User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 68
  2. Negative: 34 out of 68

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ColinD.
    Jun 25, 2004
    2
    This game has got a lot of hype, you watch the video demonstration of the game and think 'Bloody Hell'. But once you have parted with your cash, take it home, switch on and start, you begin to think you've bought the wrong game, Hell mine crashed on the first go. So after resetting i managed to start the first mission, following a squad car, now the graphics are very good, This game has got a lot of hype, you watch the video demonstration of the game and think 'Bloody Hell'. But once you have parted with your cash, take it home, switch on and start, you begin to think you've bought the wrong game, Hell mine crashed on the first go. So after resetting i managed to start the first mission, following a squad car, now the graphics are very good, but the control method is pretty inept and the cars drive pretty crapply. I'd hate to get to the missons with with full blown shoot out's, i think you'd have more hope running around Iran with a British/American Flag. So this game only scores 2 because of the graphics, but nowadays that should be the norm. After that awful experience i will look forward to Full Spectrum Warrior. But for rehabilitaion back to good gameing I'm off to NES for a bit of Super Mario 3, Yippe. Expand
  2. AndrewM.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    I dont get it! this is the best game I have ever played, dot listen to those revews, this game is awesome!!! [Ed: Hmmm.....]
  3. DobeB.
    Jun 23, 2004
    9
    I really like the game and the grafics are 10 times better than gta or true crime...i played through the first city now and i havent come across any major bugs....
  4. JoshB.
    Jun 23, 2004
    2
    What the junk? This game is messed. I bought it opening day thinking that it would be something great. And I blew like 70bucks. There is a crapload of bugs in it, and its just junky overall. Rent first before buying! But on the side, Ninja Gaiden is a great game, buy that! hahaha.. lol
  5. RalphR.
    Jun 25, 2004
    7
    The game is an O.K game i mean there r some bugs and the controls r kinda rigid but over all that its a good game. nice story to it.
  6. XBOXMASTER
    Jul 22, 2004
    2
    People saying this is the best game they have ever played, obviously have never played any good games. atari games are getting worse by the minute. DO NOT BUY IT
  7. AndresM.
    Jul 8, 2004
    10
    Dont listen to the revews, theis game is awesome! buy it!
  8. SimonT.
    Jul 8, 2004
    4
    The cool voices of 'i always wanted to be an ear doctor' Michael Madsen and Pulp Fictions Ving Rhames are'nt enough to compensate for Driver 3's sloppy, unresponsive controls and awful car speeds. Although few moments of driving excitement can be found they are soon over due to the laughable handling and insane police. Nothing compared to GTA.
  9. GabeC.
    Jul 9, 2004
    8
    Yeah, the on foot control isn't perfect. Yeah, the missions are linear. Yeah, it doesn't have GTAII's send of humor. But... The cities are interesting and unique (not like True Crimes) and you can actually recognize where you are. Missions have been pretty good so far. Standard fare. Lots of fun things in Free Ride mode. Watching the movies on Xbox Live is awesome... some Yeah, the on foot control isn't perfect. Yeah, the missions are linear. Yeah, it doesn't have GTAII's send of humor. But... The cities are interesting and unique (not like True Crimes) and you can actually recognize where you are. Missions have been pretty good so far. Standard fare. Lots of fun things in Free Ride mode. Watching the movies on Xbox Live is awesome... some people do some fantastic directing. It's a great looking game too. Cut scenes are cool. No bugs... other than the one where you smash into a tree and get stuck. The hype was too much for this game and the delays didn't help. It's a pretty good GTAIII clone. Just like GTAIII... the real test is if you enjoy just tooling around wreaking havoc. Expand
  10. JimB.
    Aug 16, 2004
    2
    I don't know who is going around giving this good ratings, but don't buy into it. I was a huge fan of Driver 2 and this game has got to be one of the biggest let downs of all time. It hurts to play, its so bad. What a waste of time and money.
  11. DEKEMBIEM.
    Sep 2, 2004
    0
    In the words of public enemy...Don't Don't Don't believe THE HYPE. it just plain sucks.
  12. CiaranG.
    Jun 20, 2006
    9
    I loved this game. I keep considering purchasing it again now that I have an Xbox 360. Its been sadly missed. I loved the action-packed missions and the open roads and cities where you can cruise about or cause havoc with the police, be in spectacular crashes, run people over, blow stuff up, do stunts and then go into the film director and film it all from any angle to watch back whenever I loved this game. I keep considering purchasing it again now that I have an Xbox 360. Its been sadly missed. I loved the action-packed missions and the open roads and cities where you can cruise about or cause havoc with the police, be in spectacular crashes, run people over, blow stuff up, do stunts and then go into the film director and film it all from any angle to watch back whenever you please. One of the greatest games out on Xbox in my opinion. It does not match up to the likes of the GTA series but if you love driving, destruction and killing people then I think you will probably like this game. Expand
  13. A.A.
    Jun 21, 2004
    10
    This game rocks, screw IGN and Gamespot.
  14. MarkR.
    Jun 22, 2004
    8
    An excellent game hampered by a myriad of technical flaws leading to an unsatisfactory quantity of bugs and glitches. Had the game not been quite so fun and ambitious, I'd rate it very poorly- but the quality, regardless of the severe problems, is enough to persuade me to rate this title- a very disappointing, due to the obvious possibility of this game's potential that has been An excellent game hampered by a myriad of technical flaws leading to an unsatisfactory quantity of bugs and glitches. Had the game not been quite so fun and ambitious, I'd rate it very poorly- but the quality, regardless of the severe problems, is enough to persuade me to rate this title- a very disappointing, due to the obvious possibility of this game's potential that has been scuppered- 8 out of 10. Expand
  15. PerttiK.
    Jun 22, 2004
    1
    Man this game really sucks. There are lots of bugs in the graphics.
  16. J.H.
    Jun 22, 2004
    3
    Terrible game. It's not even finished. Crap on foot controls, car handling is floaty, bad pop-up, stupid AI, bad animations and dire framerates.
  17. [Anonymous]
    Jun 23, 2004
    1
    I really wanted this to be good. Really. But, sadly, I find this game flawed so horribly that I cannot accept it as a game from the Driver series. Where did they go wrong??? Just horrible... :'(
  18. Harpe
    Jun 24, 2004
    2
    Make sure you can put up with the technical and gameplay issues before parting with hard earned cash. Also think twice about buying this anyway as you could end up encouraging this kind of exploitative game development in the future.
  19. ElSupes
    Jun 24, 2004
    9
    I think this game is awesome, it's way better than GTA, there are so many details like the fact that you can't ignore red lights and you have to respect speed limits(unless you want the Miami Police Department on your tail) and the coolest of them all: you can SWIM, let alone shooting people inside their cars. The game also looks realistic, I mean it doesn't have that I think this game is awesome, it's way better than GTA, there are so many details like the fact that you can't ignore red lights and you have to respect speed limits(unless you want the Miami Police Department on your tail) and the coolest of them all: you can SWIM, let alone shooting people inside their cars. The game also looks realistic, I mean it doesn't have that cartoonish look the GTA games have, the highways are awesome too. I still dont understand how Gamespot could've said what it did about this game, maybe if reviews were written by hardcore gamers instead of frustrated, unemployed, overconfident game developers the scores would be different. Anyway if you're willing to ignore some minor gameplay flaws you could have a lot of fun with the game with the coolest car chases ever. Collapse
  20. S.Nguyen
    Jun 24, 2004
    5
    I only played this game for 30 seconds at ebx games. i left, because the game was terribly ugly. i sometimes wonder if they used the PS1 version (if there exists one), but the case displayed on the console said it was a ps2 version. the animation was sluggish, look exactly like the other driver series. i was not going to buy this game anyway, but i did regret even trying this game forI only played this game for 30 seconds at ebx games. i left, because the game was terribly ugly. i sometimes wonder if they used the PS1 version (if there exists one), but the case displayed on the console said it was a ps2 version. the animation was sluggish, look exactly like the other driver series. i was not going to buy this game anyway, but i did regret even trying this game for free. I still get nightmares. Expand
  21. Godless
    Jun 25, 2004
    6
    I've not played this game all the way through so rating it is a little bit cheaty. Graffix are Okay (good for a console but I'm a PC man so spoiled to some extent). I can't say I've spotted many bugs in the final game, though the version sent to shops and magazines for early review was buggy and also incomplete. This makes me wonder if the people moaning have been I've not played this game all the way through so rating it is a little bit cheaty. Graffix are Okay (good for a console but I'm a PC man so spoiled to some extent). I can't say I've spotted many bugs in the final game, though the version sent to shops and magazines for early review was buggy and also incomplete. This makes me wonder if the people moaning have been useing this earlier version which was commonly bootlegged (and I also played in part). As a game it has its moments. The acting is good and story okay but this is not Vice City. The game is too linear and if you follow it through you miss most of the environment (so why bother making such vast arenas was the question I asked) To get around this I found myself shooting pedestrians, stealing their cars and generally smashing things up. If you time it right hit and running is also fun, with bodies bouncing of your bonnet and smashing the windscreen. The damage meeted out to vehicles is pretty cool and possibly the best feature of the game. Whilst doing this does allow you to extend the life of the game it does not progress the story and you will invariably die so I recommend going psycho just after a save point. All in all a passable entertainment though as with most games it is overpriced for what is on offer Expand
  22. Daz
    Jun 26, 2004
    5
    Could be SO MUCH BETTER. Even dvriver 2 on the opld ps1 had a two player game. Do we get this on the xbox? NO! what the hell is going on???? Ican't remember seeing as much 'pop up' on any game in the last 2 years - it's so much like driver 2 on the ps1 but with slightly better graphics and no multiplayer. Not recommended
  23. JohnP.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    This game is OK.
  24. Rip
    Jun 27, 2004
    4
    Best at a rental, do not buy unless your a super hardcore Driver series fan, the original driver blows this game away...what a gigantic flop, could have been so much more. Many pop ups and glitches, Atari can suck on a pacifier with this. Good thing I rented first.
  25. MarianP.
    Jun 28, 2004
    10
    Super gra !!!!
  26. Uter
    Jul 11, 2004
    4
    Glitchy. That's how I'd describe the game in a word. You'll run into a new glitch every 15 minutes or so - it can be very frustrating and very stupid. The on-foot animation looks incomplete and poor. The control on foot is bad too. Driver 3 should have been a top tier xbox title. But instead it's below average and disappointing.
  27. Gamegriller
    Jul 12, 2004
    5
    Another one that is a let down. Let me help bring the reader avg. score down to where it belongs. Numerous bugs, sloppy controls, bad AI. To all you people giving it a better score, I ask, where is the fun?
  28. KelR.
    Jul 21, 2004
    3
    This game almost brings a tear to my eye because it so pretty to look at, and let's face it that's a huge factor in todays games, but it just falls flat on it's face after that. GTA has style and is helarious. Driver 3 has none of that it's just a wannabe. Now I'm not saying I'm a big GTA fan but after playing this I might reconsider.
  29. BrianK.
    Jul 7, 2004
    9
    This game is awesome!! Those reviews from the mags. are crap!! It is like GTA but some of the best graphics i've seen!! Little hard at some parts but it is so much fun!!! [Ed: (scratching his head....)]
  30. SPYBREAK
    Apr 7, 2005
    1
    The biggest disappointment of the year. Don
  31. LiamPatrick
    Feb 23, 2007
    8
    While Driv3r was pretty poorly received by most video game reviewers, I stuck with this game and realized that it's actually a pretty entertaining piece of work. Granted, I never touched the actual missions, but the free roaming in this game is great and there is a nice degree of realism to it.
  32. EmonX.
    Jun 22, 2004
    1
    A point for pulling off a big city, and for proving that bigger is not better by a longshot. Shallow gameplay, insipid AI, horrible lack of diversity in experience, flat pacing, predictable spawn points, collision mesh nightmare pockets everywhere and some of the dopiest on foot interactivity I've seen to date make this one of the worst expensively produced games I've seen to A point for pulling off a big city, and for proving that bigger is not better by a longshot. Shallow gameplay, insipid AI, horrible lack of diversity in experience, flat pacing, predictable spawn points, collision mesh nightmare pockets everywhere and some of the dopiest on foot interactivity I've seen to date make this one of the worst expensively produced games I've seen to date, and there is simply no excuse for it, all the potential for cool were there, actors, budget, technology, basic gameplay ideas. This is actually worse than True Crime, and frankly I didn't think that was possible. I so want my money back. -e Expand
  33. TomF.
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    Gamespot and ign are so wrong. This game is much more complex and worth your money then gta ever was or ever will be. I love gta also but driv3r is so well put togeather that I will never turn back to such a mediocre game as the gta series.
  34. GodX
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    These reviewers are insane...GTA 3 and Vice City both had one of the worst graphics They were LOADED with aliasing. there were so many bad edges, the characters didnt have fingers(it was a round hand with lines on it). The textures were bad... but the reviewers still gave it high graphic rating even though there were much better graphic games out at that time. now they say driv3r has bad These reviewers are insane...GTA 3 and Vice City both had one of the worst graphics They were LOADED with aliasing. there were so many bad edges, the characters didnt have fingers(it was a round hand with lines on it). The textures were bad... but the reviewers still gave it high graphic rating even though there were much better graphic games out at that time. now they say driv3r has bad graphics. i bet if vice city came out now with the same terrible graphics they would give it at least an 8 for graphics..well the pc version did have good graphics but man was the ps2 one sh...y looking. this game at least the cars look good and the characters faces look normal. Expand
  35. Buried-In-The-box
    Aug 18, 2004
    0
    This is what you get when you make a game for PS2 and port it straight over to XBOX. 9 year old graphics, glitches everywhere and boring GTA gameplay. GtA and follower games should be done away with, and games with worlds of this caliber need to be done correctly. That is made only on XBOX so even if the style of game has been boring for 4 years now, at least the graphics could look like This is what you get when you make a game for PS2 and port it straight over to XBOX. 9 year old graphics, glitches everywhere and boring GTA gameplay. GtA and follower games should be done away with, and games with worlds of this caliber need to be done correctly. That is made only on XBOX so even if the style of game has been boring for 4 years now, at least the graphics could look like they're on a next-gen system, not last-gen like PS2. Expand
  36. Sam
    Mar 18, 2006
    4
    This game is so poorly made (save for the gorgeous graphics) it's almost as if with every delay they didn't try to improve it at all. In fact, it's more like they studied what made the other 2 so great, and made sure that none of those things were in the game at all.
  37. Mar 9, 2013
    6
    DRIV3R certainly divided opinion upon its release but, while it certainly has its flaws, the thrill of chasing around a packed city remained entertaining throughout. Add in a detailed 'director mode' that allowed for players to make there own mini-movies and you had a reasonable title.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 57
  2. Negative: 16 out of 57
  1. Although the gameplay loses out with its linearity and the walking episodes are weak, it makes up for it with awesome driving sections, a great story, fantastic graphics and the wonderful casting of A-list Hollywood actors.
  2. An above average game. Most people will love the intense action and gunplay that features so prominently, whilst putting up with the control issues, occasional camera problems and sometimes downright annoying fact at you can complete a mission and feel very proud of yourself, before being told that you failed and that you have to do it all again.
  3. Here was a game with real potential to be what everybody had basically hoped for: "Grand Theft Auto" with really good graphics. Instead, what's here needs an air bag.