Marc Ecko's Getting Up: Contents Under Pressure Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Marc Ecko's Getting Up: Contents Under Pressure is a game that explores the world of a graffiti artist. In a city where freedom of expression is being choked by a tyrannical mayor, you play as Trane, a youth trying to build his reputation from a rookie to the most reputable graffiti artist of all. Marc Ecko's Getting Up: Contents Under Pressure lets you experience the life of a tagger, having to fight in the street and scale obstacles to tag the most desirable locations. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Getting Up is like a breath of fresh air, never before seen in the games industry and implemented to a degree that should make it a must in any gamer's collection.
  2. The story is engaging, the action is more than varied for this genre, and the gameplay does offer up something both solid and new. It may not hold up to repeated finishes, but at 20 levels, and at least 15 hours of gameplay, the experience is worth the price of admission for gamers looking for this type of fix.
  3. Getting Up could be described as "Jet Set Radio" without the cartoon flavour and minus the roller blades but maybe that's going too far as really the only thing they have in common are the exploration element and graffiti.
  4. As it stands, Getting Up is a game I like more for its potential than its execution, and that's a shame [Apr 2006, p.114]
  5. Getting Up is a solid game, but not spectacular in any way outside of the tagging interface. It also does a lot of things well, but features a disturbing amount of product placement that takes you right out of the adventure while also needing some fine-tuning with its controls and camera.
  6. While all of Getting Up's diverse elements are to varying degrees lacking, the game ultimately comes together as a moderately entertaining experience.
  7. The possibility of this all coming together in a more flexible and engaging manner is still a welcome one. But, for a game based on a culture of reputation, craftsmanship and leaving a mark, Getting Up is one that'll pass by largely unnoticed. [Mar 2006, p.86]

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. DjB.
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    hmm I only played the first level and I was like goof the fighting is great I love it I only played it once and me cousin's been playing it since well it urban hip hop look and graffiti style is great it better than jet set radio a game that was once for the dream cast belive it or not. know came on the xbox for jet set radio future I loved both of those games! This one beat both of them though well I got to go and play this game. Expand
  2. MargieJ.
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    The game is definitely one of the best out there. Finally a game that comes out with an original concept- none of the old hat stuff where games are based on a book or a movie. This game has heart and you can tell that the people behind this really put in some real thought and live and breathe this culture. But graffiti is not the only thing in this game, which makes it great for others who are not necessarily into graffiti. It has awesome gameplay, great fighting techniques and the ability to roam the streets of New Radius (essentially NY). The soundtrack adds a great sense of drama that heightens the game. The score was done by a producer named RJD2 who is famed and renowned out of NY. It has 4 original songs and a number of great licensed ones. I highly recommend this to all who are adventurous and enjoy new exciting things! Expand
  3. Frank
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    I'm not a graffiti artist, but I do think this is the most authentic interactive experience to make you feel like one. You play as Trane, a kid looking for fame in the fictitious city of New Radius. Trane has to battle rival crews and the tyrannical police force known as the CCK. Trane abandons his search for fame and takes a stand against the corrupt government with a message of freedom and a call for change. The game-play is varied, it has 4 styles, Navigation, Combat, Stealth and Graff. Each component is fun and inventive, especially the graffiti, Trane can use a variety of tools to spread his message, markers, posters, stencils, spray paint pieces, wheatpaste, and roller blockbusters. Trane doesn't have access to all of these in the beginning, but by the middle of the game, he is introduced to these tools by Legends, real life graffiti artists that teach you techniques or styles. The graff itself also expands as you play the game, it really shows off his evolution as an artist and a political activist. The characters and story really pulled me in, I really wanted to complete the game because Trane's story is a compelling one. The world of New Radius was gritty and realistic, the character models looked great for current gen and the cinematic work was top notch. The music is really note worthy, I don't think I've ever heard such a rich mix of styles, yet it all works together, much like a Q.T. movie. If you have the money, spend the extra 10 bucks on the Limited Edition, the making of DVD, soundtrack, blackbook and Sharpie pen make a really nice package. What can I say, I played this game all the way through in one long setting 14 hours, and loved it. Highly recommended. Expand
  4. LarryT.
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    This game has everything you look for. It has elements of stealth as you sneak around guards and quietly bomb a spot. It has celebrities. P.Diddy does voices, Britney Murphy does them too. And not to mention the various Graffiti legends thats are included. Is that wasnt enough, the graffiti that you'd put up yourself looks great. You put them up through use of aerosol, markers, pens, paint rollers, wheat paste, stickers, and stencils. This games makes graffiti look fun. The soundtrack to this is good too. Collapse
  5. JayC.
    Mar 31, 2006
    9
    Take a walk through the under world of graffiti. This game is a street brawler with art mixed with Prince of Persia type platfom elements. This game is very addictive with its slick presentation, all star great voice acting and great art work. You can vandalize the city in a quest to unearth the corrution in it. The soundtrack is one of the best hip hop sound tracks I have ever heard. I have to go play now. Expand
  6. JimmyM.
    Jun 5, 2006
    9
    the only bad thing about it is it is not free rome and i can live with that.
  7. JamesH.
    Mar 3, 2006
    3
    This is a poor game. Being both a gamer and interested in graf history and culture I picked this up thinking that it might be a fun (and perhaps enlightening) experience. It was neither. The animations are passable. The gameplay is dull and the fighting mechanic is overly repetitive. For a game that attempts to embrace and showcase street art, there is no potential for creativity or developing an individual style. Granted, I only played the first 4 chapters of the game... it could improve later on I suppose. I would be surprised though. Expand