Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sniper Elite sets you in the midst of the end of World War II. As an OSS-trained sniper you must disguise yourself as a German soldier and stop the Russians from stealing nuclear secrets from Berlin. Through 28 levels, you can use your stealth and sniping skills to take out sentries, machine gun nests, and guard posts. Sniper Elite incorporates elevation, wind speed, posture, background noise, and a host of other factors into the sniping experience. Sniper Elite also includes cooperative and competitive multiplayer modes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Quite simply, Sniper Elite is one of the finest World War II era shooters that I have ever played.
  2. I thoroughly enjoyed playing this game and although its nature won't appeal to the John Rambo type players, it will appeal to the players that love sniping.
  3. Sniper Elite makes headshots a grizzly reward that becomes addictive and, because the battle is always weighted against you, filled with air-punching satisfaction every time you make a connection. Bravo. [Nov 2005, p.96]
  4. 77
    If you're a big fan of tagging enemies with sniper bullets and watching your calculated handiwork culminate in a gore-filled, slow motion replay, then you'll definitely enjoy Sniper Elite.
  5. The realism may turn off some run and gun gamers, but even those fans will have a hard time not appreciating what Sniper Elite brings to the table in terms of great and entertaining game play.
  6. The less patient and more action-oriented gamers might not warm to it so much, but if you're the kind of gamer that enjoys the chance to get a good sniping spot on your favourite online shooter, then this really is one game you must play.
  7. Sniper Elite just doesn't have that much to offer your average gamer.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. JamesM.
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    Wow, what a challenging game!! The sound, weapons, and all around graphics were awesome. I just want to know if they will come out with a second one or at least a sniper game that is just or more challenging? Expand
  2. JorgeN.
    May 16, 2006
    10
    so far this is the best shooter game that i have played so far i have been hooked on it since i first bought it, and the online play is even better good job with this games and i hope to see part 2 of sniper elite. Expand
  3. GeorgeN.
    May 24, 2006
    10
    sound and stillness of the game is what i love about this particular video game the graphics on the game are better than average but the most aluring about this game is the pink mist that you see after a head shot is priceless every shot is what you live for in this game good work Rebelion with this ww2 master peice. Expand
  4. RichardS.
    Apr 16, 2006
    9
    Absolutely excellent game - compared to the tedious repetition of Call of Duty and Medal of Honour etc this is a breath of fresh air. I love FPS games, especially when I get a sniper rifle eg Halo, FarCry etc so this is manna from heaven. A really clever game - watching a bullet fly across a square from my hiding place to hit the enemy never gets boring. Every "kill" is a thrill (and no, I am not a psycho) - the strategy employed to outflank the enemy, the need to calculate variables to get an accurate shot and the timing to avoid being detected makes for such a satisfying experience. The gameplay is also very varied - you can use heavy machine guns and charge about if you like. The graphics are hardly xbox360 standard, but are fine - as for being muddy, that is part of the camo experience. The sound is excellent. Overall I agree with the top formal review - this is the best WW2 experience on a console. Expand
  5. RomanT.
    Jun 12, 2006
    9
    Sniper Elite is simply the best World War 2 game I've ever played, period. I am playing it right now with my roommate in a co-op mode and it's totally awesome. The whole post war atmosphere, the music, the graphics, the sound effects, and most importantly addicting gameplay are all there. I would strongly recommend anyone to check this game out; it's definitely a jewel of gamming. Sniping is just awesome: my personal best record is 305 yard head shot (I had to aim about 6 notches above the targets head just to hit him) Expand
  6. NickWelford
    Oct 8, 2005
    8
    A solid sniping game that is good fun and very rewarding if you are patient enough. Marks are lost for silly flaws like not being able to clamber over low debris and platforms, but this doesn't detract from the fun of the game. Taking out gas caps on trucks and tanks is most rewarding, or you could just lob some TNT under it then snipe that! Split Screen co-op just adds to the fun with the chance to play spotter and sniper. Awesome fun, reccomended for those who like a bit of build up play rather than al out shooting. Collapse
  7. Uwepoll
    Nov 6, 2005
    7
    Offline, it can be decent but very challenging. Online, it feels a little forced since most maps are so small that you don't even need a sniper rifle to take out the enemies. On that note, online turns into Halo with everyone just running around grenading and machine gunning each other. So what's the point of playing this sniper game if you either don't need to snipe or won't be able to since everyone plays it like Rambo? The fact that your binoculars zoom in further than your scope should tell you the maps are just to small for this type of concept. Another one to steer clear of. Expand