Half-Life 2 Xbox

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 119
  2. Negative: 9 out of 119
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EfeB.
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    this is the best FPS ever made. possibly the best game EVER made. i have been playing games since 1982, and have played hundreds if not thousands of games....this is number 1. even there are next generation systems now, like xbox360 and soon to be released ps3...i daubt they will have a game as good as this for a while...i hope they do, but very-very daubt it.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Sep 30, 2006
    0
    Bad graphics, bad story line, not even close to realistic, just plain sucked.
  3. SamC.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    This game gets a perfect 10 from me. Sure, the frame rate chugs after loading and in large area's, the texture's aren't that great, and no multi-player. Two things that makes up for all of that is the Non-Stop action and great story line. Valve did a hell of a job making the game, and the faults are not the software's fault. Valve stated that when you run this game on This game gets a perfect 10 from me. Sure, the frame rate chugs after loading and in large area's, the texture's aren't that great, and no multi-player. Two things that makes up for all of that is the Non-Stop action and great story line. Valve did a hell of a job making the game, and the faults are not the software's fault. Valve stated that when you run this game on the XBOX 360 it runs fine. So looks like a great game can get better? Expand
  4. Ricardo
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    An outstanding game. In my top 4 all time with Halo, Stranger's Wrath and Riddick. Probably 2nd only to Halo. Brilliant gameplay that is cinematic in style and exposition. My only gripe is that it is too enigmatic at times. Great variety in gameplay - driving, against-the-clock tasks, fun puzzles, horror, sci-fi, police state etc. It's all brilliant. Graphics are top notch as is An outstanding game. In my top 4 all time with Halo, Stranger's Wrath and Riddick. Probably 2nd only to Halo. Brilliant gameplay that is cinematic in style and exposition. My only gripe is that it is too enigmatic at times. Great variety in gameplay - driving, against-the-clock tasks, fun puzzles, horror, sci-fi, police state etc. It's all brilliant. Graphics are top notch as is the music - excellent, creepy techno score. Framerate not an issue for me. Only problem is getting through doors - a bit too precise. Far, far superior to most FPS games including the risible Halo 2 and Doom 3 and mediocre stuff like FarCry and Area 51. The Best. Expand
  5. Rick
    Feb 28, 2006
    10
    How can you not give this game a 10!! What more are you looking for? Ive grown with games and the echelon of game play they are now entering is awesome. I think someone said where's the story?What? The game is the story, you are completely immersed in this world, and you accept the load times as you are moving from one point to another. There is no end of level crap which some FPS How can you not give this game a 10!! What more are you looking for? Ive grown with games and the echelon of game play they are now entering is awesome. I think someone said where's the story?What? The game is the story, you are completely immersed in this world, and you accept the load times as you are moving from one point to another. There is no end of level crap which some FPS have. I didnt think anything would blow me away in the FPS stakes like Halo did but this dethrones the king. There is so much atmosphere in this game and the level design is top notch. By that I mean what I love about HalfLife2 is that you can cruise along then all of a sudden you are in a situation where you must use ya noggin to get through which is very rare in FPS. I also love the mutliple was of takin out your oponents from firing into barrels, to the command of flying green bugs. Kudo's to the development team for bringing it to the box - I now compare all games to this one - on par with GTA San Andreas, ahead of Halo, Ninja Gaiden, and Strangers Wrath. Expand
  6. DevinM.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Simply one of the best first person shooters on the xbox. The game has great gameplay, graphics, and the storyline is captivating. I thouroughly enjoyed it from start to finish.
  7. KrisP.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    This might be the best game ever made for thye xbox. EA made a perfect jump from the pc. The graphics look amazing and the gameplay is nothing different. The frame rate is excellent for a game this size. They didnt do anything new and they took out the multiplayer, but it was worth it. The gravity gun is a mazing on the xbox and better to handle then the pc. Although the loading is a This might be the best game ever made for thye xbox. EA made a perfect jump from the pc. The graphics look amazing and the gameplay is nothing different. The frame rate is excellent for a game this size. They didnt do anything new and they took out the multiplayer, but it was worth it. The gravity gun is a mazing on the xbox and better to handle then the pc. Although the loading is a little time consuming its worth it for the vast areas you go through. Everything looks great and the gameplay is solid a definite buy and my choice for game of the year(xbox). Expand
  8. PatB.
    May 22, 2006
    10
    What the original Half-Life did in redefining a suffering genre, Half-Life 2 has done to our modern conception of gaming.
  9. NathanW.
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Wow, what a great game! Stunning environments and brilliant gameplay.
  10. EthanL.
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    I'm sure that almost all the bad reviews here are just from Halo fanboys who wouldn't know a good first person shooter if it bit them in the a**. This game has excellent graphics, excellent story line, and excellent characters and voice acting. Halo 2 can't fit into any of those last categories.
  11. WilliamT.
    Jan 20, 2008
    8
    A great game to play on you beloved 'Box. The controls suffer from some degree of PC to Console, but it's still fun nevertheless.
  12. GautamM
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Ok.Now that I am done going crazy over the concept of HL2 I am finally going to write about it.I am an avid gamer,both PC and the consoles.To be very frank I am more of the casual gaming crowd although I have thoroughly enjoyed the more "challenging' titles like Advance wars,Castlevania,Warcraft,AOE and Pro Evolution Soccer.My favourite games before this one were GOW series,PES Ok.Now that I am done going crazy over the concept of HL2 I am finally going to write about it.I am an avid gamer,both PC and the consoles.To be very frank I am more of the casual gaming crowd although I have thoroughly enjoyed the more "challenging' titles like Advance wars,Castlevania,Warcraft,AOE and Pro Evolution Soccer.My favourite games before this one were GOW series,PES series,RE series,Syphon filter series etc.As you can see I am a big third person action fan.I have played the original HL and HL:BS and CS and enjoyed them but never really was a FPS person till i played HL2.This game takes all the elements of every game,mixes them up with some brilliant innovation and makes an almost ethereal work of art that has to be played to be believed.I cant stop playing it.It is the most fun and intense game i have EVER played.the physics engine ROCKS.the gravity gun is like a paintbrush in the hand of an adept artist,there are so many things you can do with it.I dont even need to comment on the graphics.JAW DROPPING!!I cant really say more than what has already been said.I love this game with a vengeance.This will go down as the greatest game ver made!!Play it to believe it. Expand
  13. TobyK
    Sep 23, 2009
    3
    although this game has gamers everywhere lining up in single file to get on there knees I found it dull, uninspired, confusing, dull and repetitive. the much touted physics gameplay did nothing for me, because they kept on doing the same 3 or 4 tricks, primarily involving stacking objects up or using a see-saw. by todays standards the source engine is prehistoric, with dreadful graphical although this game has gamers everywhere lining up in single file to get on there knees I found it dull, uninspired, confusing, dull and repetitive. the much touted physics gameplay did nothing for me, because they kept on doing the same 3 or 4 tricks, primarily involving stacking objects up or using a see-saw. by todays standards the source engine is prehistoric, with dreadful graphical capabilities, the worst interface in human history and peculiar bugs, amongst which my favourite was the sheer ease it took to make objects spaz out and fly all over the place spinning and warping for no reason and the equal ease it took to get something stuck in the world geometry. the infuriating way that valve attempted constantly to make me care about the irritatingly revered mute scientist Gordon Freeman and his clichéd crowbar antics showed up the writing staff, whilst the uninspired environments and irritatingly awful AI combined to make this one of my gaming lows. Frankly I dont understand why it has such high accord: it is one of my least favourite games. the one satisfying aspect of the gameplay is the actual killing, specifically of zombies. it is the most satisfying thing in te world to seperate a zombie's torso from his legs with a shard metal disc. Expand
  14. MarzzeV.
    Nov 17, 2005
    8
    Nice graphics and good action but ( but ) no innovation, the problem i see, is the late arrival, when the consoles have reached their limits and the expectatives are focused on the new generation consoles.
  15. GabeC.
    Nov 18, 2005
    9
    This is not a PC port with all the good parts cut out. This is HL2 in all its glory. Very comparable to Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay. Great Action, Great Graphics, Excellent Story, No Multiplayer, Only On Xbox/PC. It really is impressive how they got it onto the Xbox with so many of the bells and whistles intact. Other than the resolution, the game is identical. Great This is not a PC port with all the good parts cut out. This is HL2 in all its glory. Very comparable to Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay. Great Action, Great Graphics, Excellent Story, No Multiplayer, Only On Xbox/PC. It really is impressive how they got it onto the Xbox with so many of the bells and whistles intact. Other than the resolution, the game is identical. Great atmosphere too. Very unique world. One gripe: Movement is different than most Xbox FPSs. Takes some getting used to. I also wished they'd minimized the loading message... I understand the wait... I just don't want the half screen message taking me out of the game. If you haven't played this game on the PC... by all means... this is a must buy. If you have an Xbox and have played it on the PC... it isn't really worth a second purchase because it is the same exact experience as the PC.. but at all lower resolution. Expand
  16. RichardS.
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    If you want a terrific FPS that re-creates the atmosphere of films like Fahrenheit 451, 1984 and THX 1138 with a touch of War of the Worlds added in, this is it. I have been waiting for this atmosphere forever. I had hoped Judge Dredd would be like this - grafitti on the walls, litter on the streets, police wagons driving around, beautiful backgrounds - but it was very average. I loved If you want a terrific FPS that re-creates the atmosphere of films like Fahrenheit 451, 1984 and THX 1138 with a touch of War of the Worlds added in, this is it. I have been waiting for this atmosphere forever. I had hoped Judge Dredd would be like this - grafitti on the walls, litter on the streets, police wagons driving around, beautiful backgrounds - but it was very average. I loved Riddick - it is in my top 4 - but this has the look and feel I really wanted. As for gameplay - it's got the smoothness and action of Halo with the puzzle solving and platform elements of Riddick plus low level stealth elements. Beautiful graphics and excellent sound. This has immediately entered my top 4 all time alongside Halo, Stranger's Wrath and Riddick. Expand
  17. Daz
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    So far, so good. I
  18. GiantOctopusDizz
    Nov 29, 2005
    8
    excessive slowdowns on every level of the game forced me to cut 2 points for being outstanding. Valve should have realized early on that half-life2 is a next generation game and should be played on next generation console namely xbox360 but theyre stubborn on porting a great game on a current generation of console which is xbox. A downgrade in graphics and control not to mention excessive slowdowns on every level of the game forced me to cut 2 points for being outstanding. Valve should have realized early on that half-life2 is a next generation game and should be played on next generation console namely xbox360 but theyre stubborn on porting a great game on a current generation of console which is xbox. A downgrade in graphics and control not to mention slowdowns. Comparing between Doom3 and Half-life2 on xbox. Hands down Doom3 wins in graphics,sound and control except for gameplay half-life2 wins that but with slowdowns its so unaccaptable for today standard of games to have that kind of major flaw its not as polished as Doom3 was. Doom3 wins overall. Expand
  19. GaryE.
    Nov 29, 2005
    9
    An almost perfect game.This has delayed my purchase of the Xbox360 for a couple on months. There's plenty of life in the old dog yet!
  20. Mike
    Nov 30, 2005
    7
    I gave this game a 7 because I came away on the fence about it. I never played the first Half-Life, but did dabble in CS. And I wasn't really sure what to expect from this iteration. But having played it, my impression is that its a very good story driven game, but everything else seems a little off. I don't agree that the controls are spot on, especially on the air boat. And I gave this game a 7 because I came away on the fence about it. I never played the first Half-Life, but did dabble in CS. And I wasn't really sure what to expect from this iteration. But having played it, my impression is that its a very good story driven game, but everything else seems a little off. I don't agree that the controls are spot on, especially on the air boat. And the weapons definitely seem a little underpowered. I also CAN NOT stand how many loads there were, it was like every other corner you turned in the game had to load up, it was very frustrating and I found myself putting the game down and returning it to Blockbuster after 4 levels. There were some nice parts, but all in all, it didn't impress me as much as the critics. And I'm definitely glad i rented it. This is a good rental if you're bored and waiting for your Xbox 360, but that's about it. Expand
  21. GaryR.
    Jan 14, 2006
    9
    This is an excellent game! When I first started playing, I wasn't all that impressed, but as the story develops and you make your way further along, it gets GREAT! What a masterpiece!
  22. DaneF.
    Jan 4, 2006
    9
    this game is just about the best game i have ever played i love how you get a wide selection of weapons and stuff,i love the gravity gun because you can pick up saw blades and sharp stuff and have the pleasure of launching it into their body thats why gave this game a 9 I out of 10.
  23. JL
    Oct 7, 2006
    9
    People may complain about the frame rate, but that is all I can complain about. This is by far the best FPS to come to the Xbox console.
  24. RavB.
    Apr 18, 2006
    9
    This has set a new benchmark for FPS. One of the best games I have played. Absorbing story line and extremely clever use of the surrounding environment uses a brilliant physics engine. Highly enjoyable game play. I cant wait for the next installment.
  25. JobA.
    Apr 27, 2006
    5
    I really dont see what is so great about this game.I dont understand all the good reviews for the x-box version.The computer version is a pretty good game but not great. The x-box game has problems from the second it comes on with the frame rate. Its a very bad port and the game has to much hype.This game is a 5 and no more cause its not all that and thats all there is to it!
  26. SammyF.
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    It would be better if there still was teams like medic,enginers,gunners stuff like that.
  27. JoshK.
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    Fantastic from start to finish, this is an excellent port of the PC game. Despite some occasional slowdown and brief loading times, Half-Life 2 provides the best FPS single-player on any sixth-gen console. This is the best looking game for the Xbox -- who needs next-gen when you can play this?
  28. ScottH.
    Aug 20, 2006
    6
    I think most of the people must have played this game when they were high or something to review it a 9 or 10. No multiplayer, bad frame rate, repetitive enemies, lack of story, linear gameplay, etc.
  29. MarcD.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    The only issue I can nitpick about this game is the conclusion. The finale leaves alot to desired and sets the player up for one hell of an anxious wait. If you're lucky enough to be playing it now though...Episode 1 AND 2 is packaged with The Orange Box, thus making this complaint null and void. So you're probably asking...'any other reason why I might not want to get this The only issue I can nitpick about this game is the conclusion. The finale leaves alot to desired and sets the player up for one hell of an anxious wait. If you're lucky enough to be playing it now though...Episode 1 AND 2 is packaged with The Orange Box, thus making this complaint null and void. So you're probably asking...'any other reason why I might not want to get this game?' No. No no no no no. Enjoy gaming at it's finest now. Expand
  30. JoeM.
    Sep 25, 2007
    8
    I was grateful for this game as I was not prepared to dish out the dough for a high powered PC. But it came at a price. There were some performance issues, which was understandable given the calibre of technology that the game demanded. And, I dont know about the rest of you, but I was looking forward to blasting some fools into oblivion on XBL. But unfortunately, it never materialised. I was grateful for this game as I was not prepared to dish out the dough for a high powered PC. But it came at a price. There were some performance issues, which was understandable given the calibre of technology that the game demanded. And, I dont know about the rest of you, but I was looking forward to blasting some fools into oblivion on XBL. But unfortunately, it never materialised. But still, looking forward to the Orange Box. A good strong 8. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
#10 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 100
    Real 'bullet-time' isn't ballet; it's no-holds carnage that ends with a radio-transmitted flatline. It's one man making a difference; it's one game making a noise. Half-Life 2 is all that - and more.
  2. AceGamez
    100
    The most immersing and compelling game I've ever played.
  3. Long story short, Half-Life 2 is a must-buy, and our strongest choice for that one, last Xbox game to pick up before switching over to Xbox 360.