Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis Xbox

Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Jurassic has enough open-ended depth to appease "RollerCoaster Tycoon" players, fossil hunters, and anyone looking to bag some big game. [2 May 2003, p.79]
  2. Game Informer
    90
    It succeeds through its intoxicating fluidity and the way it turns the dream of the movie into your own reality. [Apr 2003, p.90]
  3. 90
    While business minutia often drags down world-building sims, Operation Genesis offers enough variety and a bit of real action to not only set it apart but also keep players very satisfied.
  4. It’s a niche game that will only appeal to fans of this genre. If you enjoyed "Zoo Tycoon," you are sure to like JPOR. All others who are interested should rent first.
  5. After playing this game, I don't think I will even think I'll ever lay eyes on rollercoaster tycoon again even if it did just launch onto the Xbox not to long ago. I think I will stick with this game.
  6. 80
    With a very limited amount of amenities and dinosaurs represented, Jurassic Park falters a little in the replayability category.
  7. 80
    A very addictive game that continues to surprise and delight the more you play. For the money, there's plenty to do, and best of all it lets you focus on what you find fun.
  8. While I don’t have any huge complaints overall with Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis, it just seems to be missing something and at times the action is slow and tedious.
  9. The geographical limitations are a real hindrance, but there is enough to do within the space you're given.
  10. The game is pretty slow-paced and outside of the few mentioned action sequences, is almost devoid of any visceral attributes that seem so inherent with flesh-eating dinosaurs.
  11. An enjoyable game that should appeal to dinosaur buffs and park simulation fans alike, thanks to its attractive graphics engine and unique features.
  12. Thanks to the half-decent camera you can also get right down into the action to appreciate the slaughter even more. It’s worth getting Operation Genesis for this opportunity alone.
  13. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    70
    Long-term fun is doomed to extinction. Sure, you get a lot to do, but not many ways to do it. [Apr 2003, p.132]
  14. 68
    To enjoy this game properly you are going to need a keyboard and a mouse -- two things that are readily available on the PC -- so you might as well plan on going for that version instead.
  15. Xbox Nation Magazine
    60
    As a "Zoo Tycoon" clone, Operation Genesis isn't at all bad, but the fact that it's merely a "Zoo Tycoon" clone is sufficient enough criticism. [Apr/May 2003, p.93]
  16. Official Xbox Magazine
    60
    Sure, it's nice to play around with dinosaurs, but the control and framerate issues keep any interest in the game strictly short term. [May 2003, p.75]
  17. 59
    As good as the control system is on Xbox, games like this just aren't as appealing on console.
  18. Be it a comatose dinosaur that needs reviving, a fossil find that needs extraction, or research team that needs a project, everybody unfailingly 'needs' a little of your time.
  19. Cheat Code Central
    50
    Compared to other sim and tycoon games this one is not as deep which can be a good thing for Xbox players.
  20. If the developers concentrated on one console version at a time, then maybe there would have been more depth and polish besides the fascinating dinosaurs.
  21. Play Magazine
    30
    The game part of the game has you snapping pictures and keeping stray dinos under control, which couldn't be a more miscalcualted idea in modern game design. [Apr 2003, p.62]

Awards & Rankings

#84 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
#13 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2003
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. MichaelL.
    Apr 12, 2003
    9
    Flying the chopper is fun, driving the jeep is more fun because you can see the dinosauers at ground level, watching the dinosaurs eating, Flying the chopper is fun, driving the jeep is more fun because you can see the dinosauers at ground level, watching the dinosaurs eating, hunting, playing is nice. Graphics are nice. This is a fun game to play. Full Review »
  2. Dec 4, 2015
    9
    Yup, I've still got my disc copy of the game! It's not exactly Rollercoaster Tycoon good, but it's a great game nonetheless. The gameplay isYup, I've still got my disc copy of the game! It's not exactly Rollercoaster Tycoon good, but it's a great game nonetheless. The gameplay is easy to get the hang of and yet still has plenty of variety and depth to it; you have no real restrictions on what you do, but in a badly designed park, any small disturbance can make all hell break loose.

    If you can still find this game, go for it! It holds up remarkably well for such an old game and the Xbox version is a lot more solid than people make it out to be, but be warned that the Xbox/PC versions are collectors' items and can go for upwards of $100. If you don't have a PlayStation 2, it's probably not worth the asking price for a remaining copy, and you're better off hoping that some day we can see a digital release.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    Surprisingly enjoyable; I spent so much time playing this game as a child. It is just so open-ended and beautiful in so many ways, from theSurprisingly enjoyable; I spent so much time playing this game as a child. It is just so open-ended and beautiful in so many ways, from the dinosaurs themselves to the landscape and disasters; there is just so much detail in the game. Full Review »