• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2006
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanN.
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    This game is very simmilar to Chaos Theory and I say this as a good thing. It has the sme kind of physics system and ai and gameplay that made CT so great. Yet it inovates enough with it's storyline and missions that it is an entirely seperate game. The trust meter is a welcome addition and keeps you thinking about your choices. Maybe the Splinter Cell series do not need to undergo This game is very simmilar to Chaos Theory and I say this as a good thing. It has the sme kind of physics system and ai and gameplay that made CT so great. Yet it inovates enough with it's storyline and missions that it is an entirely seperate game. The trust meter is a welcome addition and keeps you thinking about your choices. Maybe the Splinter Cell series do not need to undergo changes in order to stay fresh. This game is the kind of game that Sam Fisher was created for. I salute the last great Xbox game. Expand
  2. May 7, 2015
    10
    This is by far the most advanced game in the series and may be the best stealth game ever.
    It has everything that Chaos Theory had:
    Noise Meter which shows how much sound you produce while moving; Light Meter which shows how easy can your enemies see you. It also has a lot of enteractivity with the environment. You can pick up different objects to throw them to distract enemies. It's
    This is by far the most advanced game in the series and may be the best stealth game ever.
    It has everything that Chaos Theory had:
    Noise Meter which shows how much sound you produce while moving;
    Light Meter which shows how easy can your enemies see you.
    It also has a lot of enteractivity with the environment. You can pick up different objects to throw them to distract enemies.
    It's much superior than Conviction or Blacklist except for graphics.
    If you're a big fan of Splinter Cell and Stealth games in general, you should definitely try it out. But only Xbox and PS2 version, the other one was not made by Ubisoft Montreal.
    Expand
  3. Runq.
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Chaos theory had a monkey looking Sam Fisher with his crooked eyes, somehow incomplete levels, Horrible voice acting( people in Russia or china or wherever don't just speak English with some strange accent...) boring storyline and idiotic ending (with Sam and the other folks from echelon laughing together like retards... But Double Agent has none of those weaknesses that made me hate Chaos theory had a monkey looking Sam Fisher with his crooked eyes, somehow incomplete levels, Horrible voice acting( people in Russia or china or wherever don't just speak English with some strange accent...) boring storyline and idiotic ending (with Sam and the other folks from echelon laughing together like retards... But Double Agent has none of those weaknesses that made me hate CT. Perfect game, 10/10 Expand
  4. Borats_sonkazach
    Nov 28, 2006
    8
    8.5 not quite the best splinter cell ever. In my opinion the best splinter cell would be the 1st one then chaos theory, then double agent, and the least like is pandora tomorrow. You may have heard about the trust meter in the game between john browns army vs. echelon. Gaining trust from either side seems exciting at first but eventually looses the appeal after finishing the game siding 8.5 not quite the best splinter cell ever. In my opinion the best splinter cell would be the 1st one then chaos theory, then double agent, and the least like is pandora tomorrow. You may have heard about the trust meter in the game between john browns army vs. echelon. Gaining trust from either side seems exciting at first but eventually looses the appeal after finishing the game siding with jba, and then siding with echelon on the second playthrough. The game pretends to give you choices but the main objective forces sam to choose the side of the mission, thats not good in gameplay perspective. A game that allows you to choose sides are Deus ex and knights of the old republic and double agent isnt one of them. The big difference in choices are ability to change the ending, double agent doesnt allow any change. So whats the point of giving choices at all , if you cant have changes at the ending. Ripoff from tv show alias and 24. The gameplay is really getting old, shooting out lights, using ocp to temporarily shut the lights out, sneaking behind enemy soldiers while walking in complete darkness just to mock them. Sam may need some mighty new ideas to keep the series interesting for veteran gamers. Expand
