Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. The level of customization is simply astounding. In addition to the typical options like face, hair color, eye color and facial hair, players can change the structure of their cheek, chin and jaws. And not just the appearance, but the width, height and length too. [Oct 2003, p.84]
  2. 95
    Challenging. Addictive. Innovative. Accessible. Deep. Polished...after 30 hours, I'm still completely hooked. The customization options are a complete success, and I'm sure I won't put Tiger 2004 down until I've collected every trophy, medal, and item in the game.
  3. What is astounding is the replay value and depth added to the off the course shenanigans... Just like in real life, the coming of Tiger has changed the sport forever. [Oct 2003, p.139]
  4. Forget about the fact that you can design a golfer in your very own image--even down to the gap in your teeth or the size of your head. It’s all about the golf and PGA Tour 2004 does it right once again.
  5. EA's improved everything in this game, from graphics to putting to new arcade modes that help pass the time. There's just no better golf game out there. [Oct 2003, p.136]
  6. This game has a metric ton of playtime in it and it is a heck of a lot of fun to play.
  7. More than anything, Tiger Woods is an addictive game. The immense single-player experience will have you staring at the set for hours, just trying to win more money, unlock more gear and establish yourself as a legend.
  8. 90
    One of the best multiplayer titles around. Hundreds of unlockables in the Pro Shop, 30 scenarios, and real-time calendar events that always surprise.
  9. It's supposed to be fun and with this it has no problem, and no equal. If the first game was ‘hole in one’ perfect then Tiger Woods 2004 doesn’t even need to take a swing – it's cool enough already.
  10. The beauty of Tiger is its simplicity and depth at the same time. [Nov 2003, p.110]
  11. 90
    The mix of true physics, newbie approachability, gameplay depth, and even a sly sense of humor makes Tiger Woods PGA Tour 2004 thoroughly enjoyable.
  12. Hands down the most playable, enjoyable golf game released to date.
  13. With all of the new features added to Tiger Woods PGA Tour 2004, it is by far the best golf game to date on any console. From addictive online play to the in-depth EA Sports Game Face mode, this game will have you coming back for more day after day.
  14. Even if EA Sports had left every other aspect of the game identical to Tiger Woods 2003, the staggering number of new, playable courses alone makes 2004 worthwhile.
  15. A gratifying, kinetic approach to swinging the club mimics real life. [Dec/Jan 2004, p.94]
  16. This relaxed, arcade-like approach makes for something that's not so much about simulation, but more emulation; letting you thwack the ball with all the verve of an expert, without the worry of any homework. Fun, then, and lots of it. [Nov 2003, p.107]
  17. EA Sports has put considerable effort into improving this franchise by adding more game modes, an intuitive swing mechanism, online play, lifelike graphics, plus more depth, options and customizability. No other golf game is on par.
  18. Imitating a swing with the analogue stick is still as satisfying as ever, and the balance between control and room for error is nigh-on perfect. However, it would have been nice to see a few more changes to keep the experience fresh. [Oct 2003, p.122]
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. HarroldB.
    Aug 5, 2005
    9
    Good Game! the croud could be 3D though, all round very detailed game!
  2. Klevdog
    Feb 8, 2004
    9
    Excellent game, but it needs to be harder. i have played two full seasons and my round average for 200 rounds is 52.1 lets make a game to challenge the real golfers. 4 round tournament record -88 at st. andrews. Full Review »
  3. MitchB.
    Feb 3, 2004
    1
    Hey man, tiger is not a bad drop ay? but the game was very ordinary. Although the game has superb sound and graphics, my major disappointment is that it's way too easy man, ya know what im sayin? I was able to build up my all player's attributes to 110% in quick time, and even bought all the lucky band-aids and lucky underwear etc. This game is so simple man, I was able to score a 60 under for one of the tournament matches. I managed to string together so many birdies, that the commentator stopped saying stuff about the amount of birdies i had stringed together. Maybe tiger woods 2005 will be a little more challenging. I mean geez, even Mario Golf was more of a challenge! Full Review »