NBA Live 2005 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Elevate your game on both ends of the court with NBA Live 2005. Create new dribble moves, flashy dunks, and tenacious defensive plays that express your individual style--all with a touch of the right analog stick. The new 10-man Freestyle implementation enhances individual player movementsElevate your game on both ends of the court with NBA Live 2005. Create new dribble moves, flashy dunks, and tenacious defensive plays that express your individual style--all with a touch of the right analog stick. The new 10-man Freestyle implementation enhances individual player movements and floor spacing, putting you in the middle of the action. Enhanced player graphics reproduce NBA players with realistic faces, hairstyles, jerseys, and shoes. NBA Live 2005 also offers a deeper Dynasty mode, where you can watch your franchise flourish for 25 seasons. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. For this year's game, EA has taken freestyle control to a whole new level. A level so out of control, it's going to change the way you play basketball games...forever. [Oct 2004, p.89]
  2. 90
    The slam dunk matchup is a slick game within the game, but let's not forget what got you to the gym in the first place. NBA Live 2005 is an all-pro caliber b-ball game that continues to show improvements. [Dec 2004, p.140]
  3. 90
    A deep Dynasty Mode and some cool new gameplay additions ensure that you'll be playing the game for months to come, and while we can't say yet if the game will be able to gain ground on its biggest rival, we can say this: NBA Live 2005 is the best EA Sports basketball game ever.
  4. In terms of visuals and pace, Live runs circles around rival "ESPN," but the gameplay is still a distant second in terms of execution. [Nov 2004, p.142]
  5. But it's tough for us to say that the dunk mode really adds a lot of value to the franchise, and it's also likely to prove too difficult for most casual players to fully grasp anyway.
  6. Patience and slider adjustment is the key though and depending on your stress threshold, you may actually end up loving it. Be warned, this is not one for those seeking instant gratification.
  7. A fun basketball title, but this isn't one of those "must-have" years, unless All-Star Weekend is something you absolutely can't live without. EA just didn't bring its "A"-game for '05.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. J.T.
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    Great Game- The Dunk contest is a little hard to figure out, but when you do all I can say is Wow!! I tried ESPN and it plays the same as NBA Great Game- The Dunk contest is a little hard to figure out, but when you do all I can say is Wow!! I tried ESPN and it plays the same as NBA Live, but NBA Live has the All-Star weekend... Expand
  2. Justin
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    This game rocks the hizzous.
  3. Simon
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    This game rules! i played it once at my mates then immediately went out and bought it myself. i never used to like basketball but now i'mThis game rules! i played it once at my mates then immediately went out and bought it myself. i never used to like basketball but now i'm addicted. buy it now! Collapse
  4. [Anonymous]
    Dec 23, 2004
    9
    +dynasty mode +all star weekend +commentary +realistic arenas +realistic gameplay (but still to many shotblocks) - no create a team option in +dynasty mode +all star weekend +commentary +realistic arenas +realistic gameplay (but still to many shotblocks) - no create a team option in the game - some inaccurate rating (esp. concerning the FG-rating and some physical ratings) - hardly fastbreaks because of players stopping immediately when they get the ball and because of the hard cpu defense. Expand
  5. Buried-In-The-Box
    Oct 5, 2004
    7
    Same as all the other EA games this year. Nothing but an update. It'll take more than a gimmicky slam dunk contest to cover up the Same as all the other EA games this year. Nothing but an update. It'll take more than a gimmicky slam dunk contest to cover up the boring old gameplay and PS2 graphics. Once again, Sega is on top with new ideas, not 15 year old ones like EA. Expand
  6. D.C.
    Oct 4, 2004
    7
    Slam Dunk Contest, the slam dunk contest is by far the best thing to a b-ball video game since sliced bread. The overall game play is very Slam Dunk Contest, the slam dunk contest is by far the best thing to a b-ball video game since sliced bread. The overall game play is very choppy, freestyle controls are always cool but that can't be the only thing. This year EA needs to give a big fat raise to whomever thought of the dunk contest. That's the only thing saving them from the video game graveyard, DUNK CONTEST!!!!!! Expand
  7. BlueFalcon
    Nov 26, 2004
    6
    The slam dunk contest is a nice idea, but why is it so difficult? All of a sudden I couldn't do even the most basic dunk. I can The slam dunk contest is a nice idea, but why is it so difficult? All of a sudden I couldn't do even the most basic dunk. I can understand why they'd have to make it more complicated, but the controls are just so unintuitive. It's definately not something you can pull out when your friends are over. Other than that, the actual gameplay doesn't impress much. Also, the graphics aren't that great during actual gameplay. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews