Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Born a slave, Adewale found freedom aboard the Jackdaw where he became Edward Kenway’s second-in-command. 15 years later, Adewale has become an Assassin who finds himself shipwrecked in Saint-Domingue without weapons or crew. He meets locals in an effort to assemble a crew & steal a ship. The more he helps, the more he is drawn into the Maroon slave community. Forced to face his past, he sets out to free the slaves & bring death to their captors. Over 3 hours of new single-player game play! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 90
    The inclusion of new tools only complements this rawness, and even adds a distinctly unique flavor to combat.
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    88
    Freedom Cry delivers what you want from DLC: a new story that will take you hours to complete and more of the gameplay that you enjoyed in the original game.
  3. Dec 17, 2013
    85
    This is a much better effort than AC III's pointlessly episodic Tyranny of King George DLC, and a great model for Assassin's Creed add-ons going forward.
  4. Despite it’s narrative strength, Freedom Cry somehow lacks the polish and teleological glue of the game upon which it builds.
  5. 70
    A nice bit of extra story that suffers a little from resetting and restarting progress. Still - more ACIV is good. [Feb 2014, p.94]
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    60
    The perpetual influx of slaves is a blunt allegory about how freeing such captives isn't a task for one man, let alone one assassin.
  7. Dec 20, 2013
    60
    Combat and exploration is still enormously satisfying, and the narrative is powerful, but without enough fresh ideas that it can call its own, 'Freedom Cry' feels like too much, too soon.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    The game looks like a great game I have been wandering were you can buy the game for xbox360 if someone can tell me that would be great I love how it continues off of assassins creed black flag Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    Good add on very much worth the money hope more assassin' cree blackflag story add ons are coming out worth a Christmas giftand reakky good setting for this add on Collapse
  3. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    I never expect DLC to be as in-depth as the main game, but this is a nice extension to Black Flag. Still hoping they spin Black Flag into it's own franchise, maybe a series of prequels without the AC branding attached. It's depth is enough to walk on it's own. Expand
  4. Feb 12, 2014
    7
    Assassins Creed IV: Black Flag- Freedom Cry is a decent, yet unpolished experience on the Xbox One. The story is good, but there are a few occasional bugs. Plus, some of the missions are just downright not fun. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2013
    7
    Ubisoft must have taken feedback from AC3, because this game fixed some of my biggest complaints (not all, but some).

    Multiplayer maps are
    once again larger, they are closer to the maps you would find in AC Brotherhood, with multi-level, large maps.

    The campaign has brought back upgradeable armor (through crafting), which changes the appearance of your character while also adding health perks.

    Though I wasn't a large fan of the ship in AC3, they made it much more enjoyable in AC4, treating it more like your 'horse' than just a clunky side mission memory.

    All in all, i would say this is a huge step in the right direction for the AC franchise.
    Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Having played all of the Assassin's Creed franchise, this was a bit of a disappointment for me. Though I loved the assassin game play and mostly enjoyed the naval experience, the story was not amazing for an AC game. Edward doesn't become an assassin until the end of the game, but in fact impersonates one throughout. This was ashamed, and I think if this game had been released as a pirates game and hadn't focused on being similar to previous AC games I would have liked it more.
    I didn't not enjoy the experience, it just didn't impress me as much as I had hoped.
    Still, looking forward to the next Assassin's Creed game!
    Expand
  7. Jan 13, 2014
    5
    I found the game no more than an extension of the other Assassin's Creed franchise games, however the fighting to create and expand your pirate fleet is incredibly fun. I wish they would expand this into a whole series on its own with the a "descent" story and extremely large battles.....maybe evolve from the tactical portion as your fleet grows into a strategic command and control style. It could be the best of both worlds. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews