Shadow Ops: Red Mercury Xbox

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Jun 15, 2004
  • Also On: PC
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SamJ.
    May 13, 2007
    6
    Good game, but damn guys, how bout some checkpoints?? im what some might call a hardcore fps fan (like all i play is shooters) easy is too easy, medium is challenging enough, but no save points! hard is insane! difficulty levels are not balanced! a good weekender, but dont buy it, there is never ANYONE online anyway.
  2. BobM.
    Feb 1, 2005
    8
    Shadow ops is a solid game. It is tough and very intense. The graphics are very nice and the levels are a blast. Everything is great in this game except one thing. The are no checkpoints. You have to restart the long levels every time you die.
  3. NuNRG
    Nov 18, 2004
    9
    Definitely an under appreciated FPS. The graphics may not set a standard for the genre, however, it does have its moments. The sound effects and music is among the best in an xbox game easily on the same level found in the recently released Halo 2. The aiming cursor feels very tight making it easy to aim in on targets. The control scheme setup rivals that of Halo's and in a few ways Definitely an under appreciated FPS. The graphics may not set a standard for the genre, however, it does have its moments. The sound effects and music is among the best in an xbox game easily on the same level found in the recently released Halo 2. The aiming cursor feels very tight making it easy to aim in on targets. The control scheme setup rivals that of Halo's and in a few ways actually improves upon it. The left-trigger is used to zoom in making it easier and feel more natural than pushing in the R3 (very nice) Weapons change is done via the d-pad with each weapon assigned to a direction press for four weapons carrying at once vice two from Halo (an improvement) You can lob or roll a grenade with the black/white buttons (another improvement) Xbox live and link play support (oh yeah) and a fairly decent story to carry you through the game making Red Mercury a very solid purchase. Expand
  4. GunnarH.
    Aug 10, 2004
    9
    I awaited this games arrival with much anticipation, and I did NOT get disappointed!!
  5. Shadow
    Jul 2, 2004
    7
    This game starts out very well with a real sense of war like in Full Spectrum Warrior. After the first few levels it becomes a Medol of Honor 1 clone as it has you running through factories and labs taking any sense of war away from it. It looks like the developers put everything into the first levels to get you hooked then they got lazy. As far as graphics and sound go, the sound is This game starts out very well with a real sense of war like in Full Spectrum Warrior. After the first few levels it becomes a Medol of Honor 1 clone as it has you running through factories and labs taking any sense of war away from it. It looks like the developers put everything into the first levels to get you hooked then they got lazy. As far as graphics and sound go, the sound is amazing at first then it kind of dumbs down as there is no real war after the first few levels. The graphics are better than some people are saying, at least during parts of the game. I would have to say they look like they are in between Ghost Recon's and R63's. A solid rental, but be warned, the only fun part of the game is the first few levels! Expand
  6. BunitGunit
    Jul 1, 2004
    4
    What can i say about this game but utterly disappointing.The games graphics are very out dated and the game is flawed up to every corner.The only reason for coming back is the xbox live and link system play.Avoid at all costs!
  7. FSWMaster
    Jun 29, 2004
    8
    This is a great single player game. Wouldn't know about multi or online since I like to play games by myself. The only thing is after the first couple of levels of Middle Eastern and Jungle environs, it really starts to feel like Medal of Honor on PS1. Also, it has a teen rating which means no blood at all. This was probably done because with it coming out in the summer, they know This is a great single player game. Wouldn't know about multi or online since I like to play games by myself. The only thing is after the first couple of levels of Middle Eastern and Jungle environs, it really starts to feel like Medal of Honor on PS1. Also, it has a teen rating which means no blood at all. This was probably done because with it coming out in the summer, they know they will make more money with all the kids out of school. I've never shot anyone but I would think that I would see blood if I did. So much for a game that strives for ultimate realism like a full blown movie as the developers would have you think. Expand
  8. GaryC.
    Jun 20, 2004
    5
    The single player mode is quite fun to play,although it should have had more save points,better ai and the graphics could have been better.the game plays very much like sof2 but is better.live players should avoid though as the multiplayer is terrible.
  9. JustinOpinion
    Jun 17, 2004
    1
    If you plan to buy this game for online play be warned - it is absolutely horrible. It lacks all the features you take for granted in good games like Rainbow Six 3, Castle Wolfenstein, CounterStrike and Soldier Of Fortune II. 1. When I view my friends list, all it shows is who is online not what they are playing. I have to click on each and every name to see what game they are playing. If you plan to buy this game for online play be warned - it is absolutely horrible. It lacks all the features you take for granted in good games like Rainbow Six 3, Castle Wolfenstein, CounterStrike and Soldier Of Fortune II. 1. When I view my friends list, all it shows is who is online not what they are playing. I have to click on each and every name to see what game they are playing. Try this when you have 20+ friends online and see how quickly this becomes annoying. 2. When you join a game you can't tell how many people are on each team. You have to join a team go to the players list to figure out if the teams are too uneven. 3. Its only 4 on 4 gameplay. Maybe I'm spoiled with 6 on 6 gameplay, but then it also lags - on servers I know can hold 12 in other games. Totally unacceptable. 4. Numerous times I have fired a full clip to zero rounds only to be unable to then reload my weapon. Swell. 5. Mininmum re-spawn points. Spawn killing that happened in Ghost Recon can make a comeback here in this game. 6. Everybody wears the same uniform. For instance if you choose be the close combat specialist you wear a SWAT type uniform and so does the gamer on the other team. The only way you can tell earch apart is when the retical on the weapon turns to red. So try stalking a gamer, finally catch up with them only to realize that you are on the same team. Really lame. 7. The game only comes with 12 or so maps. No big deal except they decided to split them up between the different game modes. So in VIP mode there are only 3 maps you can play. How fast is that going to get old? What kind of technical challenge is it for me to be able to decide which map I want to play using which game mode? If you we're looking for a summer game to play instead your other games that might be getting a little stale - THIS ISN'T IT. Justin Opinion. Expand
  10. AndyB.
    Jun 17, 2004
    4
    Great single player but LIVE play is horrible! This is one of those I wish I had rented before I bought. There are only four soldier types to select from (rifleman, heavygunner, close-quarters and sniper) and the weapons are preassigned for each type of soldier. You don't get to pick your kit at all. You don't even get to select rate of fire...it's also preset at burst for Great single player but LIVE play is horrible! This is one of those I wish I had rented before I bought. There are only four soldier types to select from (rifleman, heavygunner, close-quarters and sniper) and the weapons are preassigned for each type of soldier. You don't get to pick your kit at all. You don't even get to select rate of fire...it's also preset at burst for rifleman, full auto for heavy, single shot for close quarters and single for sniper. Very cartoony game play makes this feel to much like a modernday Wolfenstein only not as fun and maps that aren't nearly as good. If you see yourself as a LIVE gamer...don't waste your money on this one. Expand
  11. JONR
    Jun 10, 2004
    10
    This game has great EVERYTHING!

Awards & Rankings

#42 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
#50 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 45
  2. Negative: 11 out of 45
  1. An average shooter through and through. The gameplay is average and so are the graphics. There isn't anything new or exciting happening in this game, but mostly things we have seen done better in other titles.
  2. games(TM)
    50
    An average single-player game with competent but not brilliant multiplayer modes tacked onto the side. [Aug 2004, p.106]
  3. This wonky A.I., coupled with an online component that falls flat on its face, makes Mercury hard to recommend for shooter fans. Just like Hollywood, rote imitation works for a short time only.