Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 10 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Feb 28, 2013
    75
    21 and Over remains enjoyable for what it is and all it cares to be, which is nothing any respectable movie critic should recommend, and I'm down with that.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Feb 27, 2013
    63
    The bottom-line on this bottom-baring/bottom-branding farce is “Is it funny, on top of all the shocks?” And yes, it is. On a number of few occasions, all of them involving Jeff Chang.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Feb 28, 2013
    60
    Promising crude straight-boy humor, but delivering sensitive buddy moments and tons of male nudity, this by-the-numbers gut-buster looks slick, moves fast and packs enough laughs to enliven spring-break receipts and earn its helmers more work.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Feb 28, 2013
    40
    The movie rambles in a way that dilutes any possibility of edgy discomfort. Lucas and Moore have good control over the timing within the gags; it's the spaces between them that stretch out awkwardly. You can't hate 21 & Over, and you can't laugh at it. The most you can do is just pity it for not being as outrageous as it thinks it is.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Feb 28, 2013
    38
    This is one of those 93-minute movies that seem about 88 minutes too long. Or not worth making in the first place.
  6. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Mar 1, 2013
    25
    For a movie that tries to create and sustain a sensation of wild unpredictability, it's a huge failure. It's not shocking if we've all seen it a thousand times before. With 21 and Over, it's all been there, drank that.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Feb 28, 2013
    0
    This is a movie that celebrates selfishness, stupidity and the mean-spirited insensitivity that goes along with it. We're better than this, America.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 8 out of 26
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    Fans of The Hangover and Superbad will be right at home here with this hilarious 'coming-of-age' Comedy that might be pretty similar to those other ones out there, but at the end of the day they are highly entertaining and nothing but fun to watch when you are with mates. The characters are likable and its a well-written storyline despite being a little on the predictable side. All up though an entertaining film that should appeal to the teens and as long as not taken seriously you'll enjoy it. Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    21 & Over is the directorial debut from the writers of the Hangover trilogy, and it could have easily been called The Hangover Jr. It's Jeff Chang's 21st birthday and his High School friends show up to take him out. With a big interview in the morning, the boys are planning on taking it easy, but things don't quite turn out that way. I was expecting this film to be yet another chance to exploit the magic of the first Hangover film, but surprisingly it does not. The story has many similarities, but also a uniqueness about it. 21 & Over does manage to capture that amazing chemistry and magic that made the Hangover legendary. The whole time I was watching this film, I couldn't help but think, why didn't they put this kind of thought into the Hangover sequels? Don't get me wrong, I liked the sequels, but neither one of this is as good as this film was. Justin Chon, unfortunately only known from the Twilight series, stars in a role that was seemingly made for him. This guy was so freaking funny, that I had to be careful not to piss my pants, almost every time he opened his mouth. The other stand out is Project X's Miles Teller, and while he's much better looking than Alan, he does manage to capture that loveable extreme weirdness that Zack Galifinakis had. It's easy to look at 21 & Over and say it's going to be just like the Hangover, and you wouldn't be wrong. Parts of the film are eerily similar, but the youth factor and college atmosphere does give the film a life of it's own and trust me when I tell you, it was absolutely hysterical. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    Rather typicall teen/highschool/party comedy story wise. A good 93 mins of entertainment. If don't set your expectations too high it's good fun but nothing more. Expand
  4. May 20, 2013
    5
    a really fun time but it copy's from so many other films its unbelievable so that's why it gets that score.so go and see it with your mates.
  5. Jun 15, 2013
    3
    Not my type of movie at all. This is a film that should have been straight to dvd along with the American Pie movies. If you like an unfunny movie where people just get wasted you will like this film. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    21 And Over is a movie based on desperate teens who want the law of drinking, smoking and taking drugs. And basically this film is also harmful to religion for Chinese people. 21 And Over deserves a zero. Collapse

See all 26 User Reviews

Trailers