season mode and they give you a better in depth of being a wwe superstar people who dont like wrestling will find this game a pice of crap but people who do will like it.
  13. ChrisC.
    Dec 2, 2007
    7
    While the graphics were good, and albeit,outdated, the roster was decnt, the controls and 24/7 mode couldn't cut it.
  14. Janikous
    Aug 21, 2008
    3
    Utter crap. Last years game was great, despite it being a PS2 port. This was forgiveable given it was still early days in the new-generation era. In 2007 however, it is completly unforgiveable for THQ to release a game that is still a PS2 port. They made a few big changes to 'refresh' the series which is fancy speak for 'mask the fact its the same'. Awful. Stick withUtter crap. Last years game was great, despite it being a PS2 port. This was forgiveable given it was still early days in the new-generation era. In 2007 however, it is completly unforgiveable for THQ to release a game that is still a PS2 port. They made a few big changes to 'refresh' the series which is fancy speak for 'mask the fact its the same'. Awful. Stick with the 2007 version. Expand
  15. DarrenM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    8
    Firstly if you are not a wrestling fan, do not play or review this game. This years 08 is a far more polished version than last years, looking better , sounding better. Hitting the canvas sounds exactly like being there, at a live event. The new reversal system is a great improvement on last years, you can reverse from virtually any hold, not like 07, which at times became frustrating Firstly if you are not a wrestling fan, do not play or review this game. This years 08 is a far more polished version than last years, looking better , sounding better. Hitting the canvas sounds exactly like being there, at a live event. The new reversal system is a great improvement on last years, you can reverse from virtually any hold, not like 07, which at times became frustrating once you were in certain holds or grapples you were gone. Ripping your own music to use as entrance music is a good addition as well. Overall, being a fan, I have to say this year there is an improvement one for the better. If you are a wrestling fan you cant go wrong buying this years version . After all it is a wrestling game, don't now what some people were expecting. Expand
  16. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    Combining Story mode and GM mode was either the smartest or stupidest Idea ever. While both play excellently, the inability to play both at once sucks. The Hall of fame mode gives you some goals to work towards and the controls are great as always.
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Still, controlling every moment of every fight is just ridiculously fun, and you'll be quite content while you wait for what should hopefully be the ultimate WWE game next year. [Dec 2007, p.74]
  2. I'm stoked to continue to see improvement in this series, but it's a shame small problems (like lengthy load times) still pin SVR down. [Dec 2007, p.106]
  3. A massive step forward for SmackDown's fighting system. Now the rest needs tidying. [Dec 2007, p.42]