• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 19, 2004
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 9 out of 20
  1. Even though the action is stiff, the animation poor and the controls occasionally not as responsive as I'd like, I'm able to overlook it simply because there aren't too many four-player co-op action games out there, let alone ones with platforming elements generously incorporated into the mix - but I'd never play it solo. [Oct 2004, p.77]
  2. The inclusion of a four-player mode is the only improvement over last years turtle offerings. If there had been more time spent tweaking the turtles fighting moves, working on the wacky controls, and focusing more on fun, this could have been an enjoyable experience.
  3. It's all good until you actually have to start using your martial arts skills. Then it's a lesson in frustration.
  4. 60
    Improves on its predecessor by including a list of groovy extras and providing each turtle with unique abilities. Battle Nexus also lets you play four-player co-op. Sadly, the shoddy controls, frustrating platform puzzles and sub par enemy AI keep Battle Nexus from succeeding.
  5. There are even a few lame vehicular bonus stages thrown in for good measure, but none of the various stage types offer anything close to depth or originality. [Nov 2004, p.145]
  6. 51
    Poor animations, poor audio, poor music, repetitive voices, bad camera angle and sluggish controls as well as overly simple objectives really ruin this game.
  7. Really, when all is said and done, if there was a way to just play the arcade version of TMNT without having to play through most of Battle Nexus first, then at least it would be worth it in a bargain bin.
  8. The sense of freedom and discovery is lacking regarding the application of unique abilities.
  9. This is a terrible, terrible game. It's hard to believe that Konami could push something out like this.
  10. Most of Battle Nexus is the same thing as the last game, except this time, it's been beaten, bruised, and bludgeoned with a rabid sturgeon repeatedly, then given a thorough colonoscopy with said sturgeon.
  11. Battle Nexus is more than just a step backward for this series--it's a step backward into a large chasm.
  12. Combat is sluggish and mediocre...Merely a shell of the quartet's former glory. [Holiday 2004, p.68]
  13. Game play, while trying to recapture the essence of the old school arcade game, is excruciating, dull, and repetitive.
  14. 40
    Plain attacks with repetitive animations undermine any hope for the finesse that four unique characters could have afforded.
  15. 40
    For most gamers the only enjoyment you'll get out of the game will be mocking it with your friends.
  16. If you like creaky retro revivals, bad Korean animation and ways to sell toys to children then, you guessed it, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2 is the game for you. Let's see them quote that one on the box.
  17. Game design - in any sense of the phrase - is essentially nonexistent here. Each of the turtles has different attributes - but they're hardly compelling. [Nov 2004, p.91]
  18. It's the general gameplay that's busted. Picking up an object is needlessly complex, tricky jumps seem to require more luck than skill, the camera is craptacular, boss battles are tedious, the vehicle-based levels are a joke, and the actual fighting action is bland. [Dec 2004, p.150]
  19. 30
    Avoid it like the plague, and hope that if we're all in for a trilogy, the next episode sees the heroes-in-a-half-shell pursuing an adventure that's not nearly as half-baked.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 3 out of 4
  1. BlueFalcon
    Feb 7, 2005
    3
    Yes, this is as bad as the reviews indicate. I really thought they'd fix the problems of the original, but somehow there's more. On the plus side, there's cool cartoon clips in between the action. Great that the added 4 player support. Also I hear the Turtles arcade game is unlocked when you finish the game. That game was great, but I will never make it through to the end of the main game just on principle. So I won't get the cool bonus. Full Review »
  2. AndyG.
    Jan 10, 2005
    1
    Probably the worst game I have played in a long time. It has the elements of those electronic hand held games from the early 90s and the graphics to boot. Nothing other than extremly disappointed. Full Review »
  3. J.R.
    Jan 1, 2005
    0
    This is the worst game ever!!! Doing all the moves are very hard. And worst of all the graphics SUCK!!! I dont see why anyone would want to buy this game. It SUCKS!!! Full Review »