Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: November 5, 2010
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 628 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
554
Mixed:
53
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
scbrotherFeb 26, 2011
go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
0 of 14 users found this helpful014
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroMar 3, 2011
After watching the first 15 minutes, during which not one meaningful word or sentence had been uttered, but which nauseated me because of the horrible fast-switch editing (it felt like a commercial for Nike), I fast forwarded becauseAfter watching the first 15 minutes, during which not one meaningful word or sentence had been uttered, but which nauseated me because of the horrible fast-switch editing (it felt like a commercial for Nike), I fast forwarded because everything was just so extremely predictable and boring. In addition, in the first 5 minutes of the movie, there are at least 20 brand names clearly visible. That is usually not done, unless you get paid for it the brands.
I cannot believe that this flick was nominated for an Oscar...how low can you go ?
Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
1
Bama72Feb 7, 2011
I feel so sorry for James Franco being stuck with such horrible direction. I felt like I was seeing a 60s movie with the sepia tones over the flashbacks. How ridiculous. The shot through the bottom of the water bottle was so trite (andI feel so sorry for James Franco being stuck with such horrible direction. I felt like I was seeing a 60s movie with the sepia tones over the flashbacks. How ridiculous. The shot through the bottom of the water bottle was so trite (and also a little disgusting). I guess it was hard to make a movie about stupid guy getting caught in bad situation because of his own stupidity but a director might have made a difference. The movie is horrible and a waste of money. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
perfectdNov 26, 2010
I don't usually go to movies where I know the ending unless I have read the book and the book was great. This is a interesting story with a message. The message however was blurred for me by what seem to be overreaching attempts to beI don't usually go to movies where I know the ending unless I have read the book and the book was great. This is a interesting story with a message. The message however was blurred for me by what seem to be overreaching attempts to be creative. The crowded hustle and bustle flashes were out of place and could have been done much better to fit the film. Instead they are just a distraction. James Franco is very good in his role as Aron Ralston which is fortunate for the filmmaker because he's really the only character in the film. Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
0
JimmyRcomJan 10, 2011
Guy is roaming around canyons. Meets 2 chicks randomly and establishes himself as a bad ass by being a quirky but funny and amusing wackjob. They invite him to a party later. Oh how bad ass you are, canyon-biker-adventurer guy. Guy randomlyGuy is roaming around canyons. Meets 2 chicks randomly and establishes himself as a bad ass by being a quirky but funny and amusing wackjob. They invite him to a party later. Oh how bad ass you are, canyon-biker-adventurer guy. Guy randomly taking pictures of things. Guy jumps down dangerous crevice for no reason, and immediately gets arm jammed. Rest of movie is guy yelling about his arm jammed, and trying to get his arm unstuck. Memories, nightmare and premonitions as filler in between his trying to get his arm unstuck. Pretty much a lot of the same stuff you see from survival adventure movies/books. Reminds me of the "stuck in mt everest" survival stories, but much more boring. A lot of it relies on shock and gore. People who have lurked the internets for too long will not find this interesting. Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
1
DeathrompMay 21, 2011
The thing about Aaron Ralston is - thereâ
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
3
SillionFeb 18, 2011
This feels like a long Music Video. The could be much more focus on storytelling and skip the creative play with new camera functions. There was so much more potential to tell a great adventure story with lots of "real" flashbacks as wellThis feels like a long Music Video. The could be much more focus on storytelling and skip the creative play with new camera functions. There was so much more potential to tell a great adventure story with lots of "real" flashbacks as well some more information about the rescue at work. Movies like these should also not be afraid to provide a much longer epilogue to give perspective to the events and the life of a nut case. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
dillettanteMar 6, 2011
Not a single negative review by critics? Looks so strange to me.None even acquainted with the story by Jack London "Love of life"?.Ok Ok everybody just doing his job-critics,producers and movie goers.The bottom line?I am sorry for allNot a single negative review by critics? Looks so strange to me.None even acquainted with the story by Jack London "Love of life"?.Ok Ok everybody just doing his job-critics,producers and movie goers.The bottom line?I am sorry for all aforementioned ..and actors as well.. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
FredrikX2000Apr 21, 2011
A waste of time - reading a five line storyline is just as rewarding as seeing this film. Sure, it's a true and painful story, but you don't have to give high scores out of sympathy for a guy stupid enough to get himself into that situation.A waste of time - reading a five line storyline is just as rewarding as seeing this film. Sure, it's a true and painful story, but you don't have to give high scores out of sympathy for a guy stupid enough to get himself into that situation. And, there's no higher meaning to this film/story and no fundamental truth to be learned. There's even not enough beautiful scenery to make it worthwhile. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
SteakAndEggsJun 11, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is it watchable? No. Plot: Super-duper idiot steps on loose boulder wedged between canyon. Falls down. Nothing happens for 1.5 hours apart from him doing stupid stuff like drinking all his water instantly. Looks at knife. Knife is blunt. Checks again 1 second later. Is sharp as can be. Cuts arm off (takes suprisingly long.). Puts wound in bag which he urinated in. Runs off. Helicopter spawns out of nowhere to whisk him off. The end! Review: it sucks badly. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
Ivan1017Aug 5, 2011
I didn't like this movie. Honestly it is pretty much boring. The acting is good but it is totally wasted here. There are only a few parts were it gets interesting and then after a few minutes it gets boring again. i don't know why this movieI didn't like this movie. Honestly it is pretty much boring. The acting is good but it is totally wasted here. There are only a few parts were it gets interesting and then after a few minutes it gets boring again. i don't know why this movie has positive reviews. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
schwarz_kelloggOct 7, 2011
Insanely dull, highly linear storyline (if there's even a storyline) that gives no surprise - i knew how it was going to end right at the start of the incident... And the protagonist claims he's an engineer in front of a real engineer thatInsanely dull, highly linear storyline (if there's even a storyline) that gives no surprise - i knew how it was going to end right at the start of the incident... And the protagonist claims he's an engineer in front of a real engineer that is me? With his various stupid, un-engineering acts? C'mon, a very very bad move. To invoke empathy & **** With its ****ty, 'incoherent' rock music soundtrack? i dun think so... Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
Trev29Mar 26, 2012
What a shame. After such a glorious win for Danny Boyle for Slumdog, this is unfortunately a piece of trash. I give credit where credit is due though. The directing style was different, and it was an unusual story from the rest of HollywoodWhat a shame. After such a glorious win for Danny Boyle for Slumdog, this is unfortunately a piece of trash. I give credit where credit is due though. The directing style was different, and it was an unusual story from the rest of Hollywood crap. However, in the end it did nothing for me. James Franco was annoying and mediocre at best. It was dreadful to watch and the second time I saw it was worse. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
CameraBounceGodFeb 21, 2015
127 the number is a pleasant one and not only that it is the first Mersene prime number i believe....seems to haunt us wherever we go...or don't go........i imagine this one is just like the one where Ryan Renolds is buried alive for the127 the number is a pleasant one and not only that it is the first Mersene prime number i believe....seems to haunt us wherever we go...or don't go........i imagine this one is just like the one where Ryan Renolds is buried alive for the movie.....i think id rather go watch that one first so far....20 minutes in and i cant imagine what the could possibly happen for the rest of the film....Ewwch...hot dam he got the knife! takin a piss..thirsty too soon...look for his tear is nice...but it seems like hes gonna jak off down there and pause of their asses....wow and then he does...wait he doesn't .........I like that he doesn't...but im no longer routing for him Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews