Plants vs Zombies: Garden Warfare Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 426 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Plants vs Zombies: Garden Warfare has players blast zombies, plants, and new characters with inventive weapons across a mine-blowing PvZ world.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    100
    Sure, you could spend your entire time shooting at both living and dead, but the best gameplay comes from varied and mechanically diverse controllable characters.
  2. Mar 9, 2014
    84
    An original ray of sunshine in a genre crowded with mindless clones.
  3. What’s here is cleverly crafted, well-balanced, and capable of generating moments of authentic mirth.
  4. Mar 17, 2014
    80
    A great, simple shooter for all ages.
  5. Mar 13, 2014
    75
    Colorful, humorous and mostly fun to play: Garden Warfare is unexpectedly a multiplayer shooter that can easily live besides Titanfall on Microsoft’s console.
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    70
    Garden Warfare on the Xbox One is visually impressive and PopCap did a great job translating the color palette and aesthetics of the mobile game to this third person shooter.
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    50
    Sadly, any gains made here are squandered by woolly controls, a dearth of feedback and infuriating inaccuracy even with aiming assist dialed up to maximum.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 101
  2. Negative: 7 out of 101
  1. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    PvZ Garden Warfare is a fantastic shooter and a stellar multiplayer experience. For competitive gamers, Team Vanquish is incrediblyPvZ Garden Warfare is a fantastic shooter and a stellar multiplayer experience. For competitive gamers, Team Vanquish is incredibly well-balanced given the variety in classes for both the zombies and plants. For cooperative games, Garden Ops is a challenging and fun way to fight waves of zombies. Definitely paying homage to the traditional PvZ top-down strategy game.

    Finally, the animations are glorious. If you think kittens are cute, check out the sunflower class. This game works perfectly as a third person shooter. It showcases the game's superb and fun artwork. I recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a good shooter or action game. For me, the game is pure bliss.
    Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    This is what its all about . FUN and that is what you get when you buy this game pure FUN . this is one of the best games i have played inThis is what its all about . FUN and that is what you get when you buy this game pure FUN . this is one of the best games i have played in years its colorful its silly and its very balanced do not pass this up you will have a blast playing 100% Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Excellent Xbox One debut for the PvZ franchise! :) At just $40, this game's an absolute steal and I recommend it to just about anyone. PopcapExcellent Xbox One debut for the PvZ franchise! :) At just $40, this game's an absolute steal and I recommend it to just about anyone. Popcap Games and EA have a winner on their hands. Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    Very surprised with how much fun I had playing this game. With all the different game modes, characters, weapons, and special abilities itVery surprised with how much fun I had playing this game. With all the different game modes, characters, weapons, and special abilities it will be hard to put down. A great game for the kids, wife, or parents anyone would enjoy. It is definitely worth the $40 price point. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2015
    8
    Pleasantly surprising. I downloaded this game with the expectation that it would suck major arse. Not the case. This game is fun. Download itPleasantly surprising. I downloaded this game with the expectation that it would suck major arse. Not the case. This game is fun. Download it and play as a chomper. Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    I can't get enough of this game, it's a blast every time I play it. I love the couch co-op mode as well, although it would be nice if youI can't get enough of this game, it's a blast every time I play it. I love the couch co-op mode as well, although it would be nice if you could go into the multiplayer modes with a guest on the same screen. It's at the perfect price as well and would highly recommend any Xbox One user to pick this up! Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2014
    0
    I'm giving gnome bomb a 0. It is the most broken game mode ever made. Instant plant? Why?! Then it takes about 9 seconds to defuse whileI'm giving gnome bomb a 0. It is the most broken game mode ever made. Instant plant? Why?! Then it takes about 9 seconds to defuse while everybody and there mother spam there explosives on the bomb almost making it impossible to defuse. Very poor choice. Expand

See all 101 User Reviews