  5. BrandonW.
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    Okay, so you have 14 coop missions you can play. Difference from Chaos Theory is more missions (duh) but now you can save your progress, put it down, and come back to load it up later. That is a big plus to coop mode (and really, that's what it's all about for die hard SC fans). The other thing that is far more advanced going from Chaos Theory to DA is the AI. There were a few Okay, so you have 14 coop missions you can play. Difference from Chaos Theory is more missions (duh) but now you can save your progress, put it down, and come back to load it up later. That is a big plus to coop mode (and really, that's what it's all about for die hard SC fans). The other thing that is far more advanced going from Chaos Theory to DA is the AI. There were a few times I have to reload a quick save point and expected the AI to just follow the same routes as before. The AI are almost unpredictable in what direction they're headed (unless of course you distract them). Other than that, the maps are tremendously large with of course trademark alternate routes and methods. Playing Chaos Theory for so long and then jumping over to DA, it really is like you picked up where you left off. There a few changes to the game, and obviously the storyline is vastly different from all other prior titles, but gameplay very much the same - which is a great thing. The graphics seem about the same, but you can tell on certain stages they have been tweaked. It's a shame the 360 version lacks everything fun that is the xbox version and all details this version brings. I hear this could be the last SC title to be released on xbox current-gen. If that's the case, i'm VERY concerned about the next SC game coming out on 360. If they're going to do it, they need to do it right...don't make short missions with a lack of storyline like DA is on 360. If you must choose, pick DA on regular xbox...so much more intuitive. Expand
  6. NikolaiC.
    Oct 29, 2006
    8
    A great storyline but not much improvement in terms of player qualities. I was able to finish the game pretty easily on hard setting. At the end I was able to defeat the main boss with one item and then completed my objectives. Still a great game, it would have been terrible if Michael Ironside had not had returned as Fisher's voice. Still a good game.
  7. ChadeW.
    Mar 15, 2007
    9
    I only review the single player, mainly because I dont have Xbox live. Last year, we saw a very new Splinter Cell experience with 'Chaos Theory'. Now we have basically an expanded version of that with morality being the main level in gameplay. In Chaos Theory, it didn't matter most of the time if you killed or knocked out. In Double Agent, you have to balance not only that, I only review the single player, mainly because I dont have Xbox live. Last year, we saw a very new Splinter Cell experience with 'Chaos Theory'. Now we have basically an expanded version of that with morality being the main level in gameplay. In Chaos Theory, it didn't matter most of the time if you killed or knocked out. In Double Agent, you have to balance not only that, but different objectives as well. Do what the terrorists tell you to do now and blow your trusting relationship with the NSA, or do what the government says and blow your cover entirely. Double Agent is tense, taut, smart, and just as fun and great as Chaos Theory. But everything feels a bit too much like Chaos Theory. New moves please. Still great, still tense (in a different way this time), and the most fun you'll have sneeking around since the last time you 'borrowed' your dad's car. Expand
  8. VladimirD.
    Nov 25, 2006
    8
    Pretty good game! It does not deserve a ten because the gameplay is not the best. Let down compared to what was thought of it. It deserves a solid 8.
  9. JamesB.
    Nov 11, 2006
    8
    The AI in this game seems off from what it was in Chaos Theory, almost as though it has been cheapened. Before, the lightmeter gave a good direction as to how much light you were in, but in DA, if you are more than one quarter in the light, ever, you might as well load the quicksave, because everyone in the level knows you're there. Also, the interrogations weren't as funny as The AI in this game seems off from what it was in Chaos Theory, almost as though it has been cheapened. Before, the lightmeter gave a good direction as to how much light you were in, but in DA, if you are more than one quarter in the light, ever, you might as well load the quicksave, because everyone in the level knows you're there. Also, the interrogations weren't as funny as they had been. Oh well, props to UbiSoft for actually putting effort into this current-gen game. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Galvanized by the well-implemented trust management system, Splinter Cell: Double Agent proves to be another great game in this venerable series. By delving further into the character of Sam Fisher, Ubisoft manages to keep the series vital, much to our delight.
  2. This is a true classic, and a beautifully made one at that. Rediscover Splinter Cell all over again, and we promise you, there's no way this cracker will stab you in the back.
  3. Prowling the shadows in search of your next victim has never been more fun, thanks to the plethora of gadgets and maneuvers at Sam's disposal. However, the online multiplayer modes leave much to be desired.