Half-Life 2 Xbox

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 112
  2. Negative: 9 out of 112
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    Valve original creation had enormous critic scores, rabid fan base, and one of the most important games in the history ever. The engine by the time really looked very advanced compared to other games graphics, the details are ugly no denying in that point. The narration or how the story progress while not looking the same formula of cut-scenes it's outstanding. Great action, interaction,Valve original creation had enormous critic scores, rabid fan base, and one of the most important games in the history ever. The engine by the time really looked very advanced compared to other games graphics, the details are ugly no denying in that point. The narration or how the story progress while not looking the same formula of cut-scenes it's outstanding. Great action, interaction, indeed the puzzles makes this a winner. Half-Life is a masterpiece with few flaws. Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    By far, Half Life 2 is a masterpiece on every level and one of the greatest FPS of all time in my books. The story is told well and the gameplay is amazing and addictive. Voice actors are great. There are so many levels of creativity in this game that it is just stunning.
  3. Bill10
    Nov 18, 2005
    2
    Ok it looks ok but just face it the XBOX is just not made for first person shooters. the controls are just plain shit and the graphics are compaired to the pc just sub standard. FPS and RTS belong to the PC where they can be done correctly and the XBOx should just stick to platform and driving games this goes for the PS2 also.
  4. JobA.
    Apr 27, 2006
    5
    I really dont see what is so great about this game.I dont understand all the good reviews for the x-box version.The computer version is a pretty good game but not great. The x-box game has problems from the second it comes on with the frame rate. Its a very bad port and the game has to much hype.This game is a 5 and no more cause its not all that and thats all there is to it!
  5. ScottH.
    Aug 20, 2006
    6
    I think most of the people must have played this game when they were high or something to review it a 9 or 10. No multiplayer, bad frame rate, repetitive enemies, lack of story, linear gameplay, etc.
  6. [Anonymous]
    Sep 30, 2006
    0
    Bad graphics, bad story line, not even close to realistic, just plain sucked.
  7. AnonymousCriticAnon
    Apr 19, 2009
    6
    Overall Half-Life 2 is nothing special. Probably one of the most overrated games ever. So what makes Half-Life 2 such a normal game? Let us look at the story. While there are definitly some interesting concepts and ideas behind the game, the game isn't that full of background storytelling parts. Here and there are some hints. But nothing more. The main story of the game self is a Overall Half-Life 2 is nothing special. Probably one of the most overrated games ever. So what makes Half-Life 2 such a normal game? Let us look at the story. While there are definitly some interesting concepts and ideas behind the game, the game isn't that full of background storytelling parts. Here and there are some hints. But nothing more. The main story of the game self is a typical snitcher story, mixed with a typical story about resistance against an evil power. The side characters aren't really convincing. Dr. Kleiner has become the typical crazy professor. You won't get that "This my colleague"-feeling from Half-Life 1 anymore. Alyx is supposed to be your sidekick / girlfriend. Most of her appereances in the game just seem to be forced. Dog seems to be one of these characters you'll mostly find in Disney movies. You know what I mean? The kind of cute looking characters, which are mostly put into Disney movies in order to entertain smaller children watching the movie. Now let's get to the gameplay: You'll have various different weapons, have the possibility to drive some vehicles and fight trough a variety of maps. Now where's the problem? The weapons are not very innovative. Most of them were just taken from Half-Life 1 and were getting new skins. But one of the most popular Half-Life 1 weapons, the Gauss gun was even removed. The Gravity Gun is fun to use for the first time. But it get's pretty old very fast. Especially since it's use is mostly limited on close-combat as well as on the availability of physical objects near you. The game has some puzzles in which the Gravity Gun helps. But overall these puzzles are all too simple. You don't get a feeling of joy after you solved one of the puzzles. There are no rewards for them available. The only reason you are doing the puzzles is in order to progress in the game. But there's no other motivation behind them. The vehicles chases are definitly fun but also too long. All you do is rushing trough some very nice and detailled looking industrial and costal areas while clearing the map from every enemy you see. Walking through these levels makes you feel like more could have been done with them. And now let us get about the enemies. Overall the range of enemies in Half-Life 2 is quite short. You will mostly end up making a genocide on Combines, with the difference that the skin changes the more you progress. While Headcrabs and Zombies make again an appearence in the game, the game lacks of completely new NPCs. What happened with the other Xen monsters which were teleported to earth? Why not more different Combine soldiers? Overall Half-Life 2 is a nice game, but it's not innovative, there's nothing real new in it which you didn't saw anywhere before. There was definitly some huge potential in the game, but it feels like the developers didn't followed a clear concept as they made the game. The source engine delivers great graphics and physics and is a nice platform for various kind of mods and machinimas. Expand
  8. TobyK
    Sep 23, 2009
    3
    although this game has gamers everywhere lining up in single file to get on there knees I found it dull, uninspired, confusing, dull and repetitive. the much touted physics gameplay did nothing for me, because they kept on doing the same 3 or 4 tricks, primarily involving stacking objects up or using a see-saw. by todays standards the source engine is prehistoric, with dreadful graphical although this game has gamers everywhere lining up in single file to get on there knees I found it dull, uninspired, confusing, dull and repetitive. the much touted physics gameplay did nothing for me, because they kept on doing the same 3 or 4 tricks, primarily involving stacking objects up or using a see-saw. by todays standards the source engine is prehistoric, with dreadful graphical capabilities, the worst interface in human history and peculiar bugs, amongst which my favourite was the sheer ease it took to make objects spaz out and fly all over the place spinning and warping for no reason and the equal ease it took to get something stuck in the world geometry. the infuriating way that valve attempted constantly to make me care about the irritatingly revered mute scientist Gordon Freeman and his clichéd crowbar antics showed up the writing staff, whilst the uninspired environments and irritatingly awful AI combined to make this one of my gaming lows. Frankly I dont understand why it has such high accord: it is one of my least favourite games. the one satisfying aspect of the gameplay is the actual killing, specifically of zombies. it is the most satisfying thing in te world to seperate a zombie's torso from his legs with a shard metal disc. Expand
  9. Feb 5, 2012
    4
    I have to give it such a low rating purely because the controls for vehicles were HORRIFIC. Also the game was just far too linear and repetitive to fill time, otherwise the game would be too short.
    I do think though that the graphics and physics are impressive.
  10. Jun 28, 2015
    10
    Half-Life 2
    The standard for first person shooters
    Hype can ruin your experience with a game. The higher the hype, the higher the expectations, and rarely does anything live up to it’s hype. Half-Life 2 however, does. Half- Life 2 is a near perfect first person shooter with star wars level of innovation. I didn’t really understand what was going on in the game and why it was going
    Half-Life 2
    The standard for first person shooters
    Hype can ruin your experience with a game.
    The higher the hype, the higher the expectations, and rarely does anything live up to it’s hype.
    Half-Life 2 however, does.
    Half- Life 2 is a near perfect first person shooter with star wars level of innovation.
    I didn’t really understand what was going on in the game and why it was going on.
    The story and its characters couldn’t keep my attention at all, everything pertaining to the story seemed so generic to me, luckily though the gameplay is good enough on its own to take you through the 10 plus hour journey.
    Half-Life 2 is a very linear game, but at the same time every section of the game feels connected, it feels open world… you hardly ever feel like you are bread crumbed to the finish.. When you find passages you feel like it was your work, when really the game cleverly got you there with its carefully constructed design.
    The pacing is nearly perfect
    you’re slowly hand fed new weapons..
    you’ll get to a point in the game where you’re introduced to a new weapon and then instantly have to use it for what its intended for, this is a perfect way to get you accustomed to and comfortable with everything at your disposal and prevent you from wasting unnecessary ammo.
    There wasn’t one weapon or item given that I wasn’t thankful for or that I didn’t find useful.
    This is great considering you’ll find yourself in some spots out of a particular set of ammo.
    The game play is also varied, so you’re not quite sure what to expect.
    Some games find a formula and stick to it.
    Half Life 2 doesn’t do this
    one minute you’re playing a stealth shooter, the next moment you’re playing call of duty style taking out troops, and 2 hours later you’re cruising through the world with vehicle based combat only to end up at a horror game style section
    This variation keeps the game from ever feeling like a grind, but at the same time the stress is kept at a near maximum.
    You won’t find too much challenge outside of the final few chapters, but the constant feeling of survival mode will definitely have you stepping away for a few hours or days.
    I now understand why everyone wants half-life 3 so bad.
    I loved climbing through every hole not knowing who or what would meet me on the other side.
