• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 20, 2003
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. As far as Dance games go, this is the undisputed winner.
  2. Why mess with perfection? Konami have done an excellent job again with their Dance Dance Revolution Series. I plan to keep on playing this series till I just can't anymore.
  3. 91
    Online play is fresh and funky, but the songs sound like the same old beat. [Jan 2004, p.64]
  4. The addition of Xbox Live and the fact that you can play with four players in battle mode means that owners of both PS2 and Xbox should definitely be leaning towards this one.
  5. Ultramix seems to be the finest home edition yet. Packing new multiplayer features, a dance editor, downloadable goodies from Xbox Live, and the typical great DDR presentation, it simply can not be beat.
  6. The difficulty may be a prohibitive factor for some, but make no mistake, this is the new king of the DDR mountain.
  7. If you are looking for more popular music you might want to check out "DDR2MAX" for the PS2, but if you are in the mood for some killer techno tunes and house music then Ultramix is the ultimate selection of high-energy dance beats.
  8. 87
    The secret ingredient to the series is the simple and addictive gameplay. You're literally just pushing buttons on beat.
  9. The PS2 games have slowly been amping up the experience with minute additions over the years, but this Xbox DDR considerably kicks it up a notch, like so much Iron Chef.
  10. 85
    A fantastic addition to the DDR series and the additional modes are simply icing on the cake.
  11. This is one of those great videogame moments that you see the passion of the designers making the game really show in the end product.
  12. The hefty price tag of $65 (and $20-$30 for a second pad) is a bit much, but if you are looking for a unique and incredibly fun experience then DDR Ultramix is worth every cent.
  13. It's more like a frenzied full-body execution of the instructions on a binary punchcard, but it's addictive and fun. [Jan 2004, p.83]
  14. Game play is fast and breathtaking...literally. Don’t have a cardio machine in your home, no problem. DDR is a game that is fun and will have you dropping calories in no time.
  15. By far one of the better releases of the DDR series, Ultramix is both a must-own for DDR freaks and a great place for newbs to get acquainted with tis popular line of games. [Dec 2003, p.85]
  16. This Xbox installment would have benefited from a slightly easier set of songs to make it less difficult for new players to pick up, but, beyond this caveat, it's the most feature-rich version of Dance Dance Revolution ever.
  17. While the core gameplay is unchanged, Ultramix feels like a less complete package than other DDR games in the series. Instead of trying to attract a new generation of gamers, Ultramix feels like a game dedicated to the hardcore DDR player.
  18. Hardcore "Revolution" fans will be most excited by features debuting in Ultramix...Beginners and those who lack a natural rhythm will be disappointed, though. [Mar 2004, p.99]
  19. DDR hasn't evolved much since its console debut on PSone, but the graphics, song list, and online options of Ultramix make it the best entry in the series since "DDR: Konamix." [Jan 2004, p.148]
  20. 80
    A truly great party game -- both on and offline -- and is a terrifically original and energetic diversion from the dirge of shooters and other serious games that comprise the majority of the Xbox lineup. Just don't get caught playing alone.
  21. Gives the series the injection of fun it sorely needed. Updated graphics are only the beginning. The other tweaks, like the ability to see your highest grade for all three difficulties on a song at once, sneak up on you, but they make so much sense you wonder why it took this long for them to be implemented.
  22. The problem with workout mode is that there is no continuous play option, and the player will have to pause after each song to manipulate the menus and choose another song. Each song burns around fifteen calories.
  23. 70
    A great version of DDR, but in the end it is DDR - love it or hate it.
  24. There are no more than a handful of truly danceable tracks. The rest are either slow, boring, or both. [Jan 2004, p.64]
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Alex
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    To date this has to be one of, if not THE best DDR mixes outside of the arcade. Any DDR fan with an Xbox should seriously consider adding this one to their collection. Full Review »
  2. Prophecy
    Aug 14, 2004
    8
    I played this game at a friends house i love it the only problem was he lives in japan i live in canada i cannot find the game nor can i find the mat can anyone help me out? Full Review »
  3. HotBabey
    Apr 1, 2004
    10
    This game is kick A@# If you know what i mean I love pissing my room mates off by the "noise" is what they so call it I call it "Music To My Ears"!!! Full Review »