SSX 3 Xbox
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 100
    While other snowboarding games run out of steam mid-shred, the SSX series continues to gain momentum. [Dec 2003, p.44]
  2. It offers something for everyone and while it is harder, the game grows with the player.
  3. While many courses here are modeled from past runs, most are barely recognizable, at best. They're like the ugly kid from high school who turns out to be a model ten years later.
  4. 100
    It’s the kind of game that can be played indefinitely and a player’s performance will continually improve. The tasks ahead look daunting at first, but the depth of the game quickly becomes a player’s best friend as each new play session introduces new surprises.
  5. 100
    This third game in the snowboarding series features a complete overhaul, dropping the whole race-circuit idea and taking a more open-ended, Grand Theft Auto–like approach to snowboard competition.
  6. From the huge open mountain to the convincing radio station to the numerous events, this is one cool experience.
  7. One of the tightest games out there... there’s nothing that stands out as a negative, and everything else is a glaring positive. The abundance of ‘stuff to do’ keeps the gameplay fresh and makes 100% completion a task for the gods.
  8. It combines superb graphics with deep gameplay to bring gamers a great gaming experience. It’s not often that a game gets every aspect of the game right.
  9. The beauty of SSX is that I don't have to do the race events if I don't want to. In this game, you choose where you have your fun; and fun you shall have. [Nov 2003, p.158]
  10. 95
    Possibly the finest snowboarding game ever, SSX 3 offers an insane amount number of challenges, near-limitless replay value, and tight gameplay from start to finish.
  11. The visuals in this game are simply amazing. The levels and backgrounds look sharp and are filled with shades of blue. The sun demonstrates realistic reflectivity, it can shine in your eyes and even create shadows.
  12. 94
    The best snowboarding game I ever played. It's arcade-centric, trick heavy, and on the third peak, it's brutal, but in the end, nothing comes close to SSX 3.
  13. This game has exceeded my expectations far beyond my belief.
  14. If you enjoyed "SSX Tricky," you will love SSX 3--it's as simple as that. Even if you hated "Tricky," you still might dig this sequel.
  15. We had some minor issues with course design; there are simply too many "holes" in the geometry - places where your boarder can get stuck and has no reset... That said, you can learn 'em and avoid 'em. [Dec 2003, p.140]
  16. The snow effects are unrivaled, the framerate is consistently high and the colors are vibrant. Add to that great animations (particularly during tricks) and an intense sense of speed, and you wind up with one of those rare games that can be as much fun to watch as to play.
  17. It's a game that's just incredible fun, mixing in all sorts of gaming ideas with the thrill of the real sport, painting a final touch of extreme excess and color for scintillating effect. [Nov 2003, p.86]
  18. A smooth framerate, flawless camera, and spot-on control makes the experience nothing short of sublime, and the game a near-perfect mix of exacting artistry and technical wizardry - not unlike snowboarding itself. [Dec/Jan 2004, p.91]
  19. Whether it's speed or stunts, manic or mellow, big air or backcountry, SSX 3 does it all, and it does it all with style.
  20. It's just so massively detailed, so thoroughly improved and so gloriously playable that we have to recommend it. We haven't even touched on the multiplayer aspect, which we'll be doing in our PS2 Online review very soon, but to be honest it wouldn't have to be good - the rest of the game is enough on its own.
  21. The game's new, open-ended structure, excellent audio, enhanced trick system, and improved graphics combine to make this a superlative sequel to a series that's always had high standards.
  22. The difficulty curve is perfect. Can't win a particular race? No problem. Take a practice run to look for shortcuts or shell out some prize money to upgrade your character, and you'll be right back on the road to snowboarding superstardom.
  23. A worthy sequel that takes the series in a new direction of an open-ended structure while improving upon the sheer fun of the over-the-top trick-heavy gameplay.
  24. Embark on the ride of your life as you prepare to careen down SSX3's three peaks with your favorite characters, including four new riders. It's you versus the mountain in this extreme snowboarding challenge.
  25. If you've got "Tricky," you'll find more of the same without the clarity of the level design and structure - but if you're new to the series and just want some fast action, you'll probably love everything there is about it, so enjoy!
  26. Given the constraints of the sport, SSX 3 does a great job of keeping the game as open as possible. If nothing else, the SSX series represents something of a benchmark for snowboarding games, a trend that continues with this instalment. No one title of this generation can claim obvious superiority. [Dec 2003, p.102]
  27. There's no denying that Amped is a far more accurate depiction of snowboarding as a sport, but if it's fun you want you can't go far wrong with this.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    The nostalgia level is too high. I loved this game as a child and this review makes me want to play it again. One of the best sports games ofThe nostalgia level is too high. I loved this game as a child and this review makes me want to play it again. One of the best sports games of the XBOX generation. Full Review »
  2. TonyT.
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    An amazing and addictive game.
  3. ReneeC.
    Jun 11, 2006
    0
    Waayyyy too unrealistic to be worth any of your time. Sure the graphics are cool and the game is "smooth", but if you know a single thing Waayyyy too unrealistic to be worth any of your time. Sure the graphics are cool and the game is "smooth", but if you know a single thing about snowboarding (pro right here) you should be turned off right away. Full Review »