• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Sep 20, 2005
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 96
  2. Negative: 9 out of 96

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    Its surely on of the best action games out there with endless possibilities and combinations to be done. Its challenging, fast paced and rewarding. However even if action hack n slay games usually dont have a good story, ninja gaiden has a real bad one. Anyway a decent action game.
  2. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Good gameplay, graphics, a kick-ass character, challenging. A gamer's game, and the best title for the xbox.
  3. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    Damn good **** game. Fun, badass, epic, challenging. This is one of the best games of the past generation for sure, I just recently re-played and I got my ass handled to me good, but God damn once I got the hang of it again.

    There's not much that can be said, the game is not for the casuals, its awesomeness can only be truly seen by hardcore gamers.

    Solid 9 out of 10.
  4. Jan 18, 2015
    10
    This is easily my favourite game on any Xbox system. The level of difficulty is discouraging at first but the game keeps pulling you in with its amazing story and awesome game play. These addictive qualities drive you to get better and improve your skills until you eventually beat the game. Then you've got the hard and very hard difficulties left to overcome with all new and more difficultThis is easily my favourite game on any Xbox system. The level of difficulty is discouraging at first but the game keeps pulling you in with its amazing story and awesome game play. These addictive qualities drive you to get better and improve your skills until you eventually beat the game. Then you've got the hard and very hard difficulties left to overcome with all new and more difficult enemies to defeat. If you can stomach the gory action scenes it is definitely a must-play. Expand
  5. Tony
    Oct 5, 2005
    7
    A questionable and rather lacking update to the classic Ninja Gaiden. While adding very little, this game removes successive play, intercept, and nerfs a whole lot of tactics. You're basically paying for the same game, minus some of it's best features. The mission mode, although challenging, can't hold a candle to the story campaign. The best I could find in Black were a A questionable and rather lacking update to the classic Ninja Gaiden. While adding very little, this game removes successive play, intercept, and nerfs a whole lot of tactics. You're basically paying for the same game, minus some of it's best features. The mission mode, although challenging, can't hold a candle to the story campaign. The best I could find in Black were a few improved weapons, the Lunar and the Kitetsu. Expand
  6. AramisG.
    Nov 30, 2005
    9
    A totally awesome action. Not for whimps or casual gamers. Packs in about 30 hrs (that is 22 hrs more than the overly easy God of War). Unfortunately it suffers from slowdown and sports a "dull" look on the Xbox 360. Hopefully Tecmo will up-date their emulator.
  7. DavidS.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    How come 9 out of 10 people think this is such a great game????? How come nearly all gaming websites gave this game great ratings???? How come the bad reviews are all the same???? " It's too hard" i'll tell you why because NGB is a true gamers game not pokemon or mario bros thats why. Quit crying because you suck at this game and get some skill. NGB is my favorite game of all How come 9 out of 10 people think this is such a great game????? How come nearly all gaming websites gave this game great ratings???? How come the bad reviews are all the same???? " It's too hard" i'll tell you why because NGB is a true gamers game not pokemon or mario bros thats why. Quit crying because you suck at this game and get some skill. NGB is my favorite game of all time and is a true gamers game and NG2 will be the same. Expand
  8. GlennM.
    Nov 1, 2005
    0
    This game is completely pointless. If the only point of a game is the fact that it is challenging - who cares? I played for about an hour and a half over 3 sessions and I feel absolutely no desire whatsoever to play again (the 3rd session I forced myself to play just to give it one more chance). What a disapointment. Time for ebay. What a waste of time and money!
  9. TomA.
    Oct 10, 2005
    9
    Great game, especially if you have never played the original like me. At $30US it
  10. McFly
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Wonderfull game. Must see or in this case play to be belived. I agree with Jay and Tom wholeheartedly in its appeal stemming from its difficulty. Alex hits the nail on the head as well. Amatuer gamers beware.
  11. SmoothNinja
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    JJC giving it a 2 shows 1 you havent put forth the time to realize possibly contender for best action game of this generation if not all time. And 2 although everyone gets pwned at a game at some point or another as a beginner you gave up that easily and took the easy way out. 10 all the way one of the greatest games of our time. Team Ninja thumbs up cant wait for Ninja Gaiden 2.
  12. Meh
    Sep 22, 2005
    10
    Caliban u moron, if u've even bothered to actually PLAY the game, you would realize that Itagaki (the lead developer) deliberately included the new Ninja Dog difficulty to cater to those who found the original game too demanding in difficulty. I, personally, never found the original too hard to finish (I've beaten it on the hardest difficulty setting, so have thousands of otherCaliban u moron, if u've even bothered to actually PLAY the game, you would realize that Itagaki (the lead developer) deliberately included the new Ninja Dog difficulty to cater to those who found the original game too demanding in difficulty. I, personally, never found the original too hard to finish (I've beaten it on the hardest difficulty setting, so have thousands of other players), so there's proof right there that the game can be finished. Anyway, you shouldn't be judging a game solely on its difficulty level. Your entire "review", so to speak, didnt even touch on what truly matters in a game, the GAMEPLAY. All I read was incessant bitching about difficulty, which proves how much of an inept n00b you are. so plz, caliban do us all a favour and go back to playing solitaire or something else that's more suited to your "skills" (or lack thereof). Expand
  13. PaulP.
    Sep 27, 2005
    10
    Simply breathtaking. The graphics and gameplay have been tweaked to perfection. It is still hard although on normal mode the bosses I struggled on the original Gaiden only took 2 goes at most to get through, most I've beaten first go. When you get to the dead guys, break out your Lunar and prepare to be grinning ;o)
  14. JaredB.
    Sep 30, 2005
    10
    Best game i have ever played its hardcore baddass game.
  15. John
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    This is better than dvil may cry, gd of war and prinse of persia. This is the original stuff ryu hayabusa existed already in Nintendo consoles and now he will get his sweet revenge in Ninja Gaiden Black in Xbox, (and Ninja Gaiden 2 in Xbox 360.) With amazing graphics, surround dound madness, detailed environment and characters and brilliant story. The graphics is awesome and 100 times This is better than dvil may cry, gd of war and prinse of persia. This is the original stuff ryu hayabusa existed already in Nintendo consoles and now he will get his sweet revenge in Ninja Gaiden Black in Xbox, (and Ninja Gaiden 2 in Xbox 360.) With amazing graphics, surround dound madness, detailed environment and characters and brilliant story. The graphics is awesome and 100 times great than other adventure games, man i love the glorious graphic effects. With lightning speed gameplay you will wish you would that you want tobe the ninja in the game. So for those who havent played this, this is one of the most challenging, a rare treatfor video gamers. If you have Xbox buy it. If you dont have, buy or borrow an Xbox and buy the game. Ninja Gaiden black is a treasure. Expand
  16. MarkJ.
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    I. Caliban you are an idiot, people who like ninja gaiden are good at it and have beaten it on very hard and want more of a challenge so they added master ninja, if you suck at the game (like I did for a while) put black on ninja dog mode and this game is not just for challenge being a ninja is really fun, flying around doing flips you just feel cool. If you suck at the game get over it I. Caliban you are an idiot, people who like ninja gaiden are good at it and have beaten it on very hard and want more of a challenge so they added master ninja, if you suck at the game (like I did for a while) put black on ninja dog mode and this game is not just for challenge being a ninja is really fun, flying around doing flips you just feel cool. If you suck at the game get over it and stop complaining. Expand
  17. V.K.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Unbelievably smooth game play and great graphics.
  18. Alex
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    This game is freak'n sweet! The first one was kind of a challenge, but it's one is in a league of it's own, i think that if you hate this game then your an amatuer gamer!
