Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 1, 2011
    70
    Your Shape 2012 is just a simple update of the previous entry in the series, with a better UI and a few new activities. Go for it if you don't have the 2011 edition and want to burn some calories in your living room.
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    90
    If you are motivated to lose that holiday weight (or gaming-on-the-couch-for-20-hours-a-day-playing-Skyrim weight), then Your Shape: Fitness Evolved 2012 is the right fit.
  3. Feb 15, 2012
    79
    It's a wheeze. [March 2012, p.102]
  4. Mar 5, 2012
    80
    As home fitness products go, it's certainly one of the best. It's absorbing, interesting and fun in parts, and if you're the sort of person who gets a kick out of medals, points and progress reports then you'll certainly enjoy the framework it offers. But if you're looking for a fun Kinect game with a getting-fit side-effect, or a comprehensive exercise routine with serious results, Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012 is not quite there.
  5. Jan 24, 2012
    75
    It's great for a quick morning burn, beating the cold winter months, or a gym trip that is too far away or expensive to be motivating. There's a solid fitness experience here and you'll see results. I would have liked to see more virtual games and variety.
  6. Jan 5, 2012
    80
    Your Shape - Fitness Evolved 2012 comes with a great variety of styles - everything from hiphop to bollywood to strength training. It has better controls than most Kinect games and it's the best training game out there if you like variety in your training.
  7. 75
    Overall, YSFE 2012 mixes together components from EA Sports Active 2, UFC Personal Trainer, and the first Your Shape mostly well, but its polish and depth can't hide its irksome design flaw.
  8. Your Shape provides decent replacements for both of these things, with all the arbitrary but absorbing nonsense of levelling up, medals and badges. This might be the first fitness game we'll use after reviewing it.
  9. Jan 6, 2012
    78
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. Dec 4, 2011
    65
    Your Shape: Fitness Evolved 2012 has plenty of variety, but it's also terribly frustrating, and that is the kiss of death for nearly any fitness game. The lack of direction, spotty fitness tracking and inaccuracy of the Kinect sensor all combine to create a package that just doesn't provide compelling reason to come back for more. The only way fitness games work is if they're more fun than actually going to the gym, but Your Shape fails that test on nearly every count.
  11. 70
    It made us sweat. A lot. [Issue #81, p.91]
  12. Jan 23, 2012
    83
    If you're looking for a fun way to sweat without feeling like you're truly working out, then Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012 is a safe choice that will keep you interested in coming back day after day.
  13. Dec 6, 2011
    85
    Your Shape: Fitness Evolved is a great new Kinect title. The gameplay makes for a really good fitness game. It is ideal for everyone that doesn't want to go to the sportschool but just wants to fitness at home.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012 is one of the few fitness games that really delivers on its promise of allowing you to get a gym quality workout in your living room. I have the previous game, and I feel this one improves on it in virtually every way. Whereas the first game was almost an experimental foray into the capabilities of the Kinect hardware, this game delivers an expansive and interactive workout program. I have been going to the gym five days a week since I was 18 (I am 37 now) and it is so easy to get into a rut and lose motivation. This game (although weather this is a "game" or something more is a subject of debate) continues to motivate you with a series of activities, classes, and challenges. Unlike fitness videos or computer programs, there is a steady stream of feedback and encouragement. It can't make you want to workout, but it helps you get the most out of the endeavor. While I doubt that you could put on real muscle with these activities (as i believe you need more resistance and probably a high testosterone level) if you are looking to burn calories than you have come to the right place. You can work individual muscle groups, takes the classes, or play the game like activities such as brick breaker or jump rope. Some of the selections seem childish to the point of silliness, however they are remarkable effective at elevating your heart rate. As an aside I should mention that while you can work yourself out hard with Fitness Evolved, you certainly dont have to. My kids (6, 4, and 2yrs old) like the activities and could care less about the calorie burn. One of the nice features is that several players can play sequentially, allowing rest between excercises. I would highly recommend this program to anyone who wants a viable alternative to the gym. Full Review »
  2. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    I bought this game a few days ago, as a way to do workouts already prepared for me, because I can't put a workout together to save my life, and I hate going to the gym! So far it is fantastic. The different activities and workouts really get your body moving in different ways! they are fun and keep you motivated, wanting to beat your previous score. I'm also very impressed with how well the Kinect works! It picks up everything your body does and can tell you when your lung isn't quite low enough, or how accurate it can stimulate bouncing a soccer ball on your knees! And all the options are great, such as warm ups, activities, dance classes, and yoga! I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a fun and motivating way to work out! Full Review »
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Great game ! A lot of stuff in this one ! They did a great job with the new body parts categories : it's now clearly a tool for me to fix my back problems. Accessible, quick and sweaty efficient : that's all I asked ! Full Review »