Phantom Crash Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the wake of massive air pollution and economic disaster in Tokyo, Japan has relocated its capital. Old Tokyo has become the battleground for a new breed of public entertainment called Rumbling. Observing from a massive airborne viewing station, spectators watch Scoobees battle to theIn the wake of massive air pollution and economic disaster in Tokyo, Japan has relocated its capital. Old Tokyo has become the battleground for a new breed of public entertainment called Rumbling. Observing from a massive airborne viewing station, spectators watch Scoobees battle to the death. More than just high-speed, heavily armed Mechs, Scoobees have an unprecendented stealth capability--turning invisible at will for brief periods of time. The stakes are high. The enemies are ruthless. The action is intense. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. One very addictive and most enjoyable game to play for both the battles and the huge number of possibilities for your mechs.
  2. Ruthlessly hunting down other mechs in Stealth mode becomes the favored approach in the heat of battle, and makes for amazingly fun, intense gameplay. [Winter 2002, p.96]
  3. It's a cool idea and it looks fantastic, but it's just not that much fun to play. [Jan 2003, p.112]
  4. Phantom Crash isn't a game you can simply pick up and play, but for mech fans and those gamers always up for a singular adventure and a time consuming (but fun) weirdness - this is definitely your ticket. [Nov 2002, p.144]
  5. Aggressive, forward thinking and fun, but repetition soon dulls those virtues.
  6. Hardcore item-management fetishists might find some joy here, there’s simply not enough balance or content for Phantom Crash to stand on its own, much less measure up to the competition (I’m looking at you, "Armored Core 3").

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. CormacA.
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    Oi D**Head! Akira... so what... it was good, not great Anime!! Do you know how many movies are out the about Neo Tokyo etc and stuff about Oi D**Head! Akira... so what... it was good, not great Anime!! Do you know how many movies are out the about Neo Tokyo etc and stuff about the first Tokyo being blown up! Neon Genesis: Evangelion for one! This game rocks, its so addictive! Expand
  2. NhojE.
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    I LOVE IT!!!!
  3. TroyJ.
    Apr 2, 2003
    10
    One Sweet Game ANd Defiently Should Get 100% Rating. Though Not Many Arenas It Is Awsome And The Graphics Are Beautiful.
  4. MichaelR.
    Feb 27, 2003
    9
    This game is surely awesome. But there is that one question.... WHY CAN'T WE BUILD A RANDOM SCOOBEE???!?!!!?!? It's not that i This game is surely awesome. But there is that one question.... WHY CAN'T WE BUILD A RANDOM SCOOBEE???!?!!!?!? It's not that i don't like the mechs we are given to chose but they can't be mix matched. And we need more levls with more items and space. That's my only problem. Expand
  5. AneeshG.
    Mar 10, 2003
    9
    It's great!!!! I rented it for a week, and am now obsessed. I only wish there were more arenas. ONLY FLAW! If your system allowed, it It's great!!!! I rented it for a week, and am now obsessed. I only wish there were more arenas. ONLY FLAW! If your system allowed, it would be a 9.5 Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2010
    6
    Not the best of all games, but I like the feeling that you are kind of on-a-journey and are contantly improving ven though it is not an RPG.Not the best of all games, but I like the feeling that you are kind of on-a-journey and are contantly improving ven though it is not an RPG. Probably one of the longest games for me to ever have finished which can be both a good and bad thing. The music was strange. There was no real story, but it was still quite a fun game. It wouldn't cost much to get this game off E-bay, but I suggest anyone who like trying different games just to have a look at this one Collapse
  7. Uter
    Oct 25, 2004
    3
    I expected to like this one, but it's actually horrific. Poor graphics... long boring unskipable dialog... bad gameplay. The reviews are I expected to like this one, but it's actually horrific. Poor graphics... long boring unskipable dialog... bad gameplay. The reviews are a little high maybe since it was before mechassault. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews