User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 2 out of 13

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewH.
    Oct 1, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome. I never thought golf could be so col. All modes are fun, and I highly recommend this game.
  2. MatC.
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    Addictive, satisfying, and not intimidating. There's a great tutorial to start that is fully interactive, and the face generator is just awesome. I *am* me on that game, little belly & all. If all you've ever played are the pre-Tiger games from back in the day that were click-click-click to swing, you are in for a real treat. If anything, it's a little on the easy side to Addictive, satisfying, and not intimidating. There's a great tutorial to start that is fully interactive, and the face generator is just awesome. I *am* me on that game, little belly & all. If all you've ever played are the pre-Tiger games from back in the day that were click-click-click to swing, you are in for a real treat. If anything, it's a little on the easy side to start, and that gets you going quickly. The drawback about the EA bio is that you'll know how long you've played this game... expect big numbers there. Expand
  3. MitchB.
    Feb 3, 2004
    1
    Hey man, tiger is not a bad drop ay? but the game was very ordinary. Although the game has superb sound and graphics, my major disappointment is that it's way too easy man, ya know what im sayin? I was able to build up my all player's attributes to 110% in quick time, and even bought all the lucky band-aids and lucky underwear etc. This game is so simple man, I was able to score Hey man, tiger is not a bad drop ay? but the game was very ordinary. Although the game has superb sound and graphics, my major disappointment is that it's way too easy man, ya know what im sayin? I was able to build up my all player's attributes to 110% in quick time, and even bought all the lucky band-aids and lucky underwear etc. This game is so simple man, I was able to score a 60 under for one of the tournament matches. I managed to string together so many birdies, that the commentator stopped saying stuff about the amount of birdies i had stringed together. Maybe tiger woods 2005 will be a little more challenging. I mean geez, even Mario Golf was more of a challenge! Expand
  4. Klevdog
    Feb 8, 2004
    9
    Excellent game, but it needs to be harder. i have played two full seasons and my round average for 200 rounds is 52.1 lets make a game to challenge the real golfers. 4 round tournament record -88 at st. andrews.
  5. HarroldB.
    Aug 5, 2005
    9
    Good Game! the croud could be 3D though, all round very detailed game!
  6. MrSatan
    Oct 31, 2003
    8
    Very good golf game. Probably the best golf game I ever palyed. But they could have added better multiplayer games.
  7. MattH.
    Oct 30, 2003
    4
    Looks nice and all that, but am I the only person who finds this game far too easy? (I'm playing my first pga tour event and I'm -25 after 2 rounds!)
  8. DuperS.
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    IS it outstanding. I played it in a screening.
  9. KyleR.
    Sep 18, 2003
    9
    2003 was sweet! I saw the preview for this game and it only gets better you can now create your own golfer costimizing pretty much everything, cant wait for this game.
  10. MattS.
    Sep 29, 2003
    10
    It's colorful and addictive.
  11. Gingerfoot
    Nov 24, 2003
    9
    Hey listen, this game is sweet. really impressive graphics and lots of courses and golfers. the hook of the game is, no daubt...the 'game-face' feature, where you can play god and make people from scratch. i have made myself, which is freaky to see how much he looks like me. i also made a really ugly lady, which is just plain old sick fun. also lots of things to buy, from apparelHey listen, this game is sweet. really impressive graphics and lots of courses and golfers. the hook of the game is, no daubt...the 'game-face' feature, where you can play god and make people from scratch. i have made myself, which is freaky to see how much he looks like me. i also made a really ugly lady, which is just plain old sick fun. also lots of things to buy, from apparel to golf related items. sooo, let's talk about the GAME shall we?...because all this stuff above are like "extra" fun arent they?...yes they are, and the golf engine i am sad to say is not very impressive, simply and plainly because they have skipped the precision swing difficulty the previous games had. meaning, when you use your thumbstick to swing, it's all a perfect shot each time. so all you need to do to beat your opponents is smartly measure the wind and distance on the long shots and pay attention to your green curve while putting. baaaah!. this quickly becomes boring, no matter how many crazy golfers you create and no matter what crazy course you are on, the game is predictable somehow...its just easy. what makes me give a 9 for this game stands on the whole package design and features that makes you come back for more. the courses are just mind blowing...it really feels like you are there, playing golf with tiger and other guys who one ever cares about. to be able to make clones of your friends in a CGI world is like a game by itself. definetally a buy and a nice "zen" title for your xbox library. later kids.... Expand
  12. GusL.
    Sep 23, 2003
    8
    2003 is the best game I've ever played. Unfortunately I think 2004 takes a backward step from that although it is still a fantastic golf game. I'm dissapointed with the audio in the new version. The commentary doesn't blend together well and the american accent gets annoying very easily. Also the soundtrack provided is a real let down..fortunately you can add your own. The 2003 is the best game I've ever played. Unfortunately I think 2004 takes a backward step from that although it is still a fantastic golf game. I'm dissapointed with the audio in the new version. The commentary doesn't blend together well and the american accent gets annoying very easily. Also the soundtrack provided is a real let down..fortunately you can add your own. The game face function is amazing, you can change just about every aspect of the human body imaginable. The gameplay is slightly better, as the ball feels heavier and doesn't spin the ridiculous amounts like in 2003. All in all TW2004 is a solid game but it could have done with some more work on the menus and audio. Maybe the release was rushed a bit too much? Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. A gratifying, kinetic approach to swinging the club mimics real life. [Dec/Jan 2004, p.94]
  2. This relaxed, arcade-like approach makes for something that's not so much about simulation, but more emulation; letting you thwack the ball with all the verve of an expert, without the worry of any homework. Fun, then, and lots of it. [Nov 2003, p.107]
  3. Imitating a swing with the analogue stick is still as satisfying as ever, and the balance between control and room for error is nigh-on perfect. However, it would have been nice to see a few more changes to keep the experience fresh. [Oct 2003, p.122]