Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 80
    The same game looking better - and offering a deeper immersion into Lara's island nightmare. [Issue #239]
  2. Feb 23, 2014
    87
    An undoubtedly successful next-gen makeup operation, delivering rich and vibrant graphics on an already great game. Nevertheless, this is a game suited only for those who never played the original one: the revamped graphics aren't enough to justify the admittance price if you already played it.
  3. Feb 10, 2014
    70
    Last year's great game with even better graphics. If you haven't played Lar's comeback, now is the time to do it, even though more polish on the game play flaws would have been appreciated.
  4. Feb 7, 2014
    90
    Tomb Raider is one of the games of the last generation and now it’s that little bit prettier, and better for it.
  5. Jan 31, 2014
    100
    A lack of decent bonuses makes the Definitive Edition a hard sell for existing fans, but for newcomers it's a slice of platforming perfection that will make the wait for next-gen blockbusters easier to bear.
  6. Jan 30, 2014
    85
    Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition's enhancements are cosmetic-only so the flaws present in the game's last-gen version are still present. Even so, it's a great game made greater, so for those yet to play it, this is the version to get.
  7. Jan 29, 2014
    90
    The game on both PS4 and Xbox One is gorgeous, though it appears the PS4 comes out ahead in a few areas, such as all cut-scenes being rendered at 1080p, while some on Xbox One are capped at 900p.
  8. Jan 29, 2014
    90
    It combines fighting and stealth in an elegant manner, gives you just enough freedom to make you forget there's actually not all that much of it there. All in all and tonal inconsistencies aside, it's one of the best engineered games out there.
  9. Jan 29, 2014
    89
    Even though it’s an incredible game, it’s still one that can be beaten over a quick rental period, with multi-player that isn’t deep enough to sustain the experience for much longer.
  10. 80
    Once you've turned off the gesture and voice control, you've got a product that's a simple facelift to a game that scarcely needed it. It's the better of the two, but the game doesn't really stand up to a full replay this soon.
  11. 85
    Without any significant, newly added gameplay beyond a single additional optional tomb, we still find ourselves wishing for more side areas to explore and less of the game’s insistence on nudging us in the ribs about the locations of collectibles and secrets. Still, there’s no denying that Definitive Edition is the best way to experience Lara’s origin story for those who haven’t yet pick-axed their way through this incredibly surefooted reboot.
  12. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    The exquisite visual design is so breathtaking that I continually found myself staring at the scenery instead of pushing onward. Tomb Raider is a great reinvention of this enduring franchise that made me eager to see where Lara goes in her future.
  13. 94
    One of the pinnacles of last-gen gaming is presented as one of the best looking games on offer for your new console if not one of the best looking games you’ve ever seen, period.
  14. Jan 27, 2014
    90
    This is the reboot we were waiting for. Beautiful, clever, expertly paced, it's a superb blend of action, exploration and puzzle. Definitely a great experience on PS4 and Xbox One.
  15. Jan 27, 2014
    70
    The only thing we can definitively say is that if publishers are going to begin overcharging for slight next-gen upgrades, then this is going to be one hell of a long generation.
  16. Jan 26, 2014
    93
    The biggest draw of Tomb Raider: The Definitive Edition is the improved graphics. They're simply stunning in perhaps the best-looking console game I've ever seen. Running smooth 1080p resolution, this new version adds an incredible level of detail to the newly modeled characters and lush environments.
  17. Jan 26, 2014
    91
    The upstep in visual detail from the older console versions is a nice bonus, but Tomb Raider didn’t need massaging. It’s the same well-realised action reboot for Lara Croft that came as such a pleasant surprise last year.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 6 out of 31
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    This is a very good action adventure game. With puzzles, great shooting mechanics and tons of explorable areas , this game will keep you busy for quite a while. BUT WHAT I CANNOT UNDERSTAND, is why you would buy this game if you previously had it. It is the SAME GAME. Those who bought it again and are complaining about a lack of innovation are idiots. IT IS THE SAME **** GAME. Buy it if you have not already, because it's great, but if you already have the 7th gen version or the PC version, YOU ALREADY HAVE THIS GAME, lol. People are basically complaining about their own stupidity on here. Full Review »
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love this game. The graphics improvement is beautiful and the game itself is one for the ages. It's absurd that people are upset that the price of this is $59.99... Battlefield 4 is for all 4 last/current gen consoles and the price was static across them all. It's a AAA title on the newest gen consoles and it's spectacular for people like me who DIDN'T PLAY IT ON 360 OR PS3. How has nobody thought of that?? Not everybody played it already and when I heard it was being improved for PS4/XOne I was ecstatic because it also gave me something to play on my brand new system with few launch titles.

    Stop calling this fraud and robbery. It's absolutely ridiculous. If you already played it why would you buy the new version? What would be the point. Remember when Half-Life was released on the Source engine? You didn't HAVE to buy it.

    Worth the money for newcomers to the title as well as non-petulant adults who want to see what the now current gen is capable of.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Apparently you don't actually have to have played a game in order to write a review. The negative reviews on here are not helpful at all. I have played the game on 360, and I have never played it on XBO but if it's the same game but prettier, then it should get the same rating despite the price. If this game was $400 and it wouldn't change the score. Full Review »