Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Oct 22, 2014
    100
    The world needs more games like this.
  2. Apr 29, 2014
    94
    If you’ve been impressed by just the visual style, you’ll be glad to know that it’s worth buying for that at first, and then turns into an RPG you won’t be able to turn away from.
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    93
    The artwork on display is stunning, and the combat is constantly engaging, and the characters openly defy genre convention. But perhaps the best thing I can say about Child of Light is that I was often unsure as to whether I was headed in the direction I was supposed to, and I never once cared. I just wanted to fly to every corner of the world, take it in, and smile.
  4. May 12, 2014
    90
    If you have a small interest in role-playing games, Child of Light comes highly recommended.
  5. 90
    Child of Light is a fun adventure well worth exploring by yourself or with a friend.
  6. Apr 30, 2014
    90
    A modern classic is born.
  7. Apr 30, 2014
    90
    Between its artistic strengths and its addictive gameplay Child of Light is a fairy tale well worth the price of admission that I wish more studios would take notice of.
  8. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Roleplaying games still have a place in the world, and Child of Light is a good reminder that it’s possible to honor what made the genre popular while still adding some modern flare.
  9. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Artistically wonderful, depicting a superb story that can take you back to childhood and make you want every sentence you ear or pronounce to rhyme,Child of Light is delightful to play, with great exploration phases and a really good combat system. We definitely need more games like this one.
  10. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Ubisoft Montreal creates something that we could consider as a interactive poem with a RPG nature. A marvelous trip to the fantasy imagined by artists and brought to reality thanks to the UbiArt Framework. Pure beauty.
  11. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    If you like a fantasy rich turn based RPG you’d be an absolute fool not to buy Child of Light.
  12. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Child of Light is a bright spot in a genre overwhelmed by mediocrity. Beautifully retro, yet modern, and incredibly addicting–Ubisoft Montreal has created a rich world and style that is unlike anything I’ve played before.
  13. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    A fantastic RPG with a creative aesthetic and fairy tale narrative, Child of Light is a memorable experience that's as fun to play as it is artistically pleasing.
  14. Apr 28, 2014
    88
    A fascinating, involving and surprising adventure, with huge artistic values and a fresh, strongly European new take on the classic J-RPG formula.
  15. Gorgeous hand drawn presentation makes its fantastical world and characters feel like paintings come to life, and will likely leave fans of dynamic game art drooling. Ditto for music lovers, who will go ga-ga for the game’s gentle, moving theme and rousing orchestral battle melodies.
  16. Apr 28, 2014
    85
    Child of Light does exactly what it wants to do: tell a beautiful story in the shell of a JRPG.
  17. Apr 28, 2014
    85
    Child of Light will satiate pretty much everyone but the most hardcore of RPG fans, and even then, they'll find plenty of enjoyment. There are a few minor issues here and there that hold it back from instant-classic status that could be enhanced in a sequel or future work, but regardless, Child of Light is a noble effort from Ubisoft Montreal, and another win to put in the studio's diverse portfolio.
  18. Official Xbox Magazine
    May 30, 2014
    80
    And as a whimsical, sweet-natured tale of a princess who learns she must earn her right to return home, it's a warm-hearted departure we found difficult not to embrace. [July 2014, p.68]
  19. Apr 30, 2014
    80
    Child of Light may not be the biggest game this year, but sometimes it’s the smallest things that shine the brightest.
  20. Apr 29, 2014
    80
    It is a blending of genre and style that is an unexpected treat, and already one of the year's role-playing game highlights.
  21. Child of Light has a lot going for it – amazing visuals, serene soundtrack, cute dialogue, clever puzzles, a relatively large world to explore and challenging battles, all put together into a package that has an unmistakable indie-art game feel. While its inspiration as a Japanese role-playing game is unmistakable, Ubisoft’s effort is a real stride forward in a genre that hasn’t changed much to reflect modern sensibilities.
  22. Apr 28, 2014
    80
    It’s an RPG with all its French-Canadian roots on show, a spectacular and unique amalgam of genres and ideas that creates something we really think any RPG fan ought to experience.
  23. Apr 28, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is a wonderfully realized, somber adventure, and I couldn't be happier that such a game exists.
  24. Apr 28, 2014
    80
    If you can stomach the rhyming, you’ll find Aurora an engaging heroine with a worthy cause who can slog her way through even the most intense RPG battles.
