Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. In a game already so dark and visually menacing, the Xbox gives the phrase "jumping at your own shadow" a whole new shade of meaning.
  2. 100
    With cinematic camera angles, a grime-infested aesthetic, and gruesomely glistening monsters, Silent Hill 2 improves on the original in every way.
  3. A level of detail never before seen...This is the gold standard for adventure horror. [Apr 2002, p.62]
  4. The people who will enjoy Restless Dreams the most are the ones who already own the game for PlayStation 2 (myself included). Gamers who never played SH2 before will not be able to appreciate all of the subtle differences, but they will be able to appreciate the graphics and the gameplay just as much as everyone else.
  5. It's probably the scariest game of the last ten years, giving a face to the nameless horror that haunts many of our dreams.
  6. Super-creepy antics frame a stellar storyline. [Jan 2002]
  7. This game WILL shock you, it WILL scare you, and it WILL make you sleep with the lights on... it will PROBABLY also make you buy a Playstation 2 so that you can continue the journey into madness with Silent Hill 3.
  8. As an entire production, it’s really quite brilliant, and couldn’t be more frightening. [Feb 2002, p.89]
  9. A terrifying, chilling, disturbing, and in every sense scary psychological horror game.
  10. 82
    There's no additional fun hidden in the Xbox SH2, but the overall gloom of the franchise has never been so vivid.
  11. The town has never looked better, sounded more frightening, or just plain scared the crap out of you like it does on the Xbox.
  12. Everything – even the most innocuous thing in SH2 is scary. Want to read a note on the wall? It’s written in scratchy, scary letters. Even the doors are scary looking. [Jan 2002, p.92]
  13. The game’s monsters are also brilliantly designed. Many of the game’s monsters are enough alone to make it a horror title.
  14. Edging out its PS2 brother with enhanced graphics and a new mini-scenario, SH2:RD is the definitive version of Konami’s foggy frightfest. [Jan 2002, p.230]
  15. As dark and disturbing as ever, but not worth getting if you've played it on PS2.
  16. It's not particularly gory, but it'll send chills down the most seasoned of horror fans' spines, especially if you play it as it should be played - at night and with the lights out.
  17. You get less than an hour of gameplay in the Maria subgame. Everything else is virtually identical to the PS2 version. [Jan 2002, p.35]
  18. The game's visuals have the distinct look of a PS2 game. Since that's not in and of itself a bad thing, the game looks good, but it's not the best-looking game on the Xbox. Looks aside, the Xbox-exclusive episode is the main attraction here.
  19. 77
    There are definite improvements in the Xbox version, however, and despite its faults, this is an involving and disturbing, if incredibly short-lived journey into horror...nowhere near as impressive as "Silent Hill."
  20. A masterpiece of suspense and of claustrophobic videogame terror. And we like being scared.
  21. The added scenario is fun but short, taking roughly one hour to complete. Yet the main scenario's graphics, storyline, bosses, and mysterious atmosphere are big plusses, and there are several times when you’ll find the hairs tingling on the back of your neck.
  22. 60
    The gameplay, however – solve logic puzzles and shoot/swing/stomp away, is pretty average.
  23. 59
    The lack of exploration (linear gameplay) and terrible sound effects really plagued the game. I also was not keen on the control and shady camera angles.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    The PS2 version was superior in graphics and performance. Silent Hill 2 is the second best game in the series, behind 3. It has a decentThe PS2 version was superior in graphics and performance. Silent Hill 2 is the second best game in the series, behind 3. It has a decent story, great atmosphere, and amazing soundtrack. A must play for survival horror fans, but I would recommend the PC version. Full Review »
  2. NicholasB.
    Mar 1, 2002
    10
    Great Graphics, great story, little disgusting but still great, though not as good as Halo.
  3. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    This was the first Silent Hill game I had access to, so I snatched up the opportunity. I'm so glad I did. I instantly fell in love with thisThis was the first Silent Hill game I had access to, so I snatched up the opportunity. I'm so glad I did. I instantly fell in love with this game and the franchise after this. The storyline is great and has quite a twist at the end, the monsters were disturbing and unsettling (especially Pyramid Head for some reason), and I just had a blast playing this game. The part that probably scared me the most? Running down the hall with Maria out of the hospital, and Pyramid Head emerges from around the corner. I threw my controller at the screen. I ended up killing Maria accidentally after that... oops. Great game, the atmosphere was even creepier than the first one. Still keeps me up at night sometimes... I feel like Pyramid Head lurks in my closet. Full Review »