    Half-Life 2 is a must play for gamers to experience the magic every developer has been chasing since 2004
    For what it is
    First person shooter – 9.5/10
    Overall: 9.5/10
    Expand
  11. JayB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    By far; the best fps you can own on the box. no multi but, ill trade it for the greatness of the single player. my last xbox title before the 360. Well worth the cash.
  12. DrPuckwell
    Nov 16, 2005
    9
    This game is about as good as there is. I did not have the pleasure of playing the PC version but this is excellent. Pushes Xbox graphics to their max. Refresh rate is only a problem after loads and in big open spaces it seems. May be the best campaign mode FPS on Xbox. More real and gritty than Halo and not as scary as Doom. Lots of fun so far.
  13. MarzzeV.
    Nov 17, 2005
    8
    Nice graphics and good action but ( but ) no innovation, the problem i see, is the late arrival, when the consoles have reached their limits and the expectatives are focused on the new generation consoles.
  14. GabeC.
    Nov 18, 2005
    9
    This is not a PC port with all the good parts cut out. This is HL2 in all its glory. Very comparable to Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay. Great Action, Great Graphics, Excellent Story, No Multiplayer, Only On Xbox/PC. It really is impressive how they got it onto the Xbox with so many of the bells and whistles intact. Other than the resolution, the game is identical. Great This is not a PC port with all the good parts cut out. This is HL2 in all its glory. Very comparable to Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay. Great Action, Great Graphics, Excellent Story, No Multiplayer, Only On Xbox/PC. It really is impressive how they got it onto the Xbox with so many of the bells and whistles intact. Other than the resolution, the game is identical. Great atmosphere too. Very unique world. One gripe: Movement is different than most Xbox FPSs. Takes some getting used to. I also wished they'd minimized the loading message... I understand the wait... I just don't want the half screen message taking me out of the game. If you haven't played this game on the PC... by all means... this is a must buy. If you have an Xbox and have played it on the PC... it isn't really worth a second purchase because it is the same exact experience as the PC.. but at all lower resolution. Expand
  15. RedRose
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    The posters who are making silly comments about this game missing the boat vis a vis the xbox 360 are missing the point. The next generation of consoles do not make games any better than yesteryear. The point is that it is the gameplay that makes the game not the graphics (Far Cry Instincts on the Xbox being an exponent of a game that looks magnificent but suffers from poor gameplay/AI). The posters who are making silly comments about this game missing the boat vis a vis the xbox 360 are missing the point. The next generation of consoles do not make games any better than yesteryear. The point is that it is the gameplay that makes the game not the graphics (Far Cry Instincts on the Xbox being an exponent of a game that looks magnificent but suffers from poor gameplay/AI). This is without doubt the best FPS on this system and anyone who marks it lower on the basis that it could be graphically superior on a 360, has obviously not made informed objective assessment. Expand
  16. SteveP.
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    I've been wating for this for a long time. The frist Half-Life was Great and now they've taken all the good things about the 1st on and put in in the second with even more stuff. The Game play is great, the graphics great, good AI. My only complant is the controlls are a little sticky and there's no multiplayer, but the single player more makes up for it. If you want a I've been wating for this for a long time. The frist Half-Life was Great and now they've taken all the good things about the 1st on and put in in the second with even more stuff. The Game play is great, the graphics great, good AI. My only complant is the controlls are a little sticky and there's no multiplayer, but the single player more makes up for it. If you want a great multiplayer just pick up Halo or Halo2, but if you a big single player guy (like me) get Half-Life2. Half-Life is truely the Final Fanticy of Frist Person Shooters. Expand
