Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic Xbox

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 72 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Long before the Galactic Civil War, an epic drama begins. Engage in this saga set in the Golden Age of the Republic--over 4,000 years before the first Star Wars film, when both Jedi and Sith number in the thousands. With the Galaxy reeling from a recent conflict with the Dark Lords, theLong before the Galactic Civil War, an epic drama begins. Engage in this saga set in the Golden Age of the Republic--over 4,000 years before the first Star Wars film, when both Jedi and Sith number in the thousands. With the Galaxy reeling from a recent conflict with the Dark Lords, the ongoing battle between the Jedi and the Sith rages on. It's up to guide your customizable and evolving characters through ten different worlds, fast-paced minigames, and locations including a Sith world, the Wookie homeworld, and the Jedi Academy. Your actions determine the outcome of this colossal galactic war--and your destiny as a Jedi. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 72
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 72
  3. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. GMR Magazine
    100
    The battle system rocks. Not quite real-time, not quite turn-based, but somewhere in-between, KOTOR's battle engine offers tremendous depth while being intimately adjustable. [Sept 2003, p.78]
  2. The massive environments are a joy to explore, and the fact that combat and exploration take place on the same screen prevents even the most frequent of encounters from becoming a burden.
  3. My favorite character personality is an assassin droid who, in calm tones, always asks you if he can shoot the person you're talking to. Or the person around them. He just wants to kill something.
  4. There's the usual John Williamsesque score, but what makes Knights Of The Old Republic stands out is the sheer quality and quantity of spoken dialogue.
  5. At last, a true RPG found a home in the rich Star Wars universe. Its amazing depth makes today's Star Wars movies look like a sitcom.
  6. There were too many times in the game where there wasn't a whole lot of fun. And personally the combat system could have allowed you to have more control of the character without having to give up the RPG elements.
  7. Play Magazine
    75
    The game shows high points of inspiration and technical achievement, but there is a pallor of inelegance and flat artistry that too often leaves the work in the hands of the gameplay. [Sept 2003, p.76]

See all 72 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 163
  1. MattewM.
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    Good job boiware... very impressive gameplay and graphics. Overall best game of the year so far!
  2. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Outstanding RPG!! This game defines perfection as an rpg. The gameplay is a fun strategic way to wield lightsabers and unleash the force onOutstanding RPG!! This game defines perfection as an rpg. The gameplay is a fun strategic way to wield lightsabers and unleash the force on your enemy's. The customization is near flawless, and the Story is the best part about the game. I recommend this game for any fan who truly appreciates RPG's you will not regret this experience Expand
  3. Pretender
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    This is the best game out there.
  4. AaronC.
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Simply the best video game I have ever played, and one of only a few that I have ever played through to the end. The story was engrossing, Simply the best video game I have ever played, and one of only a few that I have ever played through to the end. The story was engrossing, the characters and voice acting were incredible, the lightsaber effects were dazzling. Also, a great value for the money - at $14 for 70 hours of very enjoyable play, the experience comes out to 10 cents per hour - vs. $5 per hour for a movie, or $1 per minute for a musical. This game prooves that voice acting, story design and good game mechanics can all appear in the same package. I will certainly replay this one again. From the reviews I have read, KOTOR II has a lame ending and many bugs, so I have to hope that a KOTOR III is in the works and that it will live up to this game. Expand
  5. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    While I never really owned many Xbox games, the ones I did own were absolutely amazing. I am not sure which one would be my fave but this oneWhile I never really owned many Xbox games, the ones I did own were absolutely amazing. I am not sure which one would be my fave but this one is among the top 2 with Elder Scrolls III. Expand
  6. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is a fantastic RPG. Star Wars is one of my most favourite franchises ever so being an RPG lover and aStar Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is a fantastic RPG. Star Wars is one of my most favourite franchises ever so being an RPG lover and a Star Wars lover, I had to play this game. The story is pretty great with you being light side or dark side and your path chooses the outcome of the endgame. The story has you traveling to different planets with their own unique atmosphere, people, and creatures so there's lots to explore and it gets to be quite adventurous. The quests are good and exciting, the characters are great that have very good dialogue and the AI is pretty good too. The leveling system is decent with you having to choose different powers ranging from "Force Push" to "Saber Throw" to "Force Lightning", there are a lot of options. My favourite RPGs are the ones where there pretty much nonlinear but this game is a lot more linear. I feel like that you just roll along to each planet one by one and when you're done with the main quest and side quests there's nothing else to do. I want to be able to keep revisiting places that have activities or something going on all the time. One little tiny complaint I have is that the robes you find throughout the galaxies don't really look like robes. If I want to play like a jedi, I want to look like a jedi. Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is an amazing RPG that will please anyone, and it's a must play. Expand
  7. DavidS.
    Jul 15, 2003
    1
    This game blew big time mostly because of the big hype that is leading up to its release and the lack of gameplay that the actual game delivers.

See all 163 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
#1 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2003