• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Jan 22, 2003
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. 100
    Offers an addictively eclectic mix of item collecting, gambling, and relationship building; tantalizing eye candy; and one outstanding game of volleyball.
  2. 92
    Beautifully rendered women and solid volleyball is what was required for this game to be taken seriously, so in this regard, the game was very satisfying.
  3. If you like volleyball, gorgeous girls in swimsuits and great casino games, this game is a dream come true.
  4. With one of the deepest character development games ever made and easy controls, the volleyball aspect of DOAX comes off without a hitch... Did I mention the "oh my God" looking graphics that will wow any console owner out there?
  5. Some of the best money I have ever spent on an Xbox game.
  6. 90
    Probably my biggest surprise was the overall fluidity of the controls. Gameplay is the game's strongest asset no matter what way you look at it.
  7. I never thought watching could be so engulfing. These models are truly extraordinary. The breasts are wonderful (along with teh shoulders, thighs, faces...) of course, but do you have any idea how difficult it is to model armpits? They are perfection. [Mar 2003, p.52]
  8. It's an experience you will tire of. The volleyball is good, and fun. The girls are gorgeous. The music isn't annoying. And there's the two-player mode. But just like real volleyball, the whole experience can only remain fresh for so long.
  9. Not only did Team Ninja make a game with the most beautiful virtual women of all time, but they also managed to make a fun game of volleyball, a solid gambling experience, and add social elements on top of it.
  10. The volleyball is amazingly simple and compelling, while the rest of it has a tongue-in-cheek sensibility that knows exactly what it is - good cheescake fun with solid gameplay to back it up. [Mar 2003, p.72]
  11. It's a decent game with some pretty fun volleyball, although only the diehard sim fans are going to keep going after the first few days of play.
  12. This game isn't about bumping balls, as the title suggests, but rather it's about kicking back and just having fun with little regard to competition or consequence. So from that perspective, DOAX is more like "Animal Crossing" than say Sega's "Beach Spikers."
  13. By departing from established videogame norms and offering an experience that is unfettered by restrictive goals and objectives, Tecmo has succeeded in evoking a supremely relaxing vacation atmosphere and producing a quite unique, and singularly satisfying game. [March 2003, p.86]
  14. With a lavish, tropical setting (not a hurricane in sight) against which beautiful characters cavort, a vibrant reggae-themed soundtrack (you can rip your own tracks, too), and a piña colada atmosphere, DOAX is a flawed but guilty pleasure. [Feb 2003, p.58]
  15. The sharp graphics and advanced jiggle physics will no doubt prick the interest of lonely gamers, but surprisingly, the game's volleyball action is pretty solid. And that's the most important thing…right?
  16. The gameplay is actually deep but I do have a bit of a conundrum with the controls. They are simple to use but at the expense of what could have been an even deeper game.
  17. 77
    While I clearly had fun with the game, there's simply not much to it. The volleyball is definitely faster than "Beach Spikers," but the moves aren't as varied and once you've figured out how to win, victory becomes automatic.
  18. It's kind of like the video game version of playing dress-up with Barbie dolls - and I put my, uh, I mean, my sister's Barbies away years ago. [Mar 2003, p.87]
  19. After the first vacation I really did not want to play this game anymore. I had already gotten the top swimsuit (the Venus) and after that I felt that my time with this game was done unless I wanted to pick it up to play the volleyball again.
  20. It's kinda difficult not to get caught up in this goofy title, as you use your v-ball winnings to buy shoes and skimpy clothes for your fellow beach bunnies. [7 Feb 2003, p.90]
  21. 75
    Has great graphics, but is painfully low on actual gameplay. [Mar 2003, p.52]
  22. She's less a game and more an interactive vacation - something I can play whenever I have time and not get completely lost. [Mar 2003, p.130]
  23. It's also fun to explore gambling at the casino, shopping at the stores, and giving gifts.
  24. Hopping is very big on Zack island, a magical place where sense has yet to arrive. [Apr 2003, p.78]
  25. DOA XBV's laid back approach is refreshing. Like a real vacation, nothing is particularly urgent in the game, which is almost unheard of--almost every game out there is about WINNING or DYING.
  26. XBV could have been alternately titled DOA Casino, Playboy's Girls of DOA, or DOA Dress-up. If you're expecting a deep volleyball simulation, forget it.
  27. What is there is well-done and highly enjoyable, just wish there was more of it. It's a good break for those getting tired of destruction and looking for fun, but not a "must-have" title except for the very hardcore DOA fans.
  28. Succeeds on two fronts: lightweight volleyball action and lighthearted digital chick eye-candy.
  29. This could be the best looking console game yet... Sadly for fans of the sport, the beach volleyball gameplay is just plain lacking.
  30. Those who don't like watching a game more than playing it, go ahead and skip this. Everyone should at least rent it - it's worth playing just for the spectacular graphics alone.
  31. It's like dating a gorgeous woman with a vacuous personality and intellect, eventually you'll start wishing that there was more there and will want to move on.
  32. Whilst there's no denying that the entire experience is a splendidly beautiful one, with admittedly amazing looking graphics throughout the game, that eye-candy can only last so long. DoA XBV is inherently repetitive.
  33. Doesn't have the gameplay or variety to back up its graphical prowess, and the whole experience ends up feeling pretty shallow.
  34. An above average volleyball game to go along with an equally average relationship simulator and a digital version of a sticker book collection system. Think with your brain and avoid this.
  35. In essence, it is - and this is delicious irony, for something supposed to be the Ultimate Teenage Male game - about playing with dolls. It's possibly the most girly game of all time; relationships, shopping, and fashion.
  36. 60
    What could have been a revolutionary and potentially genre-busting game is just a novelty for those who can manage to be titillated by polygons.
  37. The volleyball is actually quite good, but it's far too limited and all the other nonsense just gets in the way.
  38. It's not a terrible game of volleyball, it's just boring and easy. After the novelty of the scenery has passed, and I'm not just talking about the beach, the actual volleyball is shallow enough to play with one eye closed.
  39. Without marrying any substantial content or meaningful context to the visuals, this is the type of depth-free cheap titillation that we need to move past if we're ever to break away from the stereotypical gutter that society at large perceives current videogames to be in.
  40. There's absolutely no depth here – no character development, no feeling that you're on holiday, nothing – you just feel cheated out of any game whatsoever. The truth be told, this game is entirely based around perving on the women.
  41. There is an expression that beauty is only skin deep, which fits Xtreme Beach Volleyball to a tee. Those who purchase this game will soon discover the beautiful graphics are hiding a shallow, pointless game underneath.
  42. If you harbour kleptomaniacal tendencies and find curvy polygons racier than we do, then the increasingly repetitive bouts of volleyball and weakness in the rest of the package won't bother you.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 10 out of 28
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    3
    Its better than the second installement but still only good for 2-3 hours.