MTV's Celebrity Deathmatch Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.8

Overwhelming dislike- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the TV show, MTV's Celebrity Deathmatch pits famous personalities against each other in bloody bouts. Each of the 15 characters has their own special moves and reflects the damage taken during fights with bruises, blood, dents, and deformities. You can also create your own celebrityBased on the TV show, MTV's Celebrity Deathmatch pits famous personalities against each other in bloody bouts. Each of the 15 characters has their own special moves and reflects the damage taken during fights with bruises, blood, dents, and deformities. You can also create your own celebrity and test his or her skills in the arena spotlight. Original show hosts Nick Diamond and Johnny Gomez provide color commentary while referee Mills Lane calls the shots. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 12 out of 17
  1. I wish they would have made the game longer and included more options. It's the type of game that is great for releasing some tension and to have some fun.
  2. Add some simple moves, a little combo, and repeat...constantly. The special death move was also a failed attempt in my book.
  3. When you take into account the humor, the budget price and the ability to beat your (least) favorite celebrity into a bloody clay pulp, there's certainly fun to be had. [Dec 2003, p.81]
  4. The outdated and unfunny jokes, horrible fighting engine, and lackluster visuals and sound make this a game that could have been, but never will. Stay very far away.
  5. Celebrity Deathmatch's biggest problem isn't its timing, but, rather, it's the absolutely horrid gameplay and complete lack of any worthwhile features.
  6. 25
    This game insulted my intelligence as a gamer and a human being. I found very little entertainment while playing this game and feel ripped off that I spent five bucks on it.
  7. Besides the two seconds of fatality joy, the only other redeeming quality of this game is its price. Major retail outlets tag it at about $20. That’s still about $19 overpriced, but at least they’re not trying to pretend this decorative coaster is anything else.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 9 out of 11
  1. ChrisT.
    Dec 13, 2004
    8
    Okay. I know this game was terrible. But if you are just looking for a good party game for some good laughs, this is it. It's not worth Okay. I know this game was terrible. But if you are just looking for a good party game for some good laughs, this is it. It's not worth 20 bucks, that's why you wait until it's 4 in the bargain bin at Pamadia right? Collapse
  2. DartV.
    Apr 23, 2007
    7
    hey just got the game for an amazing $1.40 yes it is crap tried ti for 5 minutes juts could not od the final kill move does not even tell you hey just got the game for an amazing $1.40 yes it is crap tried ti for 5 minutes juts could not od the final kill move does not even tell you in the instructions. after 10 mins done it still do not know how. 20 mins took game outside got sub machine gun you can guess the rest. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2014
    2
    Broken. Completely broken. The controls are broken, the core gameplay itself is broken, broken, broken, broken. The controls have achieved aBroken. Completely broken. The controls are broken, the core gameplay itself is broken, broken, broken, broken. The controls have achieved a magnitude of suck I previously believed wasn't humanly possible, with plenty of buttons that do nothing and the majority of responsive buttons yielding crappy, ineffective moves. Multiple times in one fight, I would be facing and pushing the joystick in one certain direction, when suddenly, my character decides to veer off in a completely different one. Many of the celebrities I have never heard of in my life and the monsters are incredibly lame and clearly thrown in to make up for the lack of celebrities that agreed to be a part of this horrific, ugly mess. The voice-acting may be the best thing about this game and it too is not that good. I like how they included the actual announcers from the show, but many celebrities do not have the actual celebrity doing the voice-overs. The game is riddled with factual errors, ridiculous camera problems, and terrible animations. The create a celebrity feature sucks, just like the rest of the game. The only apparent positive that this game has is its humor. The game utilizes stupid humor to the max. You'll definitely get a few chuckles in, making this game good for about a few rounds. If you are inconceivably bored beyond tears, heavily stoned, or curious about self-induced mental torture, then this game is worth playing. Everyone else, move along. There's nothing to see here. Expand
  4. MichaelC.
    Nov 3, 2003
    0
    If you only dowse one game in gasoline and light it on fire this year, make it this one. That's what I did. This game redefines the word If you only dowse one game in gasoline and light it on fire this year, make it this one. That's what I did. This game redefines the word "terrible". Crappy controls, piss-poor gameplay, mediocre graphics, and an overwhelming level of pure idiocy give this fighter a big zero. Expand
  5. NathanS.
    Nov 28, 2003
    0
    This game was GREAT!! it was so great, i decided to soak it in gasoline overnight then pour some lighter fluid on it and light it. wow, iveThis game was GREAT!! it was so great, i decided to soak it in gasoline overnight then pour some lighter fluid on it and light it. wow, ive never seen a game create such a bonfire. Expand
  6. AnthonyV.
    Sep 19, 2005
    0
    It would be far too obvious to suggest this game is nothing more than an excuse for MTV to milk the last bit of money they could out of a It would be far too obvious to suggest this game is nothing more than an excuse for MTV to milk the last bit of money they could out of a dead TV license. It would be far more worthwhile to say that this game sucks so bad that you risk having your television implode and take out the entire solar system if you dare spend longer then 48 seconds playing it. If your I.Q. is that low that you can actually play this game longer and derive even a modicum of enjoyment out of it, you're a danger to the world at large. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    May 12, 2004
    0
    Well, here's the story of my day with "MTV Celebrity Deathmatch." I went to the mall and saw this game. I had remembered seeing the show Well, here's the story of my day with "MTV Celebrity Deathmatch." I went to the mall and saw this game. I had remembered seeing the show and loved it, so I picked it up at it's low price. Then I found out something new. And that would be that this is the WORST GAME EVER. It is SO boring and repetitve that I fell asleep during a fight. So let that be a lesson for all who see this. Do not buy this awful game. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews