Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 16 out of 16
  1. The sad part is that there are just too many problems that were not fixed before the release. The main thing is the controls of the game itself... It's a game with some cool gimmicks that try to hide a poorly made game.
  2. The camera alone is enough to condemn Drake to the eigth circle of gaming hell. [Dec/Jan 2004, p.90]
  3. Even at $20 it's worse than dull - it's unoriginal. When the loading screen is prettier than anything in the game, then you know you've got problems. [Jan 2004, p.70]
  4. Literally, the story, gameplay, graphics, sound, and ever other element that could ever be in a game, are terrible.
  5. 29
    It would be nice to see somebody develop a game with a character that can fire two weapons independently but then again maybe there's a reason why nobody's done it yet. Drake tried, but like we said nobody has done it yet.
  6. Just not fun to play. The disc and box are not even worth its weight in dog feces, which actually incurs negative value as you actually have to pay someone to pick up animal droppings.
  7. There are so many bad aspects found in Drake that it is difficult to present them all in one review. The broken gameplay mechanics, uninspired level design, and horrible production values makes Drake one of the worst games on the Xbox to date.
  8. Controls are ridiculously touchy and unrefined.
  9. It takes about five minutes with the game to realize it's a nightmare for everyone else, with ugly visuals, sloppy controls, a horrible camera and some of the most foolish storytelling we've seen. This one's a mess, folks.
  10. 20
    A steaming pile of unplayable cel shading.
  11. It'd be a bit better with a saner control scheme, but as it is, Drake is an exercise in frustration and repeated death. [Jan 2004, p.148]
  12. Just an absolutely broken mess of a game...One of the most atrociously unplayable games to come along in quite some time.
  13. Just close your eyes and focus on the most wretched, mangled mess of ugliness that your brain can conceive and you've pretty much nailed Drake on the head. [Jan 2004, p.151]
  14. The worst game I've ever played. Ever. It's worse than "Aquaman," people. It's so bad, in fact, that I briefly considered driving my car off a cliff on the way home one day, just so I wouldn't have to play it anymore.
  15. In fact, the only way to have fun with this game is to play it for an hour, then put it back in its case and use it as ammunition for skeet shooting.
  16. Aiming at enemies is nearly impossible. [Apr 2004, p.7]
User Score
1.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 17 out of 21
  1. paulB
    Jan 23, 2010
    1
    I give this game a one just because how enjoyable it was to shut it off. Also it makes for a solid coaster for a cool beverage
  2. KeenanS
    May 30, 2009
    2
    This game is one of the ten worst games I've ever played. Some fun facts: This game was also supposed to get a PC release, its own comic book, and Vivendi Universal was supposed to publish the game in Europe. But thanks to the fact the game was unanimously panned by critics, it didn't get any of those things. The gameplay is imprecise and unpredictable which leads to numerous unfair deaths. The missions are boring and the levels are full of glitches such as the ability to go through walls or enemies get stuck on objects. The music is absolutely awful. The game's graphics look like N64 visuals in real-time to looking like a hideous PSone title during cutscenes. Let's not forget Drake has one of the worst storylines ever in the history of gaming. Avoid at all costs. Full Review »
  3. Masochist
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    This game is cheap enough to buy just to enjoy how utterly awful it is. I laughed until I cried. It's almost worth the money just because of that. Full Review »