  17. RichardS.
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    If you want a terrific FPS that re-creates the atmosphere of films like Fahrenheit 451, 1984 and THX 1138 with a touch of War of the Worlds added in, this is it. I have been waiting for this atmosphere forever. I had hoped Judge Dredd would be like this - grafitti on the walls, litter on the streets, police wagons driving around, beautiful backgrounds - but it was very average. I loved If you want a terrific FPS that re-creates the atmosphere of films like Fahrenheit 451, 1984 and THX 1138 with a touch of War of the Worlds added in, this is it. I have been waiting for this atmosphere forever. I had hoped Judge Dredd would be like this - grafitti on the walls, litter on the streets, police wagons driving around, beautiful backgrounds - but it was very average. I loved Riddick - it is in my top 4 - but this has the look and feel I really wanted. As for gameplay - it's got the smoothness and action of Halo with the puzzle solving and platform elements of Riddick plus low level stealth elements. Beautiful graphics and excellent sound. This has immediately entered my top 4 all time alongside Halo, Stranger's Wrath and Riddick. Expand
  18. Daz
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    So far, so good. I
  19. JamesH.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Simply the best single player campaign of any first person shooter on the Xbox (and thats coming from a complete Halo fanboy). The atmosphere and pacing of the game is perfect with no cutscenes or interuptions to gameplay (apart from load screens). The excellent AI, gunfights, physics and the option to set and avoid complex traps are all supported by a solid narrative that spans more than Simply the best single player campaign of any first person shooter on the Xbox (and thats coming from a complete Halo fanboy). The atmosphere and pacing of the game is perfect with no cutscenes or interuptions to gameplay (apart from load screens). The excellent AI, gunfights, physics and the option to set and avoid complex traps are all supported by a solid narrative that spans more than 20 hours of hugely enjoyable gameplay. The story is not critical to the game but those who choose to follow it and spend time exploring the rich and detailed world will get the most rewarding experience from this title. A few frame rate issues that occur later in the game are a bit irritating but should (hopefully) be eliminated when playing on the Xbox360... Expand
  20. SamC.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    This game gets a perfect 10 from me. Sure, the frame rate chugs after loading and in large area's, the texture's aren't that great, and no multi-player. Two things that makes up for all of that is the Non-Stop action and great story line. Valve did a hell of a job making the game, and the faults are not the software's fault. Valve stated that when you run this game on This game gets a perfect 10 from me. Sure, the frame rate chugs after loading and in large area's, the texture's aren't that great, and no multi-player. Two things that makes up for all of that is the Non-Stop action and great story line. Valve did a hell of a job making the game, and the faults are not the software's fault. Valve stated that when you run this game on the XBOX 360 it runs fine. So looks like a great game can get better? Expand
  21. ApocalypseBrown
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Anyone who knows me or see my reviews will know i rarely give ten scores but this game is living proof that that xbox360 is not needed! This game has too much quality to go through but this easily is the xbox game of the year. From intense action, engaging story and beautiful back-drops. Its a must for people who's PC cldn't hack playing the original and those who refuse to buy Anyone who knows me or see my reviews will know i rarely give ten scores but this game is living proof that that xbox360 is not needed! This game has too much quality to go through but this easily is the xbox game of the year. From intense action, engaging story and beautiful back-drops. Its a must for people who's PC cldn't hack playing the original and those who refuse to buy into the new generation con! A classic/legend in modern gaming. Expand
  22. Lucas38
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    Very atmospheric, great fun. However, due to frame rate issues I have a hard time playing the game for more than 45 minutes at a time, I actually get nausiated. I play a lot of FPS and this is the only game that I find difficult to play for that reason only. The question for me would be: is it worth playing 'til I puke? I answer with a rousing YES!!
  23. Ed
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    Excellent gaming experience! Half Life 2 makes the perfect swan song for this generations XBOX. As for all the PC users locked away in their rooms curtains drawn, please keep in mind that your rantings about how the PC is superior brings one to recall when the same was said about the radio in comparison to a relatvely new medium called "Television" in the 1930's; eventually consoles Excellent gaming experience! Half Life 2 makes the perfect swan song for this generations XBOX. As for all the PC users locked away in their rooms curtains drawn, please keep in mind that your rantings about how the PC is superior brings one to recall when the same was said about the radio in comparison to a relatvely new medium called "Television" in the 1930's; eventually consoles (like the TV) will surpass the PC in popularity with regard to gaming because (as I alluded to earlier) it attracts groups of socially demonstrative people to play together from varying backgrounds, unfortunately the stereotype of PC gamers as a group of pimply-faced social outcasts is hard to shake. More importantly consoles are cost effective and extremely user friendly. Expand
  24. Megatron
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    I thought that a conversion from the pc counterpart would b a lot lesser expirience on the black machine from microsoft...thank god i was wrong....this proves drastically that when a developer such as Valve puts a goal and gives its best shoot at it,it just cant b that bad...on the contrary,i ve enjoyed it as much as i did on my medium pc set up,although this time,i did nt get any palm,or I thought that a conversion from the pc counterpart would b a lot lesser expirience on the black machine from microsoft...thank god i was wrong....this proves drastically that when a developer such as Valve puts a goal and gives its best shoot at it,it just cant b that bad...on the contrary,i ve enjoyed it as much as i did on my medium pc set up,although this time,i did nt get any palm,or back aches during my quest in city 17 as Gordon Freeman... hail 2 xbox!Having last years best pc game,i think the xbox has stil a lot to offer,hope other developers see it and produce such fine titles in terms of graphics quality and gameplay...2 bad the life o f the xbox is slowly ending,since the xbox 360 has arrived...i say...bring on Quake 4(!!!?????!!!) on xbox ,and i wont b that surprised... Expand
  25. JaceN.
    Nov 22, 2005
    8
    Excellent FPS and a great way to end the XBOX software run before the 360...and the inevitable dregs that make it from this generation to the next. I feel the developers went a bit Tech-Happy with the whole Havok physics engine. At times it appears that structures that have apparently been there for 20 years or more serve no other purpose than providing a means for Freeman to put Excellent FPS and a great way to end the XBOX software run before the 360...and the inevitable dregs that make it from this generation to the next. I feel the developers went a bit Tech-Happy with the whole Havok physics engine. At times it appears that structures that have apparently been there for 20 years or more serve no other purpose than providing a means for Freeman to put cinderblocks in a rusty old elevator just in case he comes through this part of town in his hovercraft some day...quite contrived! And on occasion your legs seem to stop working just because youre standing too close to a cardboard box. Dont scientist know that your shoulder can safely brush past objects with no harm? Expand
  26. Patrick
    Nov 25, 2005
    8
    Good game but like some others, I get dizzy playing this game due to frame rate issues. No other games have done this to me.
  27. DustinM.
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played, it ranks right beside Halo, the whole time I was playin I was immersed in the story and action, not once was I bored. This is definately one of the best games ever made for xbox.
  28. GaryE.
    Nov 29, 2005
    9
    An almost perfect game.This has delayed my purchase of the Xbox360 for a couple on months. There's plenty of life in the old dog yet!
  29. GiantOctopusDizz
    Nov 29, 2005
    8
    excessive slowdowns on every level of the game forced me to cut 2 points for being outstanding. Valve should have realized early on that half-life2 is a next generation game and should be played on next generation console namely xbox360 but theyre stubborn on porting a great game on a current generation of console which is xbox. A downgrade in graphics and control not to mention excessive slowdowns on every level of the game forced me to cut 2 points for being outstanding. Valve should have realized early on that half-life2 is a next generation game and should be played on next generation console namely xbox360 but theyre stubborn on porting a great game on a current generation of console which is xbox. A downgrade in graphics and control not to mention slowdowns. Comparing between Doom3 and Half-life2 on xbox. Hands down Doom3 wins in graphics,sound and control except for gameplay half-life2 wins that but with slowdowns its so unaccaptable for today standard of games to have that kind of major flaw its not as polished as Doom3 was. Doom3 wins overall. Expand
  30. Mike
    Nov 30, 2005
    7
    I gave this game a 7 because I came away on the fence about it. I never played the first Half-Life, but did dabble in CS. And I wasn't really sure what to expect from this iteration. But having played it, my impression is that its a very good story driven game, but everything else seems a little off. I don't agree that the controls are spot on, especially on the air boat. And I gave this game a 7 because I came away on the fence about it. I never played the first Half-Life, but did dabble in CS. And I wasn't really sure what to expect from this iteration. But having played it, my impression is that its a very good story driven game, but everything else seems a little off. I don't agree that the controls are spot on, especially on the air boat. And the weapons definitely seem a little underpowered. I also CAN NOT stand how many loads there were, it was like every other corner you turned in the game had to load up, it was very frustrating and I found myself putting the game down and returning it to Blockbuster after 4 levels. There were some nice parts, but all in all, it didn't impress me as much as the critics. And I'm definitely glad i rented it. This is a good rental if you're bored and waiting for your Xbox 360, but that's about it. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
#5 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 100
    Real 'bullet-time' isn't ballet; it's no-holds carnage that ends with a radio-transmitted flatline. It's one man making a difference; it's one game making a noise. Half-Life 2 is all that - and more.
  2. AceGamez
    100
    The most immersing and compelling game I've ever played.
  3. Long story short, Half-Life 2 is a must-buy, and our strongest choice for that one, last Xbox game to pick up before switching over to Xbox 360.