  25. Apr 28, 2014
    80
    Ubisoft Montreal has conjured a fairy tale world that you'll enjoy spending time in, a text-based RPG adventure with its own line in rhyming. Child of Light is a glorious game, short and yet sweet, memorable, gorgeous; an incredible feat. And for the small price you'll be paying, Child of Light is definitely more than worth playing.
  26. Apr 28, 2014
    80
    Child of Light isn’t a top-tier RPG, but its solid mechanics and visual flair ensure that it also isn’t a forgettable one.
  27. Apr 28, 2014
    80
    While its writing can make one cringe now and then, Child of Light is an overall charmer of a game, with a beautiful audiovisual style and clever twists on simple RPG concepts. Lovely stuff!
  28. Apr 28, 2014
    75
    Child of Light doesn’t always fire on all cylinders, but it will do enough to hold your attention from beginning to end.
  29. Apr 30, 2014
    70
    Gorgeous to see and hear and engaging as far as gameplay is concerned, Child of Light is an excellently built game with a forgivably wonky augmentation system but an underdeveloped narrative. Its artists very clearly knew what they wanted it to be, but couldn’t quite manage to orchestrate effectively. Play it, soak up its beauty, but expect a jejune take on fairy tale yarn-spinning.
  30. Apr 28, 2014
    70
    There's simply no soul in Child of Light, no emotional attachment to keep you pressing on into the darkness. There isn't even a good addictive hook – the story makes a few feeble tugs at your heartstrings, but doesn't create any great mysteries that you'll be desperate to solve, and the combat, while solid, never quite achieves "just one more round" status. It's all lovely and pleasant and well-crafted – and hollow.
  31. Apr 28, 2014
    65
    It's a beautiful, familiar trip evoking stories I've heard and places I've imagined before. But it's all so ephemeral — less than a day after finishing it, I can already feel my memories of my time in Lemuria and the characters I met there drifting away.
  32. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    A beautiful and often clever game that doesn’t seem to be aiming as high as it could be. It seems content to simply be pretty and mechanically solid, but it’s not a game one can easily get super invested in. There are the makings of a better game in here, and the combat is reliably entertaining throughout, but Child of Light never quite rises as high as its untethered protagonist.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    This is easily the highest quality indie game I've ever played, plus it's super cheap. As the reviews have said, the graphics areThis is easily the highest quality indie game I've ever played, plus it's super cheap. As the reviews have said, the graphics are breath-taking, and it's quality as an RPG is hard to match. Overall just a really great game. Full Review »
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    5
    Child of Light is one of those games that transports you into another world and creates a serene, calm, and tranquil environment through theChild of Light is one of those games that transports you into another world and creates a serene, calm, and tranquil environment through the use of beautiful imagery and a soothing musical score. The game makes you really feel like your in a fairytale-esque dream. Most importantly, the gameplay feels very attuned with the story and atmosphere. Little details like the main character's hair blowing in the wind or the wildlife moving in the background create an experience that feels very real. The protagonist's movement feels very natural and smooth and the controls and response time are perfect. Also, the absence of a HUD, really enhances the world coming to life. The combat is decent along with the gameplay in between the combat. The thing that really makes this game stand out is how well everything seems to flow together. The game just feels very natural and easy to play as if it was a game made out of a dream. Downsides for me was because its combat was turn based, it could get kinda repetitive. Having played many turn based rpgs, I'm a bit tired of them when there is a lot of enemies. Your enjoyment of this game will depend on how much turn based action you can stand. Also, the crafting gems system can be kind of confusing and annoying. I love the atmosphere, but wish the gameplay was more than just collecting gems and potions and generic turn based combat. Give it a try though if you like the atmosphere of the world. Full Review »
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    I Gonna be honest, i wish there were more unique games like this,ubi-soft has done awsome job..i just started this game this morning and itI Gonna be honest, i wish there were more unique games like this,ubi-soft has done awsome job..i just started this game this morning and it gives me that good feeling i used to get when i played super mario 2 and 3 for the first time on nintendo..wow factor a 10..BUY THIS GAME GUYS its worth more than the price what a deal...AWSOME...and looks awsome on XBOXONE...GREAT JOB UBI-SOFT Full Review »