Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Mar 20, 2014
    70
    Thief stumbles in some areas, but purely as a stealth game it does have some shining moments.
  2. Mar 10, 2014
    75
    Satisfying gameplay mechanics and excellent environments and sound design meet an unsound technical production, irritating and overly repetitive character dialogues and a lacklustre enemy AI. Stealth games lovers will still find good elements in the new Thief, but it isn't the triumphant return we'd hoped it would be.
  3. Feb 27, 2014
    50
    And therein lies the game’s real issue. Whereas Dishonored (which does feel like Thief’s more charismatic and popular older brother) and Mark of the Ninja have toyed with established hide-and-seek mechanics and shown that there are still ideas to mine in this genre, Thief just sticks to the shadows.
  4. 75
    It's a bit rote, and dealing with the same two basic guard types (swordsman and crossbowman) for the bulk of the game doesn’t help. The repetition is slightly offset, however, by the wealth of tools at your disposal for staying hidden.
  5. Feb 24, 2014
    60
    Thief has its hang-ups, particularly with frustrating loading times and repetitive gameplay that will have players unlocking the same doors over and over again. However, Eidos Montreal has captured the essence of stealth gameplay with their take on Thief.
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    Hiding in the shadows and taking out each opponent like a ninja, albeit a non-lethal one, is satisfying. But Thief shows one too many unrefined edges, occasionally catching itself unable to resolve the issue combining classic design with modern production.
  7. It’s an early, serious, and unexpected contender for my list of the top 10 games of 2014.
  8. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    Thief maintains the strengths of its stealth-centric predecessors and offers plenty in the way of actual thievery, but don't expect any fun, new gameplay mechanics or an enchanting story in this reboot.
  9. Feb 24, 2014
    75
    Despite its slow and dreary start, Thief builds to deliver an experience that most stealth fans will lap up. However, most Thief fans will mourn the loss of the reboot’s freedom and choice. That said, Thief is ultimately a game that delivers epic highs and mediocre lows, and for the highs alone, I have no issues recommending it to anyone.
  10. Feb 24, 2014
    68
    Ignoring the story and cherrypicking the best side missions is the best way to approach it.
  11. Feb 24, 2014
    60
    There are elements of a better game in Thief — maybe even a great one. I enjoyed Garrett's adventure when it was about stealing, when it was about getting into a structure creatively and sneaking away, about accumulating and spending loot. But I wanted much more of that breaking and entering than it was willing to give me.
  12. Feb 24, 2014
    80
    At times, the developer seems ill-fitted for the franchise, but the studio has padded out this selection of classic stealth challenges with crafty cat-and-mouse moments that help intensify Thief’s ­slow ­pacing.
  13. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    A solid stealth genre game. If you’re after an action-packed slaughterfest, look elsewhere – Thief will appeal to long-term fans and gamers that prefer to take a more cerebral approach with their anarchy.
  14. 70
    A decent-enough but sadly cramped and wayward take on a classic stealth franchise.
  15. Feb 24, 2014
    85
    Issues with navigation and annoying load problems are impossible to ignore, and it stings to think of a version of this game that doesn’t suffer from those drawbacks. Still, Thief is just about the best modern Thief game I could ask for.
  16. Feb 24, 2014
    80
    Thief is best when it sticks to the involving, slow-paced stealth that made its ancestor such a tense affair. In its subtle moments, Eidos Montreal gives your creeping a sense of closeness and texture, in a game where you almost always have your nose pressed against things.
  17. Feb 24, 2014
    75
    The game’s technical performance feels like a struggle at times on both the PlayStation 4 and the Xbox One, and after a strong buildup that takes you through cleverly designed missions and well-considered spaces, the game departs from its strengths in an attempt to build dramatic confrontations at the end of the game. It’s not exactly a perfect run for Garrett, but players will still find many things worth taking.
  18. Feb 24, 2014
    75
    The story and characters are somewhat forgettable, most of the missions are straight-forward, and the locales tend to blend together after a while. Having said that, there's a lot of potential here if you dig deep down into the game's ingenious difficulty sliders and challenge modes. In that sense, Thief succeeds as a bold stealth game, despite its bruises.
  19. Feb 24, 2014
    35
    Actively unpleasant to play, embarrassingly buggy, and wholly devoid of any personality, Eidos Montreal’s Thief reboot certainly isn’t the worthy continuation fans waited almost a decade for.
  20. Feb 24, 2014
    60
    It's a game that adds up to less than the sum of its parts. Undeniably, Thief suffers greatly by comparison to Dishonored - its more coherent, more thoughtfully and successfully designed cousin, in whose shadow Garrett and his game now cringe.
  21. Feb 24, 2014
    60
    As Thief seesawed up and down, my enjoyment of it followed suit. Each time I thought I might fall in love, the game doused my passions with a new annoyance.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 226 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 64
  2. Negative: 22 out of 64
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Thief is truly an excellent game for excellent people. Foreboding atmosphere, superbly controls, complex gameplay systems, intricate graphics, exceptional storytelling, etc. Eidos Montreal have proven once again that their team has the chops to reboot a classic franchise after the incredible Deus Ex: Human Revolution. Thief is a Thief game for fans of the older titles. While some things have changed, 99% of it remains the same but better than ever. Full Review »
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    As someone who has never been exposed to the Thief franchise prior to this installment, this newest Thief is a sleeper hit for me. I'm thoroughly enjoying every moment with this game. The graphics and detail are incredible!! Some of the best I've seen. This is one of the most polished, immersive, atmospheric games to come out in awhile. I'm loving the mellow paced, stealth gameplay where the main focus is stealing as much as possible in contrast to fighting as many enemies as possible. Its an incredibly refreshing feeling in regards that most games nowadays are more focused on throwing as many enemies as possible at you which quickly gets old. This game is relaxing to play and a great way to wind down. I like games where I can just look and explore the game environment and admire at its beauty. This is one of those games that really transports you to that location and making you forget your just playing a game. In my opinion, this is the best stealth game I've ever played, even better than Dishonored which I also loved. I highly recommend this to anyone who is interested in this game. I'm really baffled by the critics scores nowadays. Sometimes, they come across more as video game haters, then video game lovers. And its interesting how franchises that have been around for awhile like Mario will play it safe and result in a been there done that feeling, yet their scores are always high while new franchises or resurrected franchises will experiment with something new and overall do it well, but critics will nitpick the hell out of the game and review it harshly. Then later these same critics will complain about the lack of creativity and experimentation in the video game industry! Its very ironic. Anyways, try this game out and see for yourself whether you enjoy it or not. For me, its one of the best games I've ever had the pleasure playing. And I hope they continue this franchise! Full Review »
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    4
    With the developers getting caught giving fake positive reviews should tell enough about this game. With what feels like unfinished gameplay, levels and a horrible plot this game is not worth getting at all. I looked at this game as it's own thing, separate from the original series but it's just plays like an unfinished game. Graphics look like something we would see in 2007 and dialogue is joke. It is not worth spending $60 dollars on this game so if you still plan on getting it, rent it or buy it used instead. Full Review »