  19. [Anonymous]
    Nov 8, 2005
    9
    First off this game is like no other i have played. The first boss fight took me 4 trys to beat its the first game where i was challenged 45m into it. NGB is graphicly astounding it looks better than most next-gen trailers the colision detection is not that great but it must be hard for tecmo to design a cape that sways in the wind but dosn't disapire into solid objects. NGB bar First off this game is like no other i have played. The first boss fight took me 4 trys to beat its the first game where i was challenged 45m into it. NGB is graphicly astounding it looks better than most next-gen trailers the colision detection is not that great but it must be hard for tecmo to design a cape that sways in the wind but dosn't disapire into solid objects. NGB bar none. I can't spel pleese escuse. Expand
  20. ZakS.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Well, I really don't know where to start! I mean, i only borrowed the first NG, but NGB is much better. The gameplay is awesome, the graphics detailed to every minute pixel, and the stroy is just awesome. The sounds, the gameplay, and the difficulty gives this game excellent replay value! For someone who likes martial arts, and some good storylines, this is a MUST!
  21. CargoM.
    Oct 6, 2005
    7
    It's not a bad game, just overrated. The popular praises of "..oh it's so pretty" and "..oh it's so difficult" do not merit perfect 10's. The gameplay is repetitive at best and the story is boring and predictable to say the least. Plus, what the hell's the deal the S&M costumes and why does Ryu look as though he's been taking steroids? I thought he was a It's not a bad game, just overrated. The popular praises of "..oh it's so pretty" and "..oh it's so difficult" do not merit perfect 10's. The gameplay is repetitive at best and the story is boring and predictable to say the least. Plus, what the hell's the deal the S&M costumes and why does Ryu look as though he's been taking steroids? I thought he was a ninja, not a linebacker for NY Giants. I really hope Tecmo hands this franchise over to another developer to return it to it's former frantic-paced, platform glory. Expand
  22. LuiggiR.
    Sep 22, 2005
    10
    Excellent game. although very hard, it's a very addicting and fun game. the weapons are still awsome. graphics are unbelieveble.The cinematics were outstanding. one of the best games ever.
  23. Gnarles
    Sep 22, 2005
    9
    "It's too hard now!" "It's too easy now!" "They're just trying to get more money!" Ahh, I can see the reader reviews now, and it almost turns my stomach. People, learn to judge a game on its MERITS - not on its difficulty or whether or not it's a "cash in". The fact of matter is, Ninja Gaiden Black is awesome. It was awesome last year, it's awesome this year, and "It's too hard now!" "It's too easy now!" "They're just trying to get more money!" Ahh, I can see the reader reviews now, and it almost turns my stomach. People, learn to judge a game on its MERITS - not on its difficulty or whether or not it's a "cash in". The fact of matter is, Ninja Gaiden Black is awesome. It was awesome last year, it's awesome this year, and probably no matter when it comes out, it will be awesome. The enhancements in this new version are subtle but welcome, making a great game even better. The mission mode is incredible - if you're committed enough to unlock it - while the main game remains its charmingly abrasive old self, with incredibly intense combat, ace controls, and a few surprises for the faithful. Stop complaining. Suck it up. Get the game. Be the ninja. Expand
  24. Bob
    Sep 22, 2005
    7
    Ninja Gaiden Black is a great purchase for gamers who missed out on the original Xbox version of Ninja Gaiden, which many critics hailed as an instant-classic and one of the greatest action games of all time. The game is popular for its aggressive enemy A.I. and unrelenting, fast-paced action sequences. Definitely not for the weak-hearted gamers out there.
  25. ZaheerS.
    Sep 22, 2005
    10
    Ninja Gaiden, already one of the best XBox games around, provides fodder for Tecmo to expand even further and come up with one of the best expansion/remakes of all time! The additional content is spectacular, and with the reasonable price its a must-have for people new to the game, and even most of the Ninja Gaiden veterans out there. (Plus there's an easier difficulty for all you Ninja Gaiden, already one of the best XBox games around, provides fodder for Tecmo to expand even further and come up with one of the best expansion/remakes of all time! The additional content is spectacular, and with the reasonable price its a must-have for people new to the game, and even most of the Ninja Gaiden veterans out there. (Plus there's an easier difficulty for all you quitters out there!) Expand
  26. Eric
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    Absolutely perfect. Any slight imperfections with the original, like the camera angles are fixed, in addition to a slew of additional mini-missions, weapons and outfits. Also, to those complaining of them making this version even more difficult than the original, there is now an easy setting to play in. So that shouldn't really be a complaint. Those who thought the first one was too Absolutely perfect. Any slight imperfections with the original, like the camera angles are fixed, in addition to a slew of additional mini-missions, weapons and outfits. Also, to those complaining of them making this version even more difficult than the original, there is now an easy setting to play in. So that shouldn't really be a complaint. Those who thought the first one was too hard gets an easier difficulty setting and those who beat the first one now can play it with more of a challenge. Expand
  27. D.Davis
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    Yes Caliban you are the only wimp that can't take the difficulty, that why Team Ninja made the easy Ninja Dog mode just for people like you, who whine with you panties around your ankles.
  28. TahreeBiggums
    Sep 23, 2005
    8
    A really solid outing. I never played the original, just heard good things, so I don't know how this one compares. This game isn't THAT difficult. I have it on the easiest setting (Ninja Dog) and its fine. Normal is pretty hard, but where's the challenge in walking through a game? Once I'm not a jackass at the game I'll bump it up to Normal, and hopefully to A really solid outing. I never played the original, just heard good things, so I don't know how this one compares. This game isn't THAT difficult. I have it on the easiest setting (Ninja Dog) and its fine. Normal is pretty hard, but where's the challenge in walking through a game? Once I'm not a jackass at the game I'll bump it up to Normal, and hopefully to harder difficulties once I get really good. Like Resident Evil 4 and the original Devil May Cry, its hard, but not unbeatable or to the point where I feel a part is impossible. My problems are with manipulating the camera (why does moving the right thumbstick left make the camera go right, or to first person mode half the time?), the sound really isn't so great and I'll never understand why Japanese people always have Ninjas running around on airships, fighting tanks and fighting in a world that's like 2097. Oh well, I guess its to make Ryu look like a total bad @$$ that he can waste tanks and stuff with Shrukiens. Don't get me wrong, it's a ton of fun, it's just not perfect (10/10). Great pick up, though, especially for $30. Expand
  29. BlueFalcon
    Sep 24, 2005
    8
    I tend to with caliban. making the game harder and having nearly all the extra content only accessible after beating it on hard (or so i have read), is somewhat cruel. it's good for hardcore fans, but not really for the majority of people. i bet most people out there would find the easy setting challenging. sometimes the puzzles in this game are painful; mostly in a tedious way, butI tend to with caliban. making the game harder and having nearly all the extra content only accessible after beating it on hard (or so i have read), is somewhat cruel. it's good for hardcore fans, but not really for the majority of people. i bet most people out there would find the easy setting challenging. sometimes the puzzles in this game are painful; mostly in a tedious way, but occasionally in a wtf do i do now way. of course the game does have awesome graphics and great combat. it's definately worth owning. Expand
  30. RedRose
    Sep 24, 2005
    7
    Fine, if you have set aside 80 hours to complete the game and don't mind going over the same bit over and over and over and over and over again because the game is so UNFORGIVING. Good graphics though ;)
  31. JJC
    Sep 25, 2005
    2
    Great graphic does not necessarily mean that it is a great game. The original game is already terribly difficult enough and this one is even worse. It is anything spetacular or difficult to make a "DIFFICULT" game??? Give me a break. I'd rather save my life and $$$.
  32. ElijahG.
    Jan 18, 2006
    9
    A fantastic game that is a must own for the x-box. Everything about the game is great. It's the ultimate action adventure game.
