Unreal Championship 2: The Liandri Conflict Xbox

  • Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Apr 18, 2005
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. oliviaC
    Apr 11, 2007
    9
    This game is just so cool. I'm only 14, but it's the best game I've played next to halo1/2 and gears of war.really great but when unlocking characters, Malcolm doesn't unlock which is a bit crap because this means you can't unlock Gorge either! please can someone help me!( I must have won matches against human opponents in each game type at least 100 times!).
  2. MikeK.
    Oct 4, 2006
    4
    A truly dark day for Unreal Championship and Unreal Tournament fans everywhere. This game is truly an insult to its shining predecessors. Uninspired level design, ridiculously shallow combat, poorly designed gametypes, and bizzare departures from the universe as it has existed in the myriad of predating games all add up to one of the most disappointing gaming experiences one could imagine A truly dark day for Unreal Championship and Unreal Tournament fans everywhere. This game is truly an insult to its shining predecessors. Uninspired level design, ridiculously shallow combat, poorly designed gametypes, and bizzare departures from the universe as it has existed in the myriad of predating games all add up to one of the most disappointing gaming experiences one could imagine following the original Unreal Championship. Expand
  3. EoinB.
    Sep 16, 2006
    2
    I loved Unreal Tournament, it was epic and breath-taking, beautifully balanced and extremely violent. This game however shames the usually trusted brand. It feels so empty. Small maps that are randomly unsymetric, characters with no "character" and riddiculous acrobatics and adrenaline power-ups that look all fancy but seemso useless. Playing that game feels like playing with primitive I loved Unreal Tournament, it was epic and breath-taking, beautifully balanced and extremely violent. This game however shames the usually trusted brand. It feels so empty. Small maps that are randomly unsymetric, characters with no "character" and riddiculous acrobatics and adrenaline power-ups that look all fancy but seemso useless. Playing that game feels like playing with primitive colourfull toys that bounce around your room. Collapse
  4. KarlM.
    Jun 26, 2005
    6
    GamesTM got it right with this one. Only for you 10% of Xbox owners with live i'm afraid.
  5. Mits777
    May 11, 2005
    10
    Do the people who gave it a 9 and below play the same game i did? With options up the wazoo and many different combinations of combat. Unreal (pun intended) stages, awesome graphics and great offline and online gameplay this is the sleeper of the year!
  6. Sam
    May 8, 2005
    5
    This is a horrible betrayal to the first game. It has a lot of options, but still is a betrayal to the computer game in that its an extremely easy play. The monstrous aim assist really does it in for player skill, on and off live. This isnt an Unreal game, if you want to play one of those get a pc. The only reason i give this a 5 is because of the sharp graphics and audio.
  7. Spacey
    Apr 28, 2005
    6
    After loving the first game, especially on Live, I had very high hopes for this sequel. Unfortunately it falls short. The first game had a large selection of weapons at your disposal within the game arenas but this second version only has you selecting 2 of your favourite weapons before the match begins.. Why I've no idea!!!! Secondly, the new hand to hand mode view is really a After loving the first game, especially on Live, I had very high hopes for this sequel. Unfortunately it falls short. The first game had a large selection of weapons at your disposal within the game arenas but this second version only has you selecting 2 of your favourite weapons before the match begins.. Why I've no idea!!!! Secondly, the new hand to hand mode view is really a failed idea in this type of game. It should never have been implemented in my opinion. The levels all seem to be too dark and with not much variation in levels too. The game plays much better on Live but the single player matches are really, REALLY boring and much too easy to play. Graphics on the whole are pretty good, the frame rate certainly isn't as good as UC but on the whole doesn't spoil the game. I can imagine why people would love this game but for me, it doesn't do it. My advice would be to rent it out for a couple of nights first. Expand
  8. OmarL.
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    Wow... I thought this game was a bad game In fact, I just brought it because it is a multiplayer game. But Hell, this game is great..
  9. JCR.
    Apr 22, 2005
    9
    High-tec, next-gen old-school gaming, this has to be the most exciting thing I've played for years. It's a little like controlling Dante from DMC sometimes with the exciting jumps and flips combined with awesome firepower, and I just LOVE the 3rd person perspective, even with ranged weapons. This beauty delivers fast, exciting and adrenaline soaked combat, with a sackful of High-tec, next-gen old-school gaming, this has to be the most exciting thing I've played for years. It's a little like controlling Dante from DMC sometimes with the exciting jumps and flips combined with awesome firepower, and I just LOVE the 3rd person perspective, even with ranged weapons. This beauty delivers fast, exciting and adrenaline soaked combat, with a sackful of options (40 arenas!!!) and groovy weapons I just know I'm going to grow to love. It's Unreal, but not as we knew it, and it's gaming magic. Expand
  10. DrewskiK.
    Apr 19, 2005
    4
    I loved the first unreal for xbox, but this didn't feel right. I love FPS so i guess this is not my thing! i dont like the select weapon idea, i want to be able to pick up weapons.
  11. Daz
    Apr 17, 2005
    10
    This game is AWESOME!!! I didn't like the last unreal tournament for the xbox, probably because i thought it had a steep learning curve and i found it difficult. This game however has an excellent tutorial which takes you through many of the moves in a gentle way. I'm not trying to say this game is easy, because it isn't, but it is very rewarding when you do win a stage. This game is AWESOME!!! I didn't like the last unreal tournament for the xbox, probably because i thought it had a steep learning curve and i found it difficult. This game however has an excellent tutorial which takes you through many of the moves in a gentle way. I'm not trying to say this game is easy, because it isn't, but it is very rewarding when you do win a stage. One thing i do particularly like is the fact that the different game modes are explained very well during the tutorial/ introduction. thrilling, tough (but fair) and with REALLY great graphics - this game is very highly recommended. Expand
  12. ChrisL.
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    It is the coolest game i've ever touched.
  13. RyanH.
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    Truly awesome! The graphics are great, the sound is powerful and it runs as smooth as a buttered pig on an ice rink. A definite must for any Xbox collection.
  14. JasonP.
    Apr 2, 2005
    10
    Awesome game!!!!

Awards & Rankings

#45 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 100
    This isn't merely an evolution of the franchise -- this is Unreal with the dial turned up to 11.
  2. Edge Magazine
    90
    An ambitious and largely successful attempt to meld the accuracy of traditional firstperson battling with the extra spatial agility and awareness afforded by thirdperson movement. It does feel slightly overdone, but not to the point of obscuring its offering of intensity and flighty action. [May 2005, p.90]
  3. AceGamez
    90
    If you want something fresh, with almost endless replay value (so long as you have Live or some friends nearby) then I can do nothing but strongly recommend this title.