• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Veteran agent Sam Fisher is back. But he's never faced an enemy like this before. To stop a devastating terrorist attack, he must infiltrate a vicious terrorist group and destroy it from within. For the first time ever, experience the relentless tension and gut-wrenching dilemmas of life as a double agent. As you infiltrate a terrorist organization in its American headquarters, you must carefully weigh the consequences of your actions. Kill too many criminals and you'll blow your cover. Hesitate too long and millions will die. Do whatever it takes to complete your mission, but get out alive. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. This is a true classic, and a beautifully made one at that. Rediscover Splinter Cell all over again, and we promise you, there's no way this cracker will stab you in the back.
  2. Double Agent is fun, exciting, intense, and definitely a great send-off title for the classic Xbox. What it lacks in 360 visuals it more than makes up for in substance and gameplay and that is what ultimately counts.
  3. Prowling the shadows in search of your next victim has never been more fun, thanks to the plethora of gadgets and maneuvers at Sam's disposal. However, the online multiplayer modes leave much to be desired.
  4. 90
    I think the newfangled next-gen could still stand to learn a few things from the Xbox workhorse -- even if this is the platform's last triple-A title.
  5. Although you might expect the next gen version to shine the brightest, the current gen consoles actually turn in the brightest performance overall in my opinion, with the Xbox first, PS2 second.
  6. With solid visuals pushing the Xbox hardware, top-notch sound and voice acting driving the impressively deep story and an improved version of the rich game play we've come to know and love, Double Agent is easily a solid 9 out of 10, and a must own for any fan of the series.
  7. Galvanized by the well-implemented trust management system, Splinter Cell: Double Agent proves to be another great game in this venerable series. By delving further into the character of Sam Fisher, Ubisoft manages to keep the series vital, much to our delight.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. DanN.
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    This game is very simmilar to Chaos Theory and I say this as a good thing. It has the sme kind of physics system and ai and gameplay that made CT so great. Yet it inovates enough with it's storyline and missions that it is an entirely seperate game. The trust meter is a welcome addition and keeps you thinking about your choices. Maybe the Splinter Cell series do not need to undergo changes in order to stay fresh. This game is the kind of game that Sam Fisher was created for. I salute the last great Xbox game. Expand
  2. Runq.
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Chaos theory had a monkey looking Sam Fisher with his crooked eyes, somehow incomplete levels, Horrible voice acting( people in Russia or china or wherever don't just speak English with some strange accent...) boring storyline and idiotic ending (with Sam and the other folks from echelon laughing together like retards... But Double Agent has none of those weaknesses that made me hate CT. Perfect game, 10/10 Expand
  3. ChadeW.
    Mar 15, 2007
    9
    I only review the single player, mainly because I dont have Xbox live. Last year, we saw a very new Splinter Cell experience with 'Chaos Theory'. Now we have basically an expanded version of that with morality being the main level in gameplay. In Chaos Theory, it didn't matter most of the time if you killed or knocked out. In Double Agent, you have to balance not only that, but different objectives as well. Do what the terrorists tell you to do now and blow your trusting relationship with the NSA, or do what the government says and blow your cover entirely. Double Agent is tense, taut, smart, and just as fun and great as Chaos Theory. But everything feels a bit too much like Chaos Theory. New moves please. Still great, still tense (in a different way this time), and the most fun you'll have sneeking around since the last time you 'borrowed' your dad's car. Expand
  4. JamesB.
    Nov 11, 2006
    8
    The AI in this game seems off from what it was in Chaos Theory, almost as though it has been cheapened. Before, the lightmeter gave a good direction as to how much light you were in, but in DA, if you are more than one quarter in the light, ever, you might as well load the quicksave, because everyone in the level knows you're there. Also, the interrogations weren't as funny as they had been. Oh well, props to UbiSoft for actually putting effort into this current-gen game. Collapse
  5. Borats_sonkazach
    Nov 28, 2006
    8
    8.5 not quite the best splinter cell ever. In my opinion the best splinter cell would be the 1st one then chaos theory, then double agent, and the least like is pandora tomorrow. You may have heard about the trust meter in the game between john browns army vs. echelon. Gaining trust from either side seems exciting at first but eventually looses the appeal after finishing the game siding with jba, and then siding with echelon on the second playthrough. The game pretends to give you choices but the main objective forces sam to choose the side of the mission, thats not good in gameplay perspective. A game that allows you to choose sides are Deus ex and knights of the old republic and double agent isnt one of them. The big difference in choices are ability to change the ending, double agent doesnt allow any change. So whats the point of giving choices at all , if you cant have changes at the ending. Ripoff from tv show alias and 24. The gameplay is really getting old, shooting out lights, using ocp to temporarily shut the lights out, sneaking behind enemy soldiers while walking in complete darkness just to mock them. Sam may need some mighty new ideas to keep the series interesting for veteran gamers. Expand
  6. VladimirD.
    Nov 25, 2006
    8
    Pretty good game! It does not deserve a ten because the gameplay is not the best. Let down compared to what was thought of it. It deserves a solid 8.
  7. SeanY.
    Mar 16, 2007
    3
    Double Agent is ok but is does not feel like a Splinter Cell game anymore. I mean the swimming is great and I like the exploding sticky cam. I do not like the traffic light system when you hidden, I preferred the old style where you can see when your approaching vulnerability. When you fire the camera, exit out you can go back in like you could in Chaos Theory. Too many day light levels, I mean OK one or two but Splinter Cell is not about that, I like to be stealthy and have the darkness on my side and use that to wipe out enemies and hack computers with no one knowing your their. The JBA HQ levels are bowing walking around talking to people and scanning for prints, it Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.