kill.switch Xbox

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy On
  1. This game sparkles because of the Offensive Cover System and animations, otherwise it is a straightforward shooter that sets up with some pretty simple and standard missions.
  2. A good shooter, perched on the boundary between realistic and cinematic. It's got a great story, too.
  3. My only complaint is that I have beaten it, and now I'm done. It was a bit short for me.
  4. Even though the gameplay is a bit lacking in length and diversity you can’t help but admit the game is just plain fun to play, and the level of difficulty will provide a challenge for jaded veterans of the genre.
  5. Play Magazine
    83
    Other games have tried to slow the pace down a bit, forcing you to strategize with a more real-world instinct, but none have ever been able to do so with this level of intensity and keen sense of design. [Nov 2003, p.64]
  6. A little better than your average shooter and worth checking out for the unique Offensive Cover System.
  7. Xbox Nation Magazine
    80
    Serves up round after round of smart, strategic firefights, challening both mind and reflex. [Dec/Jan 2004, p.99]
  8. These battles, they feel real. More important, they seem dangerous.
  9. 80
    Easy to pick-up, difficult in all the right places, and oozes Hollywood atmosphere without sacrificing too many gameplay convictions. While we can't say that we approve of its particularly short-sided length and occasional camera problems, it's still one hell of a fun ride while it lasts.
  10. 80
    This game can be nail-bitingly suspenseful as you have no radar or warning system of any sort, and never know when or from where enemies pop out and peg you in the head.
  11. Possesses one of most engaging stories to grace an action title since "Metal Gear Solid."
  12. Official Xbox Magazine
    78
    What you end up with is a solid but average action game with only truly great concept. Sure, it's a one-trick pony, but at least the pony's cute and doesn't smell. [Dec 2003, p.156]
  13. As innovative as it may be, Namco didn't back this gameplay up with any substance. [Dec 2003, p.174]
  14. Playboy
    75
    Finally, a shooter for cowards! Kill.Switch is the first game to let you hide behind objects and blindly fire around corners. [Oct 2003, p.37]
  15. 75
    There's no multiplayer, no online play, and only a couple of difficulty modes. But it does its work extremely well, and it's safe to say you won't play a similar game this year.
  16. If you're looking for some pretty intense fire-fights, give kill.switch a try - I'm pretty sure you'll be pleased with what you find. This title proves to be a diamond in the rough.

Awards & Rankings

#88 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Uter
    May 21, 2004
    4
    Bad graphics and ill-conceived level design combine in a mediocre game. With the shooter genera so crowded on xbox, kill switch isn't Bad graphics and ill-conceived level design combine in a mediocre game. With the shooter genera so crowded on xbox, kill switch isn't really worth playing. At least 10 other shooters are better options. Full Review »
  2. MichaelC.
    Jan 13, 2004
    6
    I had high hopes for this game, but unfortunately, it falls way short of expectation. The cover system is probably the coolest I've seen I had high hopes for this game, but unfortunately, it falls way short of expectation. The cover system is probably the coolest I've seen in a shooter, but is the only unique feature you'll find here. Swarms of enemies, difficult NPC AI, and lack of any interesting gameplay besides ducking and shooting makes playing Kill Switch get repetitive fast. If you love third-person shooters, you might find some enjoyment here, but I'd wait for a price drop. Full Review »
  3. RyanH.
    Nov 16, 2003
    9
    A fun and intense game with a unique story(think Memento).A straight foward, frantic, gun-blazing adventure that jerks you around like a fly A fun and intense game with a unique story(think Memento).A straight foward, frantic, gun-blazing adventure that jerks you around like a fly tied to thread. If you're tired of stealth buy this! Full Review »