• Publisher: 2K Games
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2005
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 6 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. A.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    I love it. I took the time to write down all the quotes from each loading screen by recording the loading screens with my vcr. lol The struggle with the controls and glitches is worth it..don't give up. All the way to the end!
  2. BrunoF.
    Apr 14, 2007
    10
    Enter another kind of horror game. For those who can both take pleasure out of reading and playing videogames, I give you Dark Corners of the Earth: one of the best recriations of a literary work, in this case the work of H. P. Lovecraft. For those who also admired Shadow of The Comet or Prisioner of Ice (both great PC adventures) the sort of fear and panic which Call of Cthulhu portrays Enter another kind of horror game. For those who can both take pleasure out of reading and playing videogames, I give you Dark Corners of the Earth: one of the best recriations of a literary work, in this case the work of H. P. Lovecraft. For those who also admired Shadow of The Comet or Prisioner of Ice (both great PC adventures) the sort of fear and panic which Call of Cthulhu portrays will feel somewhat familiar. This is not a game likely to scare you as much as it imposes its own rythm, its own spiral down to the gravest and most horrible corners of fright. The technical aspects are well-enough for what the game requires. Moreover, this isn't your average FPS game, not in the true sense of the term. Think of it as a First Person game, where shooting is a minor part in comparisson to dialogues, puzzle solving and exploring the magnificent spaces where the game takes set. Unfortunately, many failed to see the game for what it really is: an amazing journey with the mark of one of Literature's greatest genius, Lovecraft. The menus are scarce but brilliant. There is a sense of distinction in many of the game's aspects: characters, dialogues, the quality of the texts. Most of all, it has a great ambience, in a way we rarely find in a videogame. A real shame that the other episodes turned out to be cancelled - mostly due to this game's poor market impact. One of XBOX's best games. Expand
  3. JoseQ.
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    This is an amazing game! What it lacks in graphics, it more than makes up for with an increadible story, a unique and scary as hell atmosphere, and total immersion of the player into the story. This is not your typical enter-the-room-with-guns-blazing FPS, but a perfect combination of an horror movie/adventure game viewed in the first person. The first 1/3 of the game you don't even This is an amazing game! What it lacks in graphics, it more than makes up for with an increadible story, a unique and scary as hell atmosphere, and total immersion of the player into the story. This is not your typical enter-the-room-with-guns-blazing FPS, but a perfect combination of an horror movie/adventure game viewed in the first person. The first 1/3 of the game you don't even have a weapon, which not only adds to the feeling of dread and appearant doom, but it teaches you what kind of exploring and puzzle solving you will be required to do in order to advance the story. Once weapons are acquired, the puzzle solving and exploring still needs to be done and actually gets a little harder, so it never becomes a mindless shooting fest. Players who want to be challenged and are looking for something different, this game is a must play. The story might be linear, but finding the way and keeping your sanity are not. Expand
  4. JerryB.
    Oct 29, 2005
    10
    A truly immersive survival horror game with a great story.
  5. JimB.
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    Atmospehere is fantastic. Scared me senseless.
  6. WillD.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Horror as horror should be. Excellent pacing, beautiful visuals. Scary as hell.
  7. jamesB.
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    This game is the most distubing thing i've ever seen. Monsters bigger than a building and a story that actually draws you in. Fantastic
  8. AaronH.
    Nov 22, 2006
    9
    One of the most fulfilling games I've ever played. The ending will leave you breathless.
  9. LizardC.
    Nov 12, 2005
    9
    Awesome atmosphere, a game made by real Lovecraft fans who get the genre. There are few things that could be tightened up a bit if there's a sequel (which I really hope there is). The hotel attck scene is awesome and so incredibly close to the book 'The Shadow Over Inssmouth'.
  10. JCS.n
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Awesome story and terrifying gameplay completely makes up for the imperfect shooting and difficult puzzles.
  11. Megatron
    Dec 1, 2005
    9
    I dont know what made Rob c or Derrick f decide 2 ditch this game,but thank god i did nt mind their opinion....The game is fantastic,maybe u did nt gave it aserious try and were 2 eager 2 get more action out ...from an adventure fps...In fact u can actually get 2 hold guns,but the good thing about this game is that it sometimes gives u the oppurtunity not 2 make use of them...the stealth I dont know what made Rob c or Derrick f decide 2 ditch this game,but thank god i did nt mind their opinion....The game is fantastic,maybe u did nt gave it aserious try and were 2 eager 2 get more action out ...from an adventure fps...In fact u can actually get 2 hold guns,but the good thing about this game is that it sometimes gives u the oppurtunity not 2 make use of them...the stealth approach,something that quality titles such as Riddick,thief series and Deus Ex gave us b4,is another way to proceed further,without going gang -ho on anything that moves!It is an original game,with less amount of clich'es and action tha most casual shooters,but has more atmosphere,story and thinking than the hall bunch,making u think almost just as how u would as a private i...Some problems or misses that occur in almost every game(sometimes troubling enemy A.I.,no real time shadows and dynamic lighting or normal mapping,athough good texturing)must nt degrade the expirience u get out of this title(more realistic healing+shooting system,u know,no reticle or hud,with ur hands trembing after u aim 4 too much time,or the pain that the character expresses when hit,or afraid),it is truly unfair 4 the respectable gamer 2 consider vital,and not giving the proper attention2 the excelent pacing of the game.Anyone should at least try it ,just 4 the new elements and well given atmoshere,and the excellent effort the programmers did on bringing Lovecrafts myth2 the xbox controller...Just like the exceptional personalities,u ll either love it..or hate it...nothing in between...It took long to get it after being postponed every now and then,butit certainly worthed it...Remarcable job... Collapse
  12. MarcH.
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    Cthulhu ftagnh!
  13. PaulaC.
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    So far is been keeping me terrifyingly on edge! Great game
  14. HenryL.
    Oct 28, 2005
    9
    This is a great game! It drips atmosphere, stays true to the material, and is scary as hell. There
  15. RaffaeleL.
    May 12, 2006
    9
    One of the best horror games i ever played.. dynamic, balanced puzzles... i read all of the text and dialogues of the game and found noone of those to be boring; many jumps off the chair assured.
  16. MackJ.
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    Innovative. Fantastic game. I wish they all got me this scared and excited.
  17. JamesW.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    The most enthralling, frightening, and deeply immersive survival horror -- make that videogame -- I've ever had the pleasure to experience. Well done to Headfirst!!! Do yourself a favor and pick this up.
  18. scootaboy
    Feb 17, 2006
    9
    Truly one of the best games I've played this generation. While it might not have the latest bump mapped, mip-mapped Hign Definition whatchamacalits in the graphics department, the game has a true sense of Art Direction and style. The sanity effects are great even if not entire unique and add a tangible sense of confusion to the games most harrowing moments. Trying to see the three Truly one of the best games I've played this generation. While it might not have the latest bump mapped, mip-mapped Hign Definition whatchamacalits in the graphics department, the game has a true sense of Art Direction and style. The sanity effects are great even if not entire unique and add a tangible sense of confusion to the games most harrowing moments. Trying to see the three story thing thats attacking you is tough through the haze and this is how it should be. Furthermore, the sound design is top notch with wonderfully creepy music (I couldn't stand to leave it on pause - too creepy) and fantastic sound effects that really shake your subwoofer. While the final showdown and the last hour or so of play leading up to it come increasingly from left-field, the epilogue (no spoilers here) is one of the most satisfiying conclusions to any game I have played. For those of you finding the opening couple of chapters slow going - stick with it, things soon heat up and there's a great deal of variety and clever ideas at play here. Highly recommended. Expand
  19. MohammedN.
    Sep 15, 2007
    9
    An outstanding game not without bugs but the concept and gameplay are original throughout. Its atmosphere is gripping and disturbing and it feels just right, even though most of the gameplay is linear, there is enough content and twists to make you appreciate the minds behind this game. Get it today or hit the road!
  20. Jul 24, 2014
    8
    An overall very interesting and worth being played game. Especially for H.P. Lovecraft fans.

    What works: - A number of ideas: the sanity factor, the screen without HUD - The use of Lovecraft material for creating the game - The overall atmosphere of dread and isolation - The puzzles: they are often very well made and fairly engaging - The decision of relying on aiming down the
    An overall very interesting and worth being played game. Especially for H.P. Lovecraft fans.

    What works:

    - A number of ideas: the sanity factor, the screen without HUD
    - The use of Lovecraft material for creating the game
    - The overall atmosphere of dread and isolation
    - The puzzles: they are often very well made and fairly engaging
    - The decision of relying on aiming down the sight (no in game crosshair)
    - The damage system being divided into 3 categories (bandage, splint, suture, antidote)

    What doesn't work:

    - The graphic is sometimes too blurry and muddy, making difficult to not only spot some items but even simple orientation
    - Respawn (I loathe it as game concept)
    - Lack of polish (it is obvious that corners have been cut and the ambition of the project reduced greatly from how originally anticipated)

    What is so-so:

    - The level design is most of the times very good and well focused (best chapters: Chapter 2 - Attack Of The Fuccing Fishmen, Chapter 3 - Jail Break and Chapter 7 - Dangerous Voyage) but sometimes there is an annoying lack of feedback about the need of backtracking (without much of a valid reason) while some other levels are much less spot on (Chapter 5 and Chapter 11 come to mind)
    - The AI: sometimes the enemies are in front of me but don't see me for some strange reason
    - Voice acting (some are good, wrong choice of tone for the protagonist who sounds too matter-of-face in most situations)
    Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. And while the devil is in the details, the game as a whole forms such a genuinely immersive and unique experience that to let it go unnoticed would be a disservice not only to Lovecraft but one extremely talented bunch of developers.
  2. 80
    While certainly not flawless, Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth is the perfect game for followers of Lovecraft's work, but the title also offers an intriguing and involving adventure for those who aren't and just want something a little different from a normal first-person game.
  3. Almost to its detriment, it doesn't play its hand early on; if anything, the game takes fully three or four hours before you really start to unravel its charms, and even then it never feels like a game in a hurry.