Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 77
    A pretty good game. From large game levels and lots of extra tasks to that non-linear approach to how you can complete said tasks and the ability to play the whole campaign cooperatively, there really is a lot to like.
  2. Jul 14, 2014
    70
    Sniper Elite III sees the franchise creep closer to excellence. It doesn't quite get there, but nonetheless this is a solid title that has arrived in a particularly lean month.
  3. Jul 11, 2014
    70
    It’s worth the price tag for the borderline ridiculous long-range shots you can pull off, but the campaign isn’t so good that I’d want to play through it a second time right away.
  4. Jun 26, 2014
    70
    It’s an occasionally annoying but often enjoyable game.
  5. Jul 2, 2014
    68
    Rebellion chose the right path: Opening the world and adding much more stealth to the mix was the right decision. Unfortunately the AI still thinks it is in a linear shooter and acts accordingly.
  6. Jul 13, 2014
    64
    Sniper Elite III sports very hard, tactical missions with a good and varied level design, but it disappoints in the graphics and enemy AI departments as well.
  7. Aug 18, 2014
    60
    If you live for the glory of the kill, Sniper Elite III is the game for you, just don't expect it to be routinely enjoyable. It can get a bit heavy. [Issue#114, p.72]
  8. Aug 15, 2014
    60
    Sniper Elite III continues to evolve the series and it’s evident that Rebellion have attempted to open up the franchise, offering more freedom. Unfortunately this comes at the cost of a pure sniping experience – something most will be looking for, given the title.
  9. Jul 3, 2014
    60
    Sniper Elite 3’s focus on marksmanship over direct confrontation is admirable, but its lack of polish or any real personality keep it from standing out.
  10. Jun 26, 2014
    60
    Sniper Elite 3 has its moments, but they are too few and far between. Every so often you'll find yourself enjoying it, but that soon fades as you enter a pattern of shooting hundreds of dudes until you can move forward and snipe again.
  11. 60
    Clumsy but just about competent, this plays its one note well enough to satisfy anybody who wants to spend hours peering through a scope.
  12. Oct 21, 2014
    50
    Sniper Elite 3 is an average game. The sneaking around, hiding, scouting and tactical aspects are very enjoyable. But it gets repetitive pretty fast, especially when the actual gameplay and the enemies don't really change.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Jul 1, 2014
    7
    Merely a time pass:

    When i first got this I was quite excited as being my first into the series, I had quite high expectations and
    Merely a time pass:

    When i first got this I was quite excited as being my first into the series, I had quite high expectations and sometimes those expectations were let down drastically.

    Graphics:
    Well it doesn't bother me, but being a next generation game, I was hoping for it to be a little more polished. Not saying that it looks bad or anything, but just saying it could look a little bit better. The character models looked fairly good, mainly the main protagonist. Although I do wish they put a little more effort into the enemy AI character models.

    Gameplay:
    The gameplay is quite good as you sneak around trying to slowly neutralize enemies, and getting that 'oh I'm a total badass vibe'. it does get repetitive sadly, Sure its fun to disable a piece of machinery while it provides a loud noise to mask your sniper shots, and the x-ray kills do get old after you've seen them all.
    The moments where things get heavy is quite hard, the aiming of normal machine guns to pistols is really hard and not even accurate so that really makes things hard when you need to get out of a situation quickly.

    Sound:
    This part of the game was done well, from bullet sounds to skulls crushing from the bullet penetrating it, all sounded great, even the voice acting was top notch. Even though the main character sounded like Sam Fisher.

    Story:
    To be quite honest I didn't pay that much attention to this, because it is really not that deep or even interesting. If you are looking for a total story driven game, like Infamous or The Last Of Us then skip this, but if you're in the mood for a stealthy sniper game this is it.
    Just enjoy the gameplay and let go of everything else.

    Finally I think this game is rent if you can and if you're hard up for something till the major releases its not all that bad, you have a lot of trophies or achievements to collect, collectables, side missions etc. Its a beefy game with lots to do and many ways to do so.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 6, 2014
    5
    Overall the game feels very boring, its full of glitches and the missions are such a drag, the graphics are below average and very oftenOverall the game feels very boring, its full of glitches and the missions are such a drag, the graphics are below average and very often textures take along time to load and when they do load they look rubbish which is unacceptable. Twice i have had 2 glitches that have meant i had to restart the whole level, one being where i just kept falling off the side of a cliff, and the next one is the mission where you have to take out the officers, but everytime the officer arrived he ended up just running off for no reason. 5/10 Full Review »
  3. Jul 12, 2014
    7
    Its a fun game and despite what some reviewers are saying you should play it if sniping and slow-mo kills are your thing but I would suggestIts a fun game and despite what some reviewers are saying you should play it if sniping and slow-mo kills are your thing but I would suggest buying it on sale or buying it full price, then trade it in quickly because it doesn't have much replay value even with multiplayer. Full Review »