Conflict: Desert Storm Xbox

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    I had so much fun with this game growing up, one of the few great xbox 4 player co-op games where you can load up a armored truck with 3 of your best buddies and take down some bad guys.
  2. PhilS.
    Jun 19, 2003
    10
    I enjoyed this game. Played it on xbox with a couple of buddies and finished it. Looking forward to a sequel.
  3. BenD.
    Mar 1, 2003
    10
    It is amazing and it is a big challenge.
  4. JoelMonkey
    Jan 8, 2003
    10
    This game is godly!!@#$%# The multiplayer is awesome. However once you beat the game there is not anything to do.
  5. DainL.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    This Game is the best on xbox since Halo.
  6. Sucker4Games
    Oct 9, 2002
    8
    Bought this game a couple of days ago and it is excellent. The graphics and audio are abslolutely spectacular. The ability to control a squad is so good and so much fun to do, you'll find yourself sending out orders even when you don't have to! Your squad members gain experience and skill levels for how they perform on the battlefield. The game also keeps stats for every member Bought this game a couple of days ago and it is excellent. The graphics and audio are abslolutely spectacular. The ability to control a squad is so good and so much fun to do, you'll find yourself sending out orders even when you don't have to! Your squad members gain experience and skill levels for how they perform on the battlefield. The game also keeps stats for every member for that mission as well as total missions completed which is a nice addition. The game has 2 main flaws which is why I took a point off for each flaw. First, the controls are very "weird". They DON'T suck they just could be much better especially in the 3rd person mode. The target automatically goes back to the middle of the screen making it VERY hard to aim in that viewpoint. You'll have to switch to 1st person to get better aim. Also, 1st person mode is TOO CLOSE. It almost seems "zoomed" into the game. They should have backed off a little bit showing the gun and your arm etc... The SECOND FLAW is NO DEATHMATCH option. I have no clue what the hell they were thinking. The co-op mode is excellent but it would have been fun to have a deathmatch mode where you can control squad members to ambush your friend. :-) All in all a very good game and a must by for a shooter fan. Expand
  7. ChrisS.
    Oct 2, 2002
    9
    Bought it yesterday and I have to admit it really grows on you by the second mission. I got up in the middle of the night to have another go at Kuwait City. Great depth, weapons, enemy and friendly A.I. This game reminds me of a console version of Operation Flashpoint but with all the clunky team management features replaced with really easy button commands. It is the first tactical Bought it yesterday and I have to admit it really grows on you by the second mission. I got up in the middle of the night to have another go at Kuwait City. Great depth, weapons, enemy and friendly A.I. This game reminds me of a console version of Operation Flashpoint but with all the clunky team management features replaced with really easy button commands. It is the first tactical shooter I've played where you can actually pay attention to the tactics instead of trying to remember commands. Highly recommended to third person shooter fans or military buffs who like a good measure of fun in their game/simulation. Sometimes these smaller developers really turn out some addictive, quality titles. Don't judge a book by its cover. I would recommend you buy it to tide you over until Ghost Recon, etc. come out. Expand
  8. Ibrog
    Sep 28, 2002
    9
    Very good. The team control system is very well executed. The whole thing just seems 'right'.
  9. HarryA.
    Sep 27, 2002
    8
    Ok.

Awards & Rankings

#20 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2002
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Full of strategy, tactics, bullets, and explosions, this title is a fun diversion from current squad-based shooters.
  2. Despite its flaws, it certainly puts up a good fight...though I'm sure you'll find it to be just another mission among the many you've completed before.
  3. Xbox Nation Magazine
    50
    The controls are a bit herky-jerky at times. [Winter 2002, p.106]