User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 4 out of 10

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Z.Z.
    Jan 10, 2005
    9
    Do you think you all could play the game and then give an honest review of it and leave your knee-jerk anti-EA crap at home where it belongs? There is, in fact, a significant number of new things in this game. Own the City, Six Street Events, Wall Moves, Online Play on Xbox, etc. etc. Only because it is chic to say that EA releases the same game over and over again do people buy into this Do you think you all could play the game and then give an honest review of it and leave your knee-jerk anti-EA crap at home where it belongs? There is, in fact, a significant number of new things in this game. Own the City, Six Street Events, Wall Moves, Online Play on Xbox, etc. etc. Only because it is chic to say that EA releases the same game over and over again do people buy into this crap. Is Kotor 2 significantlyd ifferent than Kotor 1? Is Burnout 3 that different than Burnout 2? Is ESPN 2k5 that different than ESPN 2k4? Seriously now. No one forces you to buy any game. I digress. In truth, this is a pretty good game which becomes much better when you play it with friends. Of all the criticisms of this game few ever say that it isn't fun. Bring three friends over and play some 2 on 2 Open Field Challenge and then tell me this isn't a fun game. Expand
  2. MattP.
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    This is what version 1 should have been.
  3. JJ
    Feb 16, 2005
    8
    This game is great to play with your friends, you can play street events or pick up tournaments. I could sit there for hours playing street events with some friends, some times we do a open field showdown with fat lineman which is funny. For those of you who dont like this game try playing multiplayer.
  4. FootballFanatic
    Jan 17, 2005
    4
    I found that this iteration of the game was not far off the first release. The only differences that I found (remember, I've only played it a couple times - I doubt I'll stick that disk in my Xbox again) was the wall moves - tackles, catches and offensive dodges. I think that the game is a great idea (I loved the first one), but is definitely lacking. How 'bout these for I found that this iteration of the game was not far off the first release. The only differences that I found (remember, I've only played it a couple times - I doubt I'll stick that disk in my Xbox again) was the wall moves - tackles, catches and offensive dodges. I think that the game is a great idea (I loved the first one), but is definitely lacking. How 'bout these for ideas? - Playmaker (a la Madden) both for the quarterback (controlling recievers) and for the ball carrier (control the blockers); Fan intervention (ever seen a fan get overly involved in a game? I have); Player composure - Play like crap and get heckled by your teammates, player gets frustrated and doesn't perform as well. ... And those are just a couple ideas. One problem that I found with the game (as well as the last iteration - not that big of a deal though) - is the controls. As a football fanatic, I'm used to years of playing Madden. Why not emulate what Madden used for their controls? NCAA did... If it ain't broke, why try to fix it? My only other gripe about the game is the UI. It looks like they gave an engineering intern Photoshop and said: "Go at 'er". I don't know about anyone else, but I would expect elements that you see all the time (i.e. the borders for the score 'n stuff) to look good. Once again, guys, great game idea. Please just put a bit more effort and time into it for the next release. Expand
  5. TylerJ.
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    I just love jumping of da walls.
  6. VinnieS.
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Awesome.
  7. MSFTMike
    Jan 9, 2005
    0
    Crappy non-improvement over the now $20 original version. Thanks to the exclusive deal that EA has with the NFL, this is all that you will see from them. Updated rosters and very little improvement from year to year. Where is the antitrust people from the DOJ when you need them to look out for us consumers.
  8. JohnK.
    Dec 22, 2004
    0
    Same game as the last version-- practically nothing new at all. Imagine that? EA giving us virtually the same NFL game and expecting us to buy it again. Well, get used to it-- EA now has a monopoly on all NFL games for the next 5 years, so expect to be given the same game year after year with a few minor tweaks. I would have given this game a 5 (average), but EA deserves a 0 because of Same game as the last version-- practically nothing new at all. Imagine that? EA giving us virtually the same NFL game and expecting us to buy it again. Well, get used to it-- EA now has a monopoly on all NFL games for the next 5 years, so expect to be given the same game year after year with a few minor tweaks. I would have given this game a 5 (average), but EA deserves a 0 because of their new exclusive deal with the NFL which is VERY BAD for sports video game consumers. In short, don't bother to buy this game if you don't want to support EA's monopoly, and definitely don't bother buying it if you have NFL Street 1. Expand
  9. TheAnti-EA
    Dec 22, 2004
    0
    Another sad attempt by EA to streal peoples money with a rehash of a game that wasn't very good to begin with. When will EA realize that they CAN NOT make a good game. I guess when the average gamer that doesn't keep up with things like the recent taking over of the video game market by EA find out about that and stop feeding EA their hard earned money. If EA only amde sports Another sad attempt by EA to streal peoples money with a rehash of a game that wasn't very good to begin with. When will EA realize that they CAN NOT make a good game. I guess when the average gamer that doesn't keep up with things like the recent taking over of the video game market by EA find out about that and stop feeding EA their hard earned money. If EA only amde sports games, we would all be better off in the video game world, but with crap like this, it makes me wonder if they could even make a good game on PS1 at this point. They sure can't seem to make a game on good hardware, so maybe they should stick with the PS2's inferior hardware from now on. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. One of the most magnificently surprising titles of recent years. You don't need to know the ins and outs of American Football to enjoy it, it's infinitely more accessible than others in the genre and it manages to keep the whole 'Urban-Extreme' aspect to a tolerable level.
  2. The one and only thing in the game that hasn't changed is the fun factor, which thankfully is still alive and well.
  3. The extra games EA added are attention-worthy treats speaking to the schoolyard athlete in everyone, no matter how uncoordinated or out of shape. [Feb 2005, p.95]