User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 3 out of 20

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DeathHunter
    Oct 2, 2003
    10
    I couldn't stop playing it...
  2. GaryF.
    Oct 30, 2003
    10
    Become my soul Reaver, my angel of death.
  3. SteveT.
    Jan 22, 2004
    9
    For starters, I think there's no denying how great Defiance looks. The detailed textures and architecture in this game are amazing. The characters and animation are also top notch, including the many cinematic sequences. As previously mentioned, this game plays somewhat like a movie, with the imperfect, yet functional camera view. That said, the storyline is another amazing aspect. For starters, I think there's no denying how great Defiance looks. The detailed textures and architecture in this game are amazing. The characters and animation are also top notch, including the many cinematic sequences. As previously mentioned, this game plays somewhat like a movie, with the imperfect, yet functional camera view. That said, the storyline is another amazing aspect. It is so in depth and complicated that it completely draws you in. The dark, ambient music and crisp sound effects really add to the movie-feel and contribute to the magnetic nature of the game. Also, the combat system in Defiance is awesome in that it offers enough variation and elements to let the player create sort of theatrical battle sequences. Once you've mastered the moves, there's enough to play around with to keep the combat interesting and it looks so cool! If you've played Soul Reaver 1 or 2, you'll notice that the gameplay and puzzles are similar, yet new and vastly improved. The fact that you play as both Kain and Raziel, is another feature I thought was awesome with this game. The two characters had been integral parts of the same story, yet remained totally separate. This lets you see the story from multiple angles and gives you a more clear picture of the true nature of the characters. The only small problems I had with the game were the camera view and (probably related) the ease of getting lost. As you double back to some of the same areas, it can get kind of confusing as to which path you should take, or exactly where you are. However, everything else in the game is so good that I think it totally makes up for this. I recommend checking this game out. Expand
  4. AaronA.
    Apr 10, 2004
    10
    I havent played any of the other blood omens but i am very familiar with the soul reaver games and all i can say is that this game gives you a feeling of power and an amasing storyline that i havent experienced since onimusha 2. as kain u feel invincible and it is such a great feeling when u finally nail a boss or drink the blood of a rival. on the other hand as raziel the story grabs holdI havent played any of the other blood omens but i am very familiar with the soul reaver games and all i can say is that this game gives you a feeling of power and an amasing storyline that i havent experienced since onimusha 2. as kain u feel invincible and it is such a great feeling when u finally nail a boss or drink the blood of a rival. on the other hand as raziel the story grabs hold of you and the graphics of the underworld are truely breathtaking, combine this with brilliant crisp graphics a great storyline and fighting system and the best sound effects i have ever herd in a game. I LOVE THIS GAME! ps. take no notice of the guys on here giving it a score of 0 coz they are just being immature and i can tell u now that the camera isnt a problem when ur enjoying yourself this much! Expand
  5. Frostbolt
    Jan 29, 2006
    9
    I have been gaming for the longest of times, and never did I encounter the LoK series which truly now makes me quite bewildered, because Defiance really is an astonishing game. I sort of want to go out and buy a PSX now just so I can play the older games of the series, that is how great this game is. I read up on the previous installments of the series and the story is certainly one of I have been gaming for the longest of times, and never did I encounter the LoK series which truly now makes me quite bewildered, because Defiance really is an astonishing game. I sort of want to go out and buy a PSX now just so I can play the older games of the series, that is how great this game is. I read up on the previous installments of the series and the story is certainly one of the best i've heard, and Defiance finishes up real nice. Defiance is a basic button-masher, eye-candy, puzzle game, but the three elements are brought together so damn well that this game seems gold. The level designs were by far the most unique and beautiful to come along in a long time, and the combat has enough variation to never become dull, including plenty of cool upgrades to your arsenal for both Raziel and Kain.The puzzles don't require all that much thought, but certainly at times form into some tricky and clever obstacles to overcome. The boss fights, though few and a little too easy, are brilliantly executed. You'll find a good 15 hours in Defiance, but if you go for every tome, and upgrade, and talisman, and with some of the puzzles taking up time than at most you'll get a good 20 hours. Overall this game is very worthy of a 9, just at times the camera angles do go all flip-flop and it is hard to refocus it. If your looking for an experience that non have yet conjured and some very fun Ninja Gaiden sort of button-mashing, than i'm sure Legacy of Kain: Defiance is just what you'll want. PS: Vorador's Mansion is simply the best level ever created =). Expand
  6. GusH.
    Nov 17, 2003
    9
    Okay... THIS IS THE BEST LOK GAME YET. HANDS DOWN. I didnt play the first Blood Omen...but I have played all the rest... Blood Omen 2 was crappy graphics and gameplay...(great story, of course, as with all the LOK games). Soul Reaver 1 was INCREDIBLE. Soul Reaver 2 was..."eh". Good story but only average graphics and gameplay. Until Defiance came along...SR1 was the best one. Defiance Okay... THIS IS THE BEST LOK GAME YET. HANDS DOWN. I didnt play the first Blood Omen...but I have played all the rest... Blood Omen 2 was crappy graphics and gameplay...(great story, of course, as with all the LOK games). Soul Reaver 1 was INCREDIBLE. Soul Reaver 2 was..."eh". Good story but only average graphics and gameplay. Until Defiance came along...SR1 was the best one. Defiance blows it away. EVERY detail and complaint that I had with the other games is fixed in this one. Controls are great. You can be KAIN AND RAZIEL....so it doesnt get old being one or the other for 20 hours. You can SAVE ANY TIME. The souls you ingest are not just green blobs... they are actually human figures that cry and scream in agony! The game feels more like a "game" than the previous installments. The other games felt like the game play was an excuse to get to more story. This game melds the two aspects perfectly. The gameplay reminds me of the first time I played Zelda (NES). It gives me butterflies to play it. My ONLY complaints with the game are small. The graphics COULD be a BIT better...being on the XBOX....that said: they still blow away every other LOK game and most other games on the XBOX now anyway. I am actually really happy with the graphics...I just think they could start raising the bar a little....after Splinter Cell. The CAMERA in the game is bad too. But. its not so bad that it ruins the game or anything. Its actually REALLY good most of the time....its very cinematic.... but sometimes...you go into a room and the camera just "decides" not to go with you. so. you have to go out and convince the camera to follow you by trying again. Its weird. But. The game is so good that I forgive it I really really like this game. I dont know if everyone will. But. if you liked ANY of the other KAIN/SOUL REAVER games.....I can promise that you will LOVE this game. If you HAVENT played any other games in this series....I really think you will like this one anyway....they give a great summary in the instruction book... and the dialogue explains a lot of back story in the first few levels.... I watched an online demo of this game... and I was hesitant to get it....it didnt really look that great to me. But. i tried it in the store and after 2 minutes I purchased it. The guy at the counter was like "2 minutes are you are going to buy it? damn...I'll have to try it." Its dark, moody, scary, bloody, and it incorporates many more "action" elements (power ups, etc) that make the game even more fun. I am often disappointed with my xbox purchases...because I feel like they just dont use the xbox's potential. This game does that a little. But. I really feel like I finally got a game that was worth my $50. Hope you enjoy it! Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Both in gameplay styles and level design the game feels like you're playing the quest of a singular entity suffering from multiple personality disorder. Only a true fan could love such a challenged title.
  2. Nosgoth is a captivating place to exist in, decadent and elegant, shadowy and mysterious. [Jan 2004, p.56]
  3. The twisty story is compelling enough to pull you through the game like a rabbit tied to a rush-hour train. [Mar 2004, p.92]