Fox Atomic | Release Date: March 27, 2009
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 75 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
30
Negative:
25
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
BenjaminMay 10, 2009
An empty, forgettable mess, and you really do start rooting against the protagonist really quick. There's distilled action, and then there's distilled action that has some redeeming twist that makes it great. You don't get An empty, forgettable mess, and you really do start rooting against the protagonist really quick. There's distilled action, and then there's distilled action that has some redeeming twist that makes it great. You don't get that with this movie, you just get John Cena. There's a scene where he, his captured girlfriend, and the antagonist are all on a bus, and it turns out that the girl has a bomb strapped to her abdomen. First off, there were really no people on that bus -- in America -- who noticed that 3 people are talking about bombs and explosions on a freaking metropolitan BUS? And then really, if it did go off, would that be so wrong at that point? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LawrenceTMay 5, 2009
The action was so damn boring. I will give it negative reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CjH.Jul 12, 2009
Good acting. Poor script. Not as much action as the preview showed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelAApr 20, 2009
The movie has a good idea and some really seat-gripping excitement. It reminds me of Die Hard with a Vengeance but even more exciting. The plot is good with enough twists to keep everyone's interests. I have only one negative thing to The movie has a good idea and some really seat-gripping excitement. It reminds me of Die Hard with a Vengeance but even more exciting. The plot is good with enough twists to keep everyone's interests. I have only one negative thing to say...and this is that I hate the type of camera work in this movie. It seems to be the latest rage in movies...to have jerky-action shots. Personally I think it looks amateurish and makes the watcher slightly nauseous. What a shame to do that to such an exciting film. Even with that type of photography, I would still recommend this film and have done so. I had never seen any advertising for this film and would not have gone to see it had I not looked up a synopsis of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackM.May 30, 2009
Just as I had expected, a film with a terrible actor which just seems to have been slapped together with pritt-stick!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
bjhJun 9, 2009
What I really don't get is... the review for this movie by Gary Goldstein. What payola-inspired trite is that?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MeelaN.Jul 18, 2009
This movie was just like the marine, same plot same story, boy likes girl, girl gets taken away, boy looks for girl (some action scenes), boy kicks butt, boy gets girl with no harm. they should have just called it the marine 2 and the next This movie was just like the marine, same plot same story, boy likes girl, girl gets taken away, boy looks for girl (some action scenes), boy kicks butt, boy gets girl with no harm. they should have just called it the marine 2 and the next one marine 3 and just made it a trilogy, would have made more money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChristopheS.Jul 31, 2009
Is this the best movie ever? Definatly not, but it is entertaining. There is some good action scenes, a bit of humour so just put your brain Off, relax and enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RyanS.Jul 3, 2009
Sure, John Cena is a terrible actor. But what does he need to act for in a movie like this? It's pretty much solid action. Plenty of explosions and car wrecks and such. Screw acting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
kgm.Mar 28, 2009
At first glance, you
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AlexCMar 31, 2009
It's noisy, it's something........... it's another attempt by WWE to gain more money. I rate 12 rounds a 3 because it's the marine all over again using an overrated wresler as the lead role. i personaly don't thinkIt's noisy, it's something........... it's another attempt by WWE to gain more money. I rate 12 rounds a 3 because it's the marine all over again using an overrated wresler as the lead role. i personaly don't think robert ebert will even rate this movie or give it his approval everything in the is pointless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DarrenGJun 15, 2009
Struggled through this movie. No actor had me convinced of their role. Cena is a long way from becoming the next action hero and needs to get away for a few years and study acting. He also needs to learn to run like an action hero, his Struggled through this movie. No actor had me convinced of their role. Cena is a long way from becoming the next action hero and needs to get away for a few years and study acting. He also needs to learn to run like an action hero, his running style is very girl like. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EricB.Jul 19, 2009
Let me get this straight. This movie is absolutely terrible, with an extremely derivative plot and horrible acting. But no matter how bad it is, it is a lot of fun to see. Plenty of action, some interesting twists, and enough anticipation to Let me get this straight. This movie is absolutely terrible, with an extremely derivative plot and horrible acting. But no matter how bad it is, it is a lot of fun to see. Plenty of action, some interesting twists, and enough anticipation to keep you going. Worth seeing, in my opinion, even if you're just checking out how cheesy it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SamM.yJul 26, 2009
awful one of the worst high budget low end bummer of a movie. its not the good cheesey kind. Don't waste your time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
IznatiCriticAug 31, 2010
A poor man's 'Metro'....A vagrant's Die Hard....if your poison is blow em & shoot em up with sub-par acting then by all means have at it. But this one really lacks teeth in most categories.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DAVID1966Mar 8, 2011
A bit better than i'd expected. My teen sons loved it. Explosions, crashes, car chases. Average. Doable. Harmless fun, won't win any oscars. Fun escapism.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
avatar16Mar 5, 2012
Il est bien loin le temps où Renny Harlin nous livrait d'excellents divertissements tels que 58 Minutes pour Vivre (Die Hard 2) et Cliffhanger. Et franchement, ce n'est pas avec 12 Rounds (renommé Shoot & Run) que leIl est bien loin le temps où Renny Harlin nous livrait d'excellents divertissements tels que 58 Minutes pour Vivre (Die Hard 2) et Cliffhanger. Et franchement, ce n'est pas avec 12 Rounds (renommé Shoot & Run) que le réalisateur va remonter la pente. Il en est même encore très loin, car ce film est d'une banalité, d'une invraisemblance et d'un manque de fond inimaginables. En somme, ce film n'est qu'une simple resucée d'Une Journée en Enfer (à croire que Harlin voulait faire son Die Hard 3) dont la mise en scène clipesque lorgne vers le cinéma de Tony Scott sans jamais l'égaler (et sans compter la pauvreté du casting, du script et des dialogues). Bref, un véritable échec. Alors pourquoi ne pas mettre une note plus basse? Juste par le fait que, finalement, on se laisse tout de même prendre au jeu pour passer le temps devant ce film à l'action non-stop abrutissant, qui ne vaut en rien les grands films d'action des 80's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
If this movie didn't star a WWE Superstar, a lot more people would have seen this! It's a beat the clock thriller from the director of Die Hard and was a million times better than I thought it would be. John Cena defiantly shows a markedIf this movie didn't star a WWE Superstar, a lot more people would have seen this! It's a beat the clock thriller from the director of Die Hard and was a million times better than I thought it would be. John Cena defiantly shows a marked improvement from The Marine, no doubt thanks to Renny Harlin. Yes, it's a WWE film, staring a WWE wrestler, but it's one hell of an action thriller! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
dev92Aug 25, 2012
I did actually think the film tried very hard and you can see the fruits of their efforts. Unfortunately I don't think that John Cena is that good an actor and the script wasn't very good either.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
REfreakk55Dec 4, 2013
John Cena needs to stick with what he normally does: wrestling, because he fails at being an actor, which even with quality actors, this movie still would have failed
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Meth-dudeMay 8, 2015
There is just so many impossible and unbelievable moments with bad CGI effects and bad acting that we just can't believe what's going on.And the 12 rounds are pretty fast but the movie seems really long because the movie is not interesting at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoMay 25, 2017
"12 Rounds" was a film with a lot of action, but without much impact, John Cena does not ensure his good career in film, but as a fighter is a legend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews