• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Nov 19, 2002
Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 14 out of 19
  1. Superman’s problems, however, lie in the game’s control and play mechanics. The action is tedious, the moves are sluggish, and the enemies are annoying.
  2. To be blunt, the guy who supplies the voice of Superman and Clark Kent was simply awful. In fact, when he said his first line, I actually laughed so hard I could not stop.
  3. Flying just never feels natural or precise, and considering how much of it Superman does, this is not a small failing.
  4. It's not as mind-blowingly awful as the old N64 "Superman" stinker, but it is outclassed by nearly every other comic-book game out there. [Feb 2003, p.154]
  5. Superman's flying speed is disappointingly slower than a speeding bullet. When it comes to thrills, this title is strictly smallville. [29 Nov 2002, p.114]
  6. 40
    It's just a shame that more care wasn't taken to make his life seem less repetitive and more diverse.
  7. You should avoid this game like you would skinny-dipping with your grandparents. [Jan 2003, p.110]
  8. Poor control, graphics, level and mission design. These are flaws, and major ones at that. Where the game really fails, though, is that not for one second while I was playing it did I ever feel like I was controlling Superman. Is there anything worse that you can say about a Superman game?
  9. 40
    No matter how many bonuses are unlocked or how many special guests show up, the core gameplay of Superman: The Man of Steel is boring.
  10. Steel isn't a game for everyone, and the repetitive mission structure will more than likely deter all but the Superman faithful.
  11. 47
    Superman can be more difficult to control than a pop diva who's just won a Grammy.
  12. You do get to take on all of the classic villains in Metropolis—Braniac 13 and Lex Luthor, among others—but not before fighting through a number of mind-numbing missions with unrecognizable characters.
  13. 34
    Gorgeous cities and interesting villains aside, it is the developer’s fundamental inability to provide interesting challenges for Superman that make this title a flop.
  14. The gameplay, however, suffers from severe redundancy. [Jan 2003, p.83]
  15. Every task is spelled out. Superman's world is flat and lifeless, and the arthritic man of steel does indeed move as if he were indeed made of the substance. [Jan 2003, p.80]
  16. A dreadfully wasted opportunity - especially when it looks so good.
  17. Where the game fails, and fails miserably, is with its choice of enemies and challenges. [Feb/Mar 2003, p.86]
  18. The ridiculous frustration in the early levels will deplete most gamers' patience.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. Oct 21, 2013
    2
    Superman is tedeous game The repeat tics missions will bore you out The game was developed poorly and it looked like developers didn't try This game isn't for everyone The controls are confusing and annoying Full Review »
  2. BillR.
    Mar 29, 2004
    0
    The controls are confusing at the begining and the whole thing is too repetitive.
  3. MichaelL.
    Jul 8, 2003
    6
    The game isn't for everyone, and I agree that the missions are boring and repetitive. If I was not a die hard Superman fan (and if the price didn't drop down to $20) I never would have purchased the game. Full Review »