  33. Rick
    Feb 28, 2006
    10
    Rubbish game!! Well thats what I first thought. I couldnt play it. I thought this game is bloody crap Im trying to beat this dude (first boss) Im sure im doing all the right things and he keeps kicking my arse. So how wrong was I? I put it down for a good 8 or 9 months. Didnt even look at it again but my eyes kept stumbling over high score reviews of it...I was at a loss. I knew I wasnt Rubbish game!! Well thats what I first thought. I couldnt play it. I thought this game is bloody crap Im trying to beat this dude (first boss) Im sure im doing all the right things and he keeps kicking my arse. So how wrong was I? I put it down for a good 8 or 9 months. Didnt even look at it again but my eyes kept stumbling over high score reviews of it...I was at a loss. I knew I wasnt doing something right, maybe it was just a steep learning curve and that im sure with practice I could get it down. I beat the first boss but then got doubly stuck on the second boss. What was I doing wrong? My mistake was I was looking at this game from too much of a hack and slash button mash point of view. I didn't really think of roll dodging as a first move defence then offence takes precedence in this game. The dudes a ninja he's not a barbarian! Once I started to pick up the thread, what a joy to behold did I find. Easily one of the best games on the console. Up there with HalfLife2, San Andreas, Halo. I agree with angry Andreas this is a gamers game and was so glad I picked it up and put more effort into it. If anyone has read my post on Galleon this is the same type of game - steep learning curve but worthy once you put in the time. Infact the gameplay elements of Gaiden are top notch. You dont want lay down easy dead beat battles handed to you on a plate. You want tough, thought provoking challenges that keep you coming back for more. I tell my nephew off for walking away at the first sign of a game with challenge. I tell him thats what makes a game more than a game and its what you look for in a title. Must have game. Expand
  34. ShaneS.
    Jul 17, 2006
    9
    First off, the game's not that hard. There IS an easy mode. You just have to know the code to unlock it. This is one of those rare games where the game guide is a must have. The bosses work in much the same way as boxers from Punch Out. They all have a weakness to exploit. It's just that the weaknesses in the bosses of NGB are less obvious than those of Punch Out. Overall the First off, the game's not that hard. There IS an easy mode. You just have to know the code to unlock it. This is one of those rare games where the game guide is a must have. The bosses work in much the same way as boxers from Punch Out. They all have a weakness to exploit. It's just that the weaknesses in the bosses of NGB are less obvious than those of Punch Out. Overall the game is of superb quality. It's only downfall is that even the easy mode can be a bit tough for some. If you can beat RE4 on Professional, then you can beat this game on Easy Mode. Otherwise go run and hide back in your shelter of games that just roll over and die for you. Expand
  35. DanA.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    As far as Action games go, this is top dog next to God of War.
  36. DigV.
    Oct 31, 2007
    8
    Do not play Ninja Gaiden Black if you can't handle its difficulty.Quit whining. This game isn't for Sally and Suzy. Kozars like you can go play Ratchet and Clank with all the little tykes.I like the fact that the first two red ninjas can send Ryu back to hell on the most difficult first board I've ever played in the history of my 20 years of gaming. We need more Master Do not play Ninja Gaiden Black if you can't handle its difficulty.Quit whining. This game isn't for Sally and Suzy. Kozars like you can go play Ratchet and Clank with all the little tykes.I like the fact that the first two red ninjas can send Ryu back to hell on the most difficult first board I've ever played in the history of my 20 years of gaming. We need more Master Ninja difficulty settings in all our games. Expand
  37. LB
    May 7, 2007
    10
    Lets face it, games have been lowering the complexity bar for a while now. And thusly, there are way too many people who don't know how to beat a game with out a cheat, or need that camera just perfect, or whatever special circumstances they come up with. But what I love about ninja gaiden black is that is the most difficult game I have played. Ever. Its pretty, sure. Sound Design, Lets face it, games have been lowering the complexity bar for a while now. And thusly, there are way too many people who don't know how to beat a game with out a cheat, or need that camera just perfect, or whatever special circumstances they come up with. But what I love about ninja gaiden black is that is the most difficult game I have played. Ever. Its pretty, sure. Sound Design, great. But I call me crazy, I like a challenge. Cant see whats going on off screen, adapt and overcome or die. Its that simplicity that I enjoy and the game is a puzzle in itself. Combat is repetitive? How when there are so many ways to kill something? And if its too hard for you, well, go play halo. Thats something you could do with your eyes closed. In short, all developer of action games should look to Ninja Gaiden as a model. Dont coddle your customers, challenge them. Expand
  38. JaceN.
    Nov 11, 2005
    0
    Im not sure which is more pathetic...the army of losers snapping this up to "prove their metal" against its punishing difficulty or the additional army of losers trying to covince the world its not difficult at all and they finished it on super-ultra-mega-hard...so they must be gods then? Games are for entertainment...not a substitute for our societies complete lack of facilities and Im not sure which is more pathetic...the army of losers snapping this up to "prove their metal" against its punishing difficulty or the additional army of losers trying to covince the world its not difficult at all and they finished it on super-ultra-mega-hard...so they must be gods then? Games are for entertainment...not a substitute for our societies complete lack of facilities and situations for our young males to prove themselves. Expand
  39. Cyn
    Nov 11, 2005
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played on X-Box ....nothing bad about the game I can say or think of. I only found ONE glitch (dont use Nimpo when Doku throws his sword). Rent it first if your 'afraid' it might be to hard. Not for someone who gets frustrated easily. did anyone else notice that everyone who gave it a bad review essentially said it was too hard?
  40. Jay
    Oct 17, 2005
    9
    This game is brilliant. Everything is top notch from the visuals, sound, contols, story, etc. I take one point off because the camera can be a little troublesome at times but its not that bad. The rest of the game easily makes up for it. As you probably already know by now it is a hard game but thats what holds the appeal for so many. If you are willing to put the time in to practice and This game is brilliant. Everything is top notch from the visuals, sound, contols, story, etc. I take one point off because the camera can be a little troublesome at times but its not that bad. The rest of the game easily makes up for it. As you probably already know by now it is a hard game but thats what holds the appeal for so many. If you are willing to put the time in to practice and make yourself better the game becomes a flat out joy to play. Its the only game that made me want to play through it again the instant I beat it. And it has many difficulty levels to satisfy anyone. The included Ninja Dog mode makes the game very beatable for anyone with a attention span geater than a goldfish. It can be frustrating but keep at it. With the added content for this version and $30 price tag its a no brainer for anyone who likes well constructed video games. And when I say no brainer I mean you would have to be a moron not to pick it up or at least rent it. You know who you are. Expand
  41. MattJ.
    Oct 27, 2005
    8
    A lengthy game that looks, sounds and plays great. If it weren't for the fact you'll spend 3/4 of it wanting to claw your own eyes out in frustration I'd give it a 9.
  42. I.Caliban
    Sep 21, 2005
    6
    Am I the only one who thinks that making Ninja Gaiden more difficult is akin to forcing doctors to wear blindfolds and tapdance during brain surgery? Making an already difficult game even harder isn't my idea of a good time. Particularly as I couldn't even halfway through the game on the easiest setting of the original. Either that or to quote Sgt. Riggs, "I'm getting too Am I the only one who thinks that making Ninja Gaiden more difficult is akin to forcing doctors to wear blindfolds and tapdance during brain surgery? Making an already difficult game even harder isn't my idea of a good time. Particularly as I couldn't even halfway through the game on the easiest setting of the original. Either that or to quote Sgt. Riggs, "I'm getting too old for this sh@t." Collapse
  43. TheDavyJOnes
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    I. Caliban has lost his mind. He sent me an email saying that he was the Queen of France and this game was his favorite. Now look - he's gone and bashed it on Metacritic. You CRAVE those higher difficulty levels, Caliban. I saw a ninja once- stole my soup, he did. He even took the spoon. It was only a plastic one I stole from the cafeteria downtown, but mine nontheless. I almost had I. Caliban has lost his mind. He sent me an email saying that he was the Queen of France and this game was his favorite. Now look - he's gone and bashed it on Metacritic. You CRAVE those higher difficulty levels, Caliban. I saw a ninja once- stole my soup, he did. He even took the spoon. It was only a plastic one I stole from the cafeteria downtown, but mine nontheless. I almost had him, but then he flipped over a building. Expand
  44. DBone
    Sep 28, 2005
    5
    Pretty visuals and an overall impressive production do not make up for the fact that the camera placement in this game is atrocious. Half the time you simply cannot see who's slicing or throwing a fireball at you, making the already challenging gameplay that much harder ruining any of the fun I might have otherwise been having. Also, I'm surprised nobody ever mentioned that it Pretty visuals and an overall impressive production do not make up for the fact that the camera placement in this game is atrocious. Half the time you simply cannot see who's slicing or throwing a fireball at you, making the already challenging gameplay that much harder ruining any of the fun I might have otherwise been having. Also, I'm surprised nobody ever mentioned that it doesn't feel like you're in control at all when you start hacking away. You let up on the button pressing and it seems like the character has a mind of his own while he continues for a second or two afterwards. Expand
  45. BobaF.
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    The best part of this game is that even after you've mastered one difficulty, the next difficulty up will hand your ass to you on a silver platter. This is one of the few games since the golden era of 8 and 16 bit consoles where the developers expect you to die multiple times while trying to beat a boss. And because they're so hard, it makes it all the better when you finally The best part of this game is that even after you've mastered one difficulty, the next difficulty up will hand your ass to you on a silver platter. This is one of the few games since the golden era of 8 and 16 bit consoles where the developers expect you to die multiple times while trying to beat a boss. And because they're so hard, it makes it all the better when you finally master your technique and jump out of your chair after you take them down on the 5th try or so. Any difficulty above normal includes a bunch of new enemies from the hurricane packs for you to fight (they also join in on boss fights on these difficulties), and all the easy or exploitable bosses were redesigned to lay the smackdown on you this time around. Remember how easy the second version of Alma was? Yeah, not so much now. In my opinion, she's now the hardest boss in the game. Additionally, you get to fight a computer-controlled Ryu with all your moves (including ninpo), more health than you, and upgraded weapons. In short, if you haven't beat 90% of the other games you've played with minimal deaths and without really even feeling that challenged, Ninja Gaiden Black may not be the game for you. The odds could not be more stacked against you in this game. But the thing is, the best of the gaming community will find themselves equipped with more than enough weapons and moves to carve their way through the endless lines of enemies that can kill a slow and unskillful player in seconds flat. Possibly m favorite game ever. Expand
  46. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Great graphic, great fighting combo, great Ryu, skillfull opponent, satisfying lenght, Best game next 2 god of war... Best action game overall... The only reason I bought xbox is because of ninja gaiden.. Some people say d game is hard, I'l just say they suck.. Don't be a ninja dog.. U won't get the best of d game if u play ninja dog... Master Ninja..
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. The hard-as-nails Ninja Gaiden is back, with improved camera system, a new mission mode and bonus game. At a budget price, you'd be crazy not let own this gem.
  2. 70
    On the technical side of things, Ninja Gaiden Black has a problem that wasn't present in the original release. The game is prone to bouts of slowdown at impromptu moments and these aren't particularly hectic instances either.
  3. 100
    If it were simply the original Ninja Gaiden with just some mission modes tacked on, it would still be worth full price. But chiming in at around $30 with new missions, new difficulty settings, new cinemas and new costumes to unlock -- on top of the already-awesome, original game -- it's practically a steal. Uncompromising and unabridged, Ninja Gaiden Black shows you how reissues could and should be done.