XIII Xbox

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
Buy On
  1. There's no denying that the game's presentation overall is pretty cool and that once you get past the game's minor design and gameplay issues it can be a lot of fun.
  2. A stylish game brought down by the ok graphics, run-of-the-mill FPS content, horrible aiming controls and my general lack of interest when playing the game.
  3. This is definitely a single player title first, multiplayer title second. Even in the former, it lacks the material to vault it into the stratosphere and turn XIII into a classic. Style and visuals can only do so much for a game.
  4. A pulpy, good time. Just don't expect to come back after completion for any particularly inspired level design or captivating combat.
  5. Seeing the game from beginning to end reveals its true artistic merit: it never gets stale; every episode has been drawn with minute care and attention. It would have been an incredible achievement if the gameplay had matched the outstanding art direction. [Dec 2003, p.94]
  6. While XIII has style in spades, gameplay is nowhere near as groundbreaking. [Dec 2003, p.166]
  7. 68
    Flat textures are still flat textures, however they are dolled-up -but at least Ubisoft have attempted to make the whole experience an immersion in a politically-charged, adult-oriented, comic book world.
  8. You can't judge a comic book by its cover. XIII looks stylish but plays bland.
  9. If only the developers had spend half as much time fine-tuning the enemy A.I. as they did finessing the graphics, XIII would be incredible. [Dec 2003, p.196]
  10. It wasn’t until the bevy of stealth missions emerged that I started to lose interest in the game. The trial-and-error aspects really annoyed me and by the end, I was longing for some heavy combat, which only seemed to come in small doses.
  11. While it definitely has a certain sense of style to it, the game itself misses its mark, and the total package isn't one that will hold the interest of most first-person shooter players.
  12. 60
    The absurd amount of sneaking around at the end of the game becomes overly tedious and a poor replacement for more exciting gun battles.
  13. Xbox Nation Magazine
    60
    You're forced to face off against eagle-eyed, sharp-shooting pricks who are so overpower[ing] that competing against them feels like crossing the piranha-filled Amazon River wearing a 40-pound mean suit. [Dec/Jan 2004, p.96]
  14. Your opponents are unbelievably excellent shots who almost never miss...A clear case of style over substance, XIII is pretty to look at but a bitch to play. [Dec 2003, p.100]
  15. games(TM)
    60
    It's one of those mixed-bag situations - flashes of genius and genuinely enjoyable moments of success, occasionally mired by unbalanced weapon damage, clumsy AI and the odd bit of unfair level design that requires astounding feats of memory. [Dec 2003, p.98]
  16. And despite its groovy style, XIII isn’t much more than a run-of-the-mill game. Its presentation is definitely worthy of a look (particularly if you own an Xbox) but its gameplay is about as straightforward - and in some cases boring - as it gets for an FPS.
  17. The game's aesthetic design choices are great, for the most part, but they can't entirely overcome the clunky control system and overly simplistic A.I.

Awards & Rankings

#76 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. DanielD
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time, and I've owned a lot of good and bad games. The comic-book style headshots with the crossbow are One of my favorite games of all time, and I've owned a lot of good and bad games. The comic-book style headshots with the crossbow are just unbelieveable. Even if you've moved on to Xbox 360 like most people have, this is worth buying for cheap and getting into...awesome story line, unique graphics, and fun multiplayer as well. Easily a 10 out of 10 in my book. Full Review »
  2. EznorbY.
    Jun 20, 2007
    8
    One of the most visually impressive titles I've ever seen, even now, 4 years after its release. The comic-book style is spectacularly One of the most visually impressive titles I've ever seen, even now, 4 years after its release. The comic-book style is spectacularly executed, and the storyline will keep you doing the sometimes-slow missions just so you can see the next cinematic. The gameplay offers nothing new to the FPS genre, but is solid and has nothing really wrong with it. Overall, an artistically brilliant title that suffers only from its mediocrity in the gameplay department. Full Review »
  3. ChiwawaK.
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    It is a really a lot of fun.