• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Otogi 2: Immortal Warriors Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Otogi 2 takes place directly after the events chronicled in the original Otogi: Myth of Demons. Raikoh, the famed undead warrior from the original game, rises again to save Japan from an onslaught of demons. This time, he is joined by six other selfless warriors who have taken their ownOtogi 2 takes place directly after the events chronicled in the original Otogi: Myth of Demons. Raikoh, the famed undead warrior from the original game, rises again to save Japan from an onslaught of demons. This time, he is joined by six other selfless warriors who have taken their own lives to resurrect Raikoh. As you acquire more special items, you can increase each character's strengths and abilities. Fulfill your destiny in Story mode, or destroy everything in the new Havoc mode. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. A text book example of how to make the perfect follow up. Take everything that was popular in the first then power up the graphics, level up the characters and open up the shops so that they stock a larger range of items and spells. Bigger, better, and hell of a lot sweeter.
  2. One of the best hack and slash games of the year.
  3. Aesthetically, the first Otogi game was a real knockout, and Otogi 2 ups the ante considerably. In truth, there are few games on any platform that come close to this level of polish, and it's surprising the series isn't selling like hotcakes on the merit of its visuals alone.
  4. 80
    The plot doesn't make a lick of sense, but once you start knocking demons around the way Barry Bonds hits fastballs, trust us, you won't mind one bit.
  5. In keeping with the original, Otogi 2 is something of an empty vessel, but it's one of the most ornate and accomplished around, possibly the most excessively and obscenely beautiful videogame yet made. Games that are this electric and uniquely rewarding don't come along very often, whereas those with more complexity are commonplace. Take your pick. [Mar 2004, p.104]
  6. 7 / 8 / 8 / 7 - 30 silver [Vol 785]
  7. The video game equivalent of a bag of M&M's: candy coating on the outside, mindless hack'n slash on the inside, and not a lot in between. That was fine the first time, but we expect a little more nutrition out of our sequels.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Otogi 2 is probably the the game that transposed better the ancient japanese folklore/mythology on the screen of a videogame. Graphic andOtogi 2 is probably the the game that transposed better the ancient japanese folklore/mythology on the screen of a videogame. Graphic and musics are PERFECT. You know, when you heard taiko drums with that crescendo with all of those demons' screams and a really solemn gong or koto, you can feel a some kind of magic atmosphere...the stages are really wonderful, graphic is stunning...everything is sourrounded with a "fairytale" atmosphere. Awesome. The combat also is really elegant...seeing Raikoh and his companions spawn in the stage surrounded by a twist of cherry blossom petals is...magical, stunning. Collapse
  2. BrandonS.
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    Never rated a game before it game out so well, here it goes. This game with be awesome so buy it, and there you go.
  3. AaronZ.
    May 14, 2005
    9
    Wow..it's funny because I really didn't have a problem with the camera. Yes I agree, Ninja Gaiden will always be the game to Wow..it's funny because I really didn't have a problem with the camera. Yes I agree, Ninja Gaiden will always be the game to compare everything to, but this game is absolutely gorgeous. So much style. As well, if it's too "Japanese" Well...it IS based on Japanese mythology. I loved the monsters, controls, and game play. Like the Two Towers or Third Age you can replay a level or level a certain guy up. As well items and magic are transferable when applicable, so that was really nice. Lastly I like that similar to Ninja Gaiden, you have a plethora of combos at your disposal, only it's more fun because you have a cast of characters at your disposal. Mastering the techniques and combo moves of each charcater along with the challanging and strong story-drivin plot make this a must buy for me. Expand
  4. FerzK.
    Oct 25, 2004
    8
    This is a great game. The graphics are awesome. Obviously SEGA did a good job on this game. Otogi 2 is definitely better than the original. This is a great game. The graphics are awesome. Obviously SEGA did a good job on this game. Otogi 2 is definitely better than the original. You get to play 6 characters this time; all with unique abilities and moves. The camera angle is sometimes crappy though because there's no button to face forward quickly. The soundtracks are also cool and somewhat make the game more enjoyable. There are lots of opportunities to develop each character in this game. The side missions in the Forest of Havoc are great to try. I haven't finished the game though and this game will make you addicted. Expand
  5. Sam
    Oct 24, 2004
    7
    It looks gourgeous but the controls are frustrating and the plot is lacking, but the enjoyable moments make me convinced that there are high It looks gourgeous but the controls are frustrating and the plot is lacking, but the enjoyable moments make me convinced that there are high hopes for the franchise. Don't expect Shinobi like controls and gameplay and you should be fine with this realease, so a dissapoinment compared to the first, but a decent game overall and on my curent faves list (second place) so far. Expand
  6. JonathanZ.
    Feb 14, 2005
    6
    The way I felt about Otogi 2: Immortal Warriors was basically the same way I felt about Baten Kaitos. I got about an hour into it, enthralled The way I felt about Otogi 2: Immortal Warriors was basically the same way I felt about Baten Kaitos. I got about an hour into it, enthralled by the lush visuals and mysterious soundtrack. Then, I realized I was in for another twenty-four mind-numbing hours of pounding on my controller and hacking demons to bits. No thanks. Expand
  7. Bigmacwithfries
    Nov 7, 2004
    5
    Too "Japaneese" in my opinion. I mean, come on, demons who look like papermade silouetes floating in the air? give me a break! what is this, Too "Japaneese" in my opinion. I mean, come on, demons who look like papermade silouetes floating in the air? give me a break! what is this, the nightmare of a japaneese grandpa or something? It has nice particle effects when you destroy something but I wouldn't go as far as sayin´ "nice graphics". After watchin' ninja gaiden's graphics, and seing what an XBOX is capable of, everything below that level is plain mediocre crap. By the way, the camera is the worst ever! guaranteed headache after a half hour of playin'. Rent it first. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews