User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 8 out of 96

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisW.
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    This game is flawless. It is 100 times better than the first game. The graphics are great and the battle fields are awesome.This game is must if you like starwars at all!
  2. JamesR.
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    I have not yet played BF2 but from what i hear the gameplay kicks *** and sounds alot better than BF1 .The commesials made the game sound interesting to and watching them makes me want the game more and this is a lot comeing from a 12 year old kid.
  3. Joel
    Nov 9, 2005
    0
    More of the same which sometimes can be a good thing but not enough of the new to compensate for poor A.I. and boring campaign.
  4. ChadC.
    Nov 20, 2005
    0
    This is the worst game I have ever played. The space fighting is pretty fun. However, fighting as a character on land is horrible, herky-jerky, and just plain boring. Not to mention you will die 1000 times before completing some missions. You also cannot save any progress at your discretion and have to start nearly impossible levels over when you die. I wish I could go back in time and This is the worst game I have ever played. The space fighting is pretty fun. However, fighting as a character on land is horrible, herky-jerky, and just plain boring. Not to mention you will die 1000 times before completing some missions. You also cannot save any progress at your discretion and have to start nearly impossible levels over when you die. I wish I could go back in time and get my money back and buy any other game instead. A truly horrible and frustrating experience. Those that liek the game are just way too into the Star Wars thing and are blinded by its name. Collapse
  5. Daniel
    Nov 8, 2005
    4
    Very average game. Not in any way beter than the first installment of the series which was cool gung-ho action which encouraged tactics as well. Does the new game have better graphics? Yes. Better gameplay? No (better flying missions though). Repetitive? You bet. Stupid A.I. as well. Absolutely no point to the game as you feel the missions are very dull and the storytelling so stupid Very average game. Not in any way beter than the first installment of the series which was cool gung-ho action which encouraged tactics as well. Does the new game have better graphics? Yes. Better gameplay? No (better flying missions though). Repetitive? You bet. Stupid A.I. as well. Absolutely no point to the game as you feel the missions are very dull and the storytelling so stupid (Remember the 59 variations of: "We arrived to the planet....first we thought it would be easy but in the end we had to fight our way through" yada yada) . In the mold of other sequels like PGR2, Halo2 and so forth - "bigger, prettier, duller". Expand
  6. ChrisE.
    Dec 15, 2005
    4
    Compared to the first one, this game seemed like a step down. The space battles were fun and interesting (they're the only thing keeping me from rating this lower). The gameplay doesn't seem to flow like the first one and the "improvements" are horrible. I'm ashamed at myself for buying this one.
  7. JaceN>
    Nov 11, 2005
    2
    Theres nothing quite like gunning down entire platoons of clones, droids, imperial troops and rebels on one side of the map...while the pathetic AI squanders all of your reinforcements on the other side. A game in which your actions dont matter, and where the balance between victory and defeat is more luck than skill.
  8. RobertT.
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Great get this game. its like halo2
  9. BlueFalcon
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    I have to disagree w/ a lot of the people saying it's not improved from the previous game. BF2 has 4 player split screen. That alone is a major addition in my mind. The flight missions are completely unique compared to the previous game. There's a lot of new playable characters too, including jedi and sith. All in all this is one of the best games on xbox, and I'm not even I have to disagree w/ a lot of the people saying it's not improved from the previous game. BF2 has 4 player split screen. That alone is a major addition in my mind. The flight missions are completely unique compared to the previous game. There's a lot of new playable characters too, including jedi and sith. All in all this is one of the best games on xbox, and I'm not even a huge star wars fan. Expand
  10. Lucas38
    Nov 9, 2005
    8
    Ultimately, Battlefront 2 is a better game with the addition of Jedi playability, space battles, and some pretty decent maps. My kids and I play all the time, which leads to a heated debate about the overall quality of BF2! On one hand BF2 is a great shooter with plenty of replay value, on the other hand, the graphics are NOT even close to Battlefront I! "Are you nuts?" you ask. Well Ultimately, Battlefront 2 is a better game with the addition of Jedi playability, space battles, and some pretty decent maps. My kids and I play all the time, which leads to a heated debate about the overall quality of BF2! On one hand BF2 is a great shooter with plenty of replay value, on the other hand, the graphics are NOT even close to Battlefront I! "Are you nuts?" you ask. Well simply compare Mos Eisley in BF1 to BF2, and you see there is no comparison! Mos Eisley in BF1 ACTUALLY looks hot and sunny, whereas BF2 looks flat and dull (looks more like "Jedi Academy"), same goes for the Naboo Theed map which look impressive in BF1 and boring in BF2, and Endor in BF1 has excellent lighting effects, seriously! Look at the way the light cuts through the trees and the atmosphere actually looks hazy like in a wooded area! The maps in BF1 are lush and painterly while BF2 maps are flat! For me, this element adds to the game play. Expand
  11. Battlefront2iscool
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    The greatest Star Wars--or sci-fi war game- in all of time. This game BLOWS Battlefront 1 out of the water. Wether you're sabotaging capital ships, planting time bombs, or blowing stuff you'll have a blast with the new classes and the new battlefields. If you don't want this game, you are the lowest form of human being. May the Force be With you :)!
  12. TomP.
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    More fun than the first one!
  13. Mudie
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    This is the greatest game ever. But i wish they still had Cloud City. and Darth Maul is a beast!!!!
  14. MarcoN.
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    It is the best Star Wars game ever!!!
  15. Style
    Dec 7, 2005
    3
    I was so jacked for this game. Glad I rented it before I bought it. The graphics seem so flat as compared to the first one. The AI is absolutely retarded. This is the most disappointing part. I remember the first game felt like I was in combat, breaking through lines of droids, helping out fellow clones then dying as we charged the turrents. Now I can walk with the flag across the field, I was so jacked for this game. Glad I rented it before I bought it. The graphics seem so flat as compared to the first one. The AI is absolutely retarded. This is the most disappointing part. I remember the first game felt like I was in combat, breaking through lines of droids, helping out fellow clones then dying as we charged the turrents. Now I can walk with the flag across the field, stop for coffee, and empty the waste recepticle before any AI knows I'm gone. Completely disappointing, so much that I'm not buying it. Such a bummer. Expand
  16. Ben
    Oct 31, 2005
    8
    Wow!! Take a good game, make it better and you've got Battlefront 2. If you liked the first one you are going to love this, if you didn't then get a life.
  17. NeilR.
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    I managed to get this 2 days early (thanks to the local supermarket not having a clue about release dates!), and ive been playing it solidly since. Its a fantastic game, like the original. All the basic elements are there, but now with so much more. The space combat, although short, adds a new twist. The new enviroments are a lot of fun, and the classics are still there. Graphically its a I managed to get this 2 days early (thanks to the local supermarket not having a clue about release dates!), and ive been playing it solidly since. Its a fantastic game, like the original. All the basic elements are there, but now with so much more. The space combat, although short, adds a new twist. The new enviroments are a lot of fun, and the classics are still there. Graphically its a lot better, also now there is more of a stratergy element as you have to earn points to buy classes of player (the bothan spy is a lot of fun, watch how the enemy disintergrate!) If you like the orignal, you must own this. Expand
  18. PaulB.
    Nov 12, 2005
    9
    Awesome gameplay although they edtited in to many objectives instead of the old fashioned first to 0 loses.
  19. NoahP.
    Nov 15, 2005
    8
    BF2 is a great game. It really delivers. BF1 only had up to 2-player split-screen mode, but BF2's 4-player split-screen is as good as the campaign. Also, the space battles are great. You gotta get the hang of 'em first to have a really good time, but it's SO satisfying to blow an enemy fighter outa' the sky. Finally, the jedi game play is GREAT. All in all, BF2 is a BF2 is a great game. It really delivers. BF1 only had up to 2-player split-screen mode, but BF2's 4-player split-screen is as good as the campaign. Also, the space battles are great. You gotta get the hang of 'em first to have a really good time, but it's SO satisfying to blow an enemy fighter outa' the sky. Finally, the jedi game play is GREAT. All in all, BF2 is a pretty good game. And I'm not really big on Star Wars. Expand
  20. Eric
    Nov 16, 2005
    8
    I thought it wasn't bad but it wasn't as good as the first one, I also didn't like that you had to start out with one type of person.
  21. SeamusS.
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    Great game, but a few drawlbacks, like not being able to play CIS or Reabls in campain mode. But other wise a compleatly awsome game.
  22. Matt
    Jan 25, 2006
    9
    Online play is where the game shines. The solo player mode is simply training. Those without XBOX live should stick to BF1... for those with...this game is simply too fun.
  23. ApplesM
    Mar 24, 2009
    9
    This game made me go searching for it after buying a 360 (3 years after the system's release). Not perfect (occasional glitch, inconsistent AI, blah, blah, blah. Those things don't mar the overall experience. Added dialogue between soldiers makes it feel more like a battlefield. People who played online would agree that vehicles are overpowered (I once scored 121 kills with the This game made me go searching for it after buying a 360 (3 years after the system's release). Not perfect (occasional glitch, inconsistent AI, blah, blah, blah. Those things don't mar the overall experience. Added dialogue between soldiers makes it feel more like a battlefield. People who played online would agree that vehicles are overpowered (I once scored 121 kills with the rebel skiff on an online match). For those who complain that it lost it's battlefield feel, I don't get it. Even the heroes make thinks feel more immediate. There's nothing like 5 human players trying to gun down darth vader. Also, they released DLC maps both rhen vars, cloud city, and one more. In an age where shooters all fit into a similar mold of shiny graphics and ultra-realistic physics, this game is good unadulterated fun. Also, the graphics aren't "worse than the original". The original used excessive bloom and fade effects, covering up the unsightly graphical blemishes and making it difficult to snipe. I hope BF3 (now confirmed) brings back the naboo plains though. Expand
  24. BenjaminK.
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    As much fun or more than Halo itself.If you like Star Wars you better own this game.
  25. JimboH.
    Nov 15, 2005
    7
    pros: more objectives/game types, space battles (been a while since we've seen a good dog fighting game), more maps, more depth to singleplayer, can play 4 players on same box now. Game is fun when it works... neutral: ground gameplay is basically same minus flying vechles. Conquest on ground (heros vs. villians) was nothing short of a boring waste of time for me. Lasers now vary in pros: more objectives/game types, space battles (been a while since we've seen a good dog fighting game), more maps, more depth to singleplayer, can play 4 players on same box now. Game is fun when it works... neutral: ground gameplay is basically same minus flying vechles. Conquest on ground (heros vs. villians) was nothing short of a boring waste of time for me. Lasers now vary in speed, and are in general faster moving than the first game cons: the AI in the space battles are rediculiously bad. On the "elite" difficulty setting, only two AI will come up with a positive score. While playing 1 flag CTF against the computer I did an experiement and got the flag, then turned straight at where the flag had to be dropped off, then made my ship fly the slowest it could without ever steering it. I capped the flag while only getting shot maybe 3 times (with 16 AI on each team... and when you have the flag you stick out). Thats how poor the AI is. Playing without a human on the other team is basically playing with yourself. The AI acts simply as targets in space battles. Extremely disappointing. The only way you'll ever die is from auto-turrets or from human playeres. Likewise, AI is equally uncompetitive in conquest (the mode for the map). What this pretty much means is you need to use Xbox Live to get anything out of space battles (or get 3 other friends for a 2v2), and honestly I haven't tried Xbox live on this game, but if its like the first it'll be a mindless lag match where only autoaim will make anyone hittable. Expand
  26. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Why havent they made a battlefront 3??? wow they are so stupid but anyways this game was so amazing and you can be jedis and stuff and there was more to it than the first one
  27. Jul 4, 2014
    9
    i enjoyed playing Star Wars: Battlefront II for Xbox.it very fun play and relax on a star wars game shooting
    one thing i enjoy was playing with lightsabers in it as well
  28. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Man, this is a really fun game to play. It has that old feeling to it, plus a great gameplay. This is a game that need's to be more enhanced. Play it, and you'll have blasts of fun.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Great fun but far from perfect, mainly due to a handful of little niggles.
  2. A fun romp that stays interesting no matter how you play it. It has its share of flaws, but for fans, this is the first Star Wars game to have it all.
  3. Take away the costumes and the lasers and you've still got an excellent example of how to produce multiplayer bedlam. [Dec 2005, p.110]