Half-Life 2 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The follow-up to Half-Life continues the intense action and immersive storytelling from the original and adds more realism and responsiveness. Once again, you play the role of research scientist Gordon Freeman, who finds himself on an alien-infested Earth being picked to the bone, itsThe follow-up to Half-Life continues the intense action and immersive storytelling from the original and adds more realism and responsiveness. Once again, you play the role of research scientist Gordon Freeman, who finds himself on an alien-infested Earth being picked to the bone, its resources depleted, and its populace dwindling. With your trusty crowbar and a variety of other weapons at your disposal, Freeman must rescue the world from the wrong he unleashed at Black Mesa. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 100
    Real 'bullet-time' isn't ballet; it's no-holds carnage that ends with a radio-transmitted flatline. It's one man making a difference; it's one game making a noise. Half-Life 2 is all that - and more.
  2. If you are passionate about your games then you cannot afford to miss what is arguably one of the three best Xbox titles ever made. Get it now.
  3. I can easily say that I had just as much fun playing through the game on the Xbox as I first did on the PC, and probably even more so due to my personal preference of the controller over the keyboard.
  4. 90
    Aside from a few tiny changes, Half-Life 2 on the Xbox is the PC game, right down to the last spattered droplets of alien blood. Half-Life 2's graphics set new standards for the Xbox, blowing right past heavyweights like "Doom 3" and "Halo 2."
  5. Long story short, Half-Life 2 is a must-buy, and our strongest choice for that one, last Xbox game to pick up before switching over to Xbox 360.
  6. The character models are excellent with amazing facial expressions that include "tells." You can't always be sure that what people are saying to you because there is a level of body language that can be interpreted.
  7. The inconsistent framerate and lack of visual splendor are compromises we all expected with this conversion, but the load times are insufferable. [Dec 2005, p.182]

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 60
  2. Negative: 4 out of 60
  1. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    By far, Half Life 2 is a masterpiece on every level and one of the greatest FPS of all time in my books. The story is told well and theBy far, Half Life 2 is a masterpiece on every level and one of the greatest FPS of all time in my books. The story is told well and the gameplay is amazing and addictive. Voice actors are great. There are so many levels of creativity in this game that it is just stunning. Expand
  2. Rick
    Feb 28, 2006
    10
    How can you not give this game a 10!! What more are you looking for? Ive grown with games and the echelon of game play they are now entering How can you not give this game a 10!! What more are you looking for? Ive grown with games and the echelon of game play they are now entering is awesome. I think someone said where's the story?What? The game is the story, you are completely immersed in this world, and you accept the load times as you are moving from one point to another. There is no end of level crap which some FPS have. I didnt think anything would blow me away in the FPS stakes like Halo did but this dethrones the king. There is so much atmosphere in this game and the level design is top notch. By that I mean what I love about HalfLife2 is that you can cruise along then all of a sudden you are in a situation where you must use ya noggin to get through which is very rare in FPS. I also love the mutliple was of takin out your oponents from firing into barrels, to the command of flying green bugs. Kudo's to the development team for bringing it to the box - I now compare all games to this one - on par with GTA San Andreas, ahead of Halo, Ninja Gaiden, and Strangers Wrath. Expand
  3. Alex
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    This is by far the most enthralling FPS I've ever played on the Xbox. An intriguing yet somewhat obscure storyline takes a backseat to This is by far the most enthralling FPS I've ever played on the Xbox. An intriguing yet somewhat obscure storyline takes a backseat to the brilliant gameplay. This isn't simply a shooter - it mixes in adventure, exploration, platforming, driving, and squad-based combat into a stunning amalgam of fun. The variety of level design, enemies, and methods of killing, along with astonishing visuals, make Half-Life 2 truly one of the greatest games of all time. Highly recommended for any fan of action games. Expand
  4. CharlieB.
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    I must have gotten the super-secret high-powered Xbox when I bought mine, because, aside from a handful of hiccups that lasted less than five I must have gotten the super-secret high-powered Xbox when I bought mine, because, aside from a handful of hiccups that lasted less than five seconds each, I didn't notice any framerate issues. This is easily the best FPS on the Xbox console, just a tiny bit ahead of the first Halo, and leagues ahead of any of the rest I've played, including Halo2, Timesplitters2, Doom3, and Deus Ex. I suppose there might be one out there I've missed, but if so, I hope I find it, because this is the best. Expand
  5. MarcD.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    The only issue I can nitpick about this game is the conclusion. The finale leaves alot to desired and sets the player up for one hell of an The only issue I can nitpick about this game is the conclusion. The finale leaves alot to desired and sets the player up for one hell of an anxious wait. If you're lucky enough to be playing it now though...Episode 1 AND 2 is packaged with The Orange Box, thus making this complaint null and void. So you're probably asking...'any other reason why I might not want to get this game?' No. No no no no no. Enjoy gaming at it's finest now. Collapse
  6. WilliamT.
    Jan 20, 2008
    8
    A great game to play on you beloved 'Box. The controls suffer from some degree of PC to Console, but it's still fun nevertheless.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Sep 30, 2006
    0
    Bad graphics, bad story line, not even close to realistic, just plain sucked.

See all 60 User Reviews