X-Men: The Official Game Xbox 360

Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 57
  2. Negative: 20 out of 57
Buy On
  1. It feels rushed in so many aspects, and has virtually no replay value. What few positives the game does have are easily overshadowed by all that went wrong.
  2. It's a generic, cheap cash-in that is poorly executed, uninspired, and rarely even enjoyable.
  3. 45
    Thanks to some horribly generic gameplay and uninspired combat, it ends up continuing the disappointing trend of movie license video games.
  4. X-Men: The Official Game is too short, too bland and too rushed to be considered anything more than a three-day rental (and barely that).
  5. 40
    Perhaps the worst offense of all would have to be Wolverine. Not only has Z-Axis managed to take everyone's favorite adamantium-infused Canadian wildman and turn him into possibly the most boring hero ever, they've pinned a sizable majority of the action upon playing as him. Boring, you say? Yes.
  6. 40
    Like many games of this style, there is some vague, half-guilty pleasure in the mechanical repetitiveness of the game's combat. But ultimately, X-Men is in the time-honored tradition of licensed games -- rushed, derivative, and well worth avoiding.
  7. 40
    A below average title that has been rushed to the Xbox 360. The game features poor AI, no challenge, glitches, boring levels and a minimalistic moveset.
  8. Game Informer
    40
    Unless you despise the X-Men movies and simply want more ammo that can be used to insult your friends, I strongly advise that you avoid this game like you would a French kissing toad. [July 2006, p.104]
  9. 360 Gamer Magazine UK
    40
    The whole thing feels like a massive missed opportunity. [Issue #10]
  10. As it is, X-Men: The Official Game is “officially” a horse’s turd of an experience that’s approximately as painful as Wolverine’s claws inadvertently sliding out while he’s wiping his arse.
  11. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    38
    The play-style variety may be decent--and you get to upgrade abilities--but each character's level sets grow horribly repetitive and pointless, with stingy checkpoint placement compounding the frustration [July 2006, p.91]
  12. Play Magazine
    35
    X-Men: The Official Game is pretty awful. [July 2006, p.71]
  13. It's inexcusable that Activision didn't see fit to shave down the 360 price a little; 60 bucks is an outlandish request considering there is absolutely nothing extra in the next-gen version.
  14. While the voice work is fine, the whole thing just comes off as so low rent, it’s hard to take it seriously. It’s a shame too because the filler story isn’t that bad.
  15. The idea of giving the player three fairly unique characters to play as is good one, but the game design verges on plain stupid at times.
  16. Edge Magazine
    30
    Had The Official Game provided a consistent overall challenge, it would have been bearable, if unexciting. But it hasn’t, and it isn’t. [July 2006, p.88]
  17. There's nothing wrong with using a brand name to sell you game, unless that game happens to be among the most uninspired beat 'em ups released in several years. If you remember Activision's "Minority Report" game, then this is about as good as that.
  18. games(TM)
    30
    When accurately describing videogames, we tend to use the word ‘dross’ rarely, but this particular X-Men title has forced the word from us in a spectacular fashion. [July 2006, p.130]
  19. X-ONE Magazine UK
    30
    This would be embarrassing on a Dreamcast, let alone the hulking next-gen monster console we call Xbox 360. This is not a next-gen game and it's not fun either. [Issue 8, p.98]
  20. Almost everything about this movie cash-in is cheap and incompetent, from the short, forgettable levels to the poor control system to the hand-crampingly repetitive action.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. Oct 30, 2016
    10
    A really good game.First grim and realistic game about the x-men.Many missions for the coolest character - Wolverine.Good graphics for itsA really good game.First grim and realistic game about the x-men.Many missions for the coolest character - Wolverine.Good graphics for its time and a good variety of missions for different characters,so a high level of complexity.Versions for PC and Playstation much worse. Full Review »
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    4
    Where should I begin with X-Men: The Official Game? Should I start off by telling you about the terrible story line this game tries to tell?Where should I begin with X-Men: The Official Game? Should I start off by telling you about the terrible story line this game tries to tell? How about the graphics that are extremely outdated even for 2006? This game is a joke to anyone who is a fan of the X-Men series. The only reason I have given it a four is because the controls were responsive, at least. Much of the rest of the game is unable to live up to the expectations of even a nine year old. The story is butchered and is hardly able to be pieced together, the graphics are blurry and have no texture or substance, scenes during the game look cheesy and laughable at best. Every fighting scene in the game is repetitive and boring. Even people who love the X-Men series should steer clear of this game. Keep the dignity you deserve and please do not purchase or rent this title. Full Review »
  3. GioD
    Feb 22, 2008
    6
    X-Men: The Official Game, where to begin??? Developed by Z-Axis (who did all of Acclaims extreme sports titles like BMX XXX, and AggresiveX-Men: The Official Game, where to begin??? Developed by Z-Axis (who did all of Acclaims extreme sports titles like BMX XXX, and Aggresive Inline) got the reins to make this title. Well personally, i didnt think it was bad but it wasnt great either. You get to control 3 X-Men Wolverine, Iceman, and Nightcrawler. Whats cool is that all 3 play tremendously different from one another. Right off the bat my least favorite character to play with was Wolverine and it doesnt make it any better that he is the the one you play with the most. Now i can understand that since your Wolverine your missions would consist of destroying and brawling, but would it be too much trouble if maybe Wolvie had more than 3-4 combos? The guy has barely any moves whatsoever. What the hells up with that?! Yeah definately my least favorite. Moving on to Iceman, i actually enjoyed Icemans levels, his levels remind me of Panzer Dragoon in which you stay airborn (courtesy of your forever forming ice slide), shooting down enemies and the like. What i didnt like about his levels is that there freakin' timed! God i hate timed levels...but otherwise there pretty fun. Which brings us to Nightcrawler. Loved playin with 'crawler. His levels are very fun cause you can "bamf" pretty much anywhere you like and kick the hell out of bad guys. Pros- Graphics are very good, contol is tight, voice overs are done by the actual actors, Iceman levels, Nightcrawler levels. Cons-Wolverine has barely any moves, Wolverine levels, anytime you play with Wolverine, game consist mostly of Wolvierine. Overall, decent first try for Z-Axis. Decent time killer...just prepare yourself for those Wolverine levels... Full Review »