Pirates of the Caribbean Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ruthless Captain Barbossa rules the high seas with treasures beyond your wildest dreams. As rogue pirate Jack Sparrow, your mission is to collect enough wealth to lead an attack against the dark captain and his band of undead. Fight, cheat, and steal your way through 20 missions filled with hidden treasures. Among the weapons you'll have to fight your foes are cannons, artillery, and swords. If you have what it takes, you'll soon unravel the mystery of the treacherous skeleton crew. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Just that sort of game. It sucks you in and won't let go until suddenly you're late for work or the morning sun is peeking through the blinds and you realize you stayed up all night again.
  2. 80
    The weather effects are beautiful (the storm sequences are downright scary), and pulling off a successful ship capture is an exhilarating experience once you manage it.
  3. I wish Pirates of the Caribbean was easier to get in to than it is, but it's worth your time if you're willing to hang in there.
  4. There are a few bugs we encountered, including one that muddled our quest list. Put it this way: we spent a lot of time saving, loading, and cursing. [Sept 2003, p.85]
  5. 65
    A beautiful RPG marred by numerous bugs which render it nigh unplayable.
  6. Pirates controls very well in first person mode, but while in 3rd person that pesky camera gets on your last nerve.
  7. 20
    Who would want to buy this game? Only Sado-masochists who enjoy shoddy frame rates, huge loading times, unintuitive controls, poor menu design, bugged gameplay and boring storylines. It could have been good, that's what infuriates most of all.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. ReapersplitterX
    Sep 16, 2003
    10
    this game kicks ass better than star wras knights of the boring republic. xbox nation mag. ryan t. and jospeph P. suck.
  2. KarlK.
    Jul 7, 2003
    9
    A Great game, it has it's fair share of problems, but it's worth buying. 18+ hours to "rush" (well slowly jog) through the game. Once you get this game you will play it twice. Once to do as your told, folow the story and finsh it, and a secoend time to kill every person you see, atempt to kill main story characters, and capture every fort with you anf your fleet of three other battle ships. Pros: deep storyline, the water & sky, Ship to Ship dules, owning your own ship(s), doing what ever you want. Cons: Camara angle, a empty foot combat system, character has problems reacting with envirement, can hack at enemys through objects, the lack of new NPC skins, reused voices become repugent, and...THE NON STOP LOADING. But even with all the cons of the game, this game is still great and if at least, should be bought rented only be a paitent gamer. Expand
  3. JohnG.
    Jul 10, 2003
    9
    This game is no Morrowind, but it is very good. The company has a work around on their site regarding the performance issues. I have seen very few performance problems on my XBox since following their directions. I think the documentation that was provided with the game is ambiguous; especially with the sea mode, ports and ect. I am really enjoying this game. The graphics are lush and crisp. I never thought that I'd become an RPG fan, but Bathesda has made me one. If your patient and give the game a chance, I think that most people will really enjoy this adventure. I cannot comment as to it's length because I've been playing it only for a few days. I played Morrowind for over a year. If this game lasts me 6 months, I think I will have gotten a good deal for my money. Based on the reviews, I think that you will either really like this title, or really hate it. I really like it, and think that most people will if they give it a chance. Manage your expectations by trying not to compare it with Morrowind and judge the game on its own merrit as if Morrowind never existed. Expand
  4. ChrisR.
    Jul 7, 2003
    8
    The graphics are AWESOME and the command travel menu speeds up the boring parts. Great improvement to Sea Dogs.
  5. John
    Jul 15, 2003
    8
    I've posted this before. There is a known bug in the game with regard to performance. Bathesda's web site clearly explains how to fix this. Play through the tutorial in the beginning and save as soon as you are in the village of Oxford. I've done this and have had little problem. I've been enjoying this game. The only complaints that I have is that it is not as free from (go anywhere, anytime) as Morrowind and some of the grammor and spelling in the dialogs leaves a lot to be desired. Other than that its a fun game. Expand
  6. Keith
    Dec 2, 2003
    5
    Hard to grapple at first. Manual doesn't provide much help for battles or identification of symbols in menu's. Save game as often as you can (time consuming), because more than likely you will lose most battles at sea and on land for that matter. Won't be long before i get bored of this one (Lucky i didn't buy it!). I suppose thats one good thing to do always borrow or read reviews before you buy. My advice - Don't buy unless you like frustration and have lots of time. Expand
  7. RyanT.
    Jul 8, 2003
    0
    It sucks the battle modes suck, the ship battles suck, the land battles suck, it was an awful game and theres barily any plot to it. i wish i could have given it less than a 0 Expand

See all 19